Home/Vibe coding tools/OpenAI Codex

OpenAI Codex pricing

Codex is OpenAI's coding agent, included in ChatGPT plans and available in ChatGPT, an IDE extension, a CLI and a cloud environment.

Visit OpenAI CodexPrices checked Oct 29, 2026

How much does OpenAI Codex cost?

Paid plans start at $20/mo billed yearly or $20/mo billed monthly
Free plan
Not stated
Read from openai.com/codex on Oct 29, 2026. Price changed? Tell usSee the line each price came from

In your favor

  • Notice before price changes. At least 30 days' notice for increases

How you buy and get started

Self-serveButtons on their site: Get Plus, Get Pro, Try ChatGPT Business
Sign up
Sign up through ChatGPT plans
"Codex is included in your ChatGPT plan."
Setup
Not stated
When sales steps in
Business plan requires 2+ seats
"*For 2+ seats, billed annually"

What OpenAI Codex does

Codex runs coding agents in parallel, including in reusable cloud environments for each repo, and reviews pull requests automatically. It is included in ChatGPT Plus, Pro and Business plans.

Good for
Engineers and engineering teams working across repositories on bug fixes, refactors, new features and code review.
Channels
Codex in ChatGPT, Codex cloud, Codex IDE extension, Codex CLI
Main product
Codex
Also includes
Parallel multi-agent workflows, Reusable cloud environments for every repo, Automatic pull request review, Plugins to connect tools
Connects to
Plugins
Public API
Not stated
MCP server
Not stated
  • Prompt-to-app generationNot stated
  • Code export to GitHubNot stated
  • One-click hosting and deployNot stated
  • Built-in backend and databaseNot stated
  • Multi-user team workspacesSecure, shared workspace with admin controls and flexible pricing for teams using Codex across repositories.
  • SSO and SAMLNot stated
  • SOC 2 complianceOpenAI has undergone an independent SOC 2 Type 2 examination of controls relevant to Security, Availability, C
  • Third-party integrations and MCPConnect your tools and add specialized capabilities with plugins.

The same 8 checks appear on every tool in Vibe coding tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.

Security and your data

QuestionTheir answerWhere it says so
Trains AI on your data?no"We don’t train our models on your organization’s data by default."security
HIPAA (signs a BAA)available"offers a Data Processing Addendum and Business Associate Agreement for customers"security
SOC 2SOC 2 Type 2"OpenAI has undergone an independent SOC 2 Type 2 examination of controls relevant to Security, Availability, Confidentiality, and Privacy for its API and ChatGPT business product s"security
GDPRsupports customer GDPR compliance"OpenAI supports our customers’ compliance with privacy laws, including the GDPR, CCPA, HIPAA, and FERPA"security
CCPAsupports customer CCPA compliance"OpenAI supports our customers’ compliance with privacy laws, including the GDPR, CCPA, HIPAA, and FERPA"security
PCIPCI-DSS for delegated payment processing components of ChatGPT"OpenAI maintains PCI-DSS compliance for the components of ChatGPT that support delegated payment processing."security
ISO 27001ISO/IEC 27001:2022"OpenAI maintains ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and ISO/IEC 27701:2019 certifications for the information security and privacy management systems supporting the OpenAI API, ChatGPT Enterprise,"security
Single sign-onNot stated
Trust centerhttps://trust.openai.com/"Visit OpenAI trust portal to learn more about our security controls, and product compliance page to view compliance status by products."security

Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.

Every plan

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyIncludedOver the allowanceWhere it says so
Plus/ month $20 – – – "p teams get started codex is included in your chatgpt plan. plus includes codex usage for "
Business/ user / month – $20per month – – "fpazk=1k0d2&default tab=personal&highlight plan=pro pricing business secure, shared worksp"
Pro/ month $100 – – – "fpazk=ioaj&default tab=personal&highlight plan=plus pricing pro higher usage limits to pow"

Fine print

Billing increment
Not stated
Billed beyond usage
Not stated
Contract
Not stated
Refunds
Non-refundable except where required by law
"Payments are non-refundable, except where required by law."
Auto renew
Paid subscriptions renew automatically until cancelled
"For paid subscriptions, we will automatically charge your payment method on each agreed-upon periodic renewal until you cancel."
Price change notice
At least 30 days' notice for increases
"If we increase our subscription prices, we will give you at least 30 days’ notice"

"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.

About the company

Legal name
OpenAI OpCo, LLC
Address
1455 3rd Street, San Francisco, CA 94158
Online since
Jan 19, 2007
Domain registration date
Customers
"Trusted by top teams"
their claim

OpenAI Codex alternatives

Reviews elsewhere

We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.

Questions

Is OpenAI Codex free?

No free plan is stated on OpenAI Codex's pricing page. Paid plans start at $20/month.

How much does OpenAI Codex cost?

Paid plans start at $20 per month billed yearly, or $20 billed monthly.

Does OpenAI Codex train AI on your data?

No, according to OpenAI Codex: "We don’t train our models on your organization’s data by default."

Is OpenAI Codex HIPAA compliant?

OpenAI Codex says a HIPAA BAA is available.