How much does Pencil cost?
- Free plan
- Not stated
- Free trial
- Sign up and create six ads through a guided experience for free; full platform needs a…
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- No long-term contract. Cancel any time; charges stop at end of billing period. Unused generations do not roll over
- Free trial. Sign up and create six ads through a guided experience for free; full platform needs a paid plan
- Notice before price changes. At least 90 days notice before end of the term
Watch out for
- Extra usage is billed. Core and Growth cannot exceed monthly generations; Pro is charged per extra generation or ad at end of billing cycle
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve sign up for Core and Growth plans "Get Started"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Pro plan is custom priced via demo "Custom pricing"
- Support
- Chat support on Core and Growth "Chat support"
- Support
- Email support "support@trypencil.com"
- Support
- Dedicated customer success on Pro "Dedicated customer success"
What Pencil does
Pencil aggregates AI models from providers such as OpenAI, Google, Adobe and Runway into one platform for generating ad creatives, with ad account connections, performance scores and enterprise governance controls. It sells self-serve Core and Growth plans priced by monthly generations, plus a custom-priced Pro plan for enterprises.
- Good for
- Solo entrepreneurs (Core), fast-growing teams (Growth) and large enterprise marketing teams (Pro) producing AI-generated ad creatives across many channels and markets.
- Channels
- Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, Google Display, DV360, LinkedIn, Amazon, Pinterest, Snapchat
- Main product
- Pencil, an AI creative marketing platform for generating and launching text, image and video ads.
- Also includes
- Self-serve AI agents to generate text, images, video and ad creatives, Realtime AI insights and scores, Launch and track ads on Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, Google Display, DV360 and LinkedIn, AI Auto Resize across ad formats, Brand kit and brand library uploads, Text generation in dozens of languages
- Connects to
- Google Ads, Meta (Facebook & Instagram Ads), LinkedIn Ads, TikTok Ads, YouTube, Display & Video 360 (DV360), Campaign Manager 360 (CM360), Bynder, Orange Logic, Monotype, GWI Consumer Research, Adobe Workfront Integration
- Public API
- Not stated
- MCP server
- Not stated
- AI image ad generation
Pencil creates text, image, and video ad assets.
- AI video ad generation
Pencil creates text, image, and video ad assets.
- Headline and ad copy
craft compelling copy
- Google Ads integration
Google Ads
- Meta Ads integration
Meta (Facebook & Instagram Ads)
- Creative performance scoring
Realtime AI insights and Scores
- Automated campaign optimizationNot stated
- Brand kit and templates
We strongly recommend uploading a brand kit including logos, fonts, colours along with a short description of
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI advertising tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | no | "Your data never trains our models"home |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 Type II | "SOC 2 Type II"security |
| GDPR | Acts as GDPR controller for site data and processor for customer data under a DP | "Under the GDPR, we are a ‘controller’ for the activities covered by this Privacy Policy."privacy |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | PCI DSS SAQ A | "PCI DSS - SAQ A"security |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Pencil's Trust Center | "Pencil's Trust Center"security |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coreper month, billed monthly | $14 | $11per month | 50 generationsCannot exceed monthly allocation of generations | – | "00+ ads with pencil monthly billing annual billing save 20% core for solo entrepreneurs $ " "training curriculum dedicated customer success most popular core for solo entrepreneurs $ " |
| Growthper month, billed monthly | $55 | $44per month | 250 generationsCannot exceed monthly allocation of generations | – | "lay, dv360 & linkedin 1 workspace chat support most popular growth for fast-growing teams " "lay, dv360 & linkedin 1 workspace chat support most popular growth for fast-growing teams " |
| ProCustom pricing | Quote | – | Unlimited | – | "Custom pricing" |
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Generation credits; credits per generation vary by third-party AI model "The Fees shall be charged based upon a Generation Credit charging model."
- Billed beyond usage
- Core and Growth cannot exceed monthly generations; Pro is charged per extra generation or ad at end of billing cycle "If you exceed your allotted quota, additional charges will apply per extra generation or ad."
- Contract
- Cancel any time; charges stop at end of billing period. Unused generations do not roll over "You can cancel your subscription at any time, and any charges will stop at the end of your billing period."
- Refunds
- Fees non-refundable unless stated; no refunds after free trial and explicit upgrade to paid plan "Please note that we are not able to process refunds for fees incurred after a customer has used their free trial and explicitly upgraded to a paid plan."
- Auto renew
- Agreement renews automatically until terminated "this Agreement shall automatically renew"
- Price change notice
- At least 90 days notice before end of the term "Pencil will provide notification of any such increase at least ninety (90) days in advance of the end of the Initial Term or then-current Renewal Term (as applicable)."
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Pencil AI Limited
- Online since
- Nov 15, 2017 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "35,000+ teams making 2,000,000+ ads" their claim
Pencil alternatives
Creatify$10 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Predis.ai$19 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Madgicx$32 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Adzooma$58.33 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Ryze AI$89 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Marpipe$199 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Optmyzr$209 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Segwise$449 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Pencil free?
There's no free plan. Free trial: Sign up and create six ads through a guided experience for free; full platform needs a paid plan. Paid plans start at $14/month.
How much does Pencil cost?
Paid plans start at $11 per month billed yearly, or $14 billed monthly.
Does Pencil train AI on your data?
No, according to Pencil: "Your data never trains our models"
