Home/AI grammar checkers/Outwrite

Outwrite pricing

AI writing assistant that checks spelling and grammar and suggests style changes, available as browser extensions, Word and Google Docs add-ins, and a web app.

AI grammar checkersFree planSelf-serve
Visit OutwritePrices checked Oct 29, 2026

How much does Outwrite cost?

Paid plans start at $7.95/mo billed yearly or $14.95/mo billed monthly
Free plan
Yes
Read from www.outwrite.com/pricing on Oct 29, 2026. Price changed? Tell usSee the line each price came from

In your favor

  • Free plan. Free Essential plan for fixing spelling and grammar errors

How you buy and get started

Self-serveButtons on their site: Get started for free, Get started
Sign up
Create a free account on the web app
"Create your free Outwrite account in minutes"
Setup
Not stated
When sales steps in
Not stated
Support
Priority email support
"Priority email support"

What Outwrite does

Outwrite checks spelling, grammar and punctuation, and adds style suggestions, paraphrasing and passive voice fixes on its paid plans. It works in English, French and Spanish in Chrome, Edge, Word and Google Docs.

Good for
Students, professionals, casual writers and teams who want grammar checking and style improvement.
Channels
Google Docs, Microsoft Word, Browser extensions, Web App, Chrome, Edge
Main product
Outwrite AI writing assistant
Also includes
Spelling & Grammar, Thesaurus, Style improvements, Structural suggestions, Sentence rewriting, Plagiarism checks (50 / month)
Connects to
Google Docs, MS Word, Outlook, Gmail, LinkedIn, WordPress
Public API
Not stated
MCP server
Not stated
  • Grammar and spelling checksCheck your text is free from spelling, grammar, and punctuation errors
  • Tone and style suggestionsStyle improvements
  • AI rewriting and generationRewrite is an experimental feature that offers different ways to rewrite a sentence, adding fluency and variet
  • Custom style guide enforcementNot stated
  • Browser extensionBrowser extensions
  • Word and Google Docs add-insMicrosoft Word
  • Multiple languages supportedCheck your writing in English, [French](/francais), and [Spanish](/espanol)
  • Admin controls and SSONot stated

The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI grammar checkers. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.

Security and your data

QuestionTheir answerWhere it says so
Trains AI on your data?Not stated
HIPAA (signs a BAA)Not stated
SOC 2Not stated
GDPRData Processing Agreement with processors requiring GDPR compliance"Outwrite and the third party data processors which it uses (who are some of the largest commercial data processors in the world) are subject to the terms of a Data Processing Agree"privacy
CCPANot stated
PCINot stated
ISO 27001Not stated
Single sign-onNot stated
Trust centerNot stated

Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.

Every plan

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyIncludedOver the allowanceWhere it says so
Free (Essential) $0 – – – "For individuals who want to correct spelling and grammar errors."
Teams/user/month $14.95 $7.95per month – – "osoft word browser extensions web app us$ 14.95 /user/month teams for groups that want to " "US$7.95/user/month"
Pro/month $24.95 $9.95per month – – "ures spelling & grammar thesaurus advanced features style improvements structural suggesti" "US$9.95/month"

Free plan: Free Essential plan for fixing spelling and grammar errors

Fine print

Billing increment
Not stated
Billed beyond usage
Not stated
Contract
Not stated
Refunds
No refund for change of mind; refunds only if service cannot be provided or at management discretion
"Outwrite does not provide a Refund for change of mind."
Auto renew
yes, until cancelled
"Subscriptions are renewed automatically until cancelled by the User."
Price change notice
Not stated

"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.

About the company

Address
Sydney, Australia
Online since
Jul 18, 2003
Domain registration date
Founder
Nick Hough, Co-Founder & CEO
Founder
Craig Sketchley, Co-Founder & CTO
Customers
"1 million users"
their claim

Outwrite alternatives

Reviews elsewhere

We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.

Questions

Is Outwrite free?

Yes. Free Essential plan for fixing spelling and grammar errors Paid plans start at $14.95/month.

How much does Outwrite cost?

Paid plans start at $7.95 per month billed yearly, or $14.95 billed monthly.