How much does ChatGPT (Deep Research) cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. Free plan with unlimited text chats, limited uploads, limited deep research, image creation and voice
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Sign up with Google, Microsoft, Apple, phone or email "Continue with Google"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Enterprise requires contacting sales; Business starts at 2 users "Business plans are available starting at 2 users."
- Support
- Help center "[Help](https://help.openai.com)"
What ChatGPT (Deep Research) does
ChatGPT is a general AI assistant with web search, file uploads, deep research, projects and apps/plugins. Individual plans are Free, Go, Plus and Pro; Business and Enterprise plans are for teams, with Enterprise via sales.
- Good for
- Individuals and business teams wanting a general-purpose AI assistant with research, file analysis and coding features.
- Channels
- Web, iOS, Android, Desktop app
- Main product
- ChatGPT
- Also includes
- Unlimited text chats on Free (subject to abuse guardrails), Deep research, File uploads, Projects, Web search, Data analysis
- Connects to
- Canva, Spotify, PowerPoint, Excel, Word, Google Sheets, Slack, Teams
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Inline source citationsNot stated
- Multi-step deep research reports
Expanded deep research
- Academic paper database searchNot stated
- Upload and query own documents
Limited messages with uploads
- Connects to internal apps
Apps for deep research
- Shared team workspace
Share Plugins with your workspace
- SSO and enterprise securityNot stated
- No training on customer dataNot stated
- Export reports and tablesNot stated
- API access
Up to in monthly API credits to build your own apps and agents.
The same 10 checks appear on every tool in AI research assistants. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | yes, opt-out available | "Chats may be reviewed and used to improve our AI models."home |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Trust Portal | "Please visit our [Trust Portal](https://trust.openai.com/) for more details."pricing |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
No prices are published on ChatGPT (Deep Research)'s pricing page.
Free plan: Free plan with unlimited text chats, limited uploads, limited deep research, image creation and voice
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Annual plans for Business and Enterprise "We offer monthly plans for Go, Plus and Business and annual plans for Business and Enterprise."
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- OpenAI
- Online since
- Nov 30, 2022 Domain registration date
ChatGPT (Deep Research) alternatives
Claude (Research)$17 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Elicit$11 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Gemini Deep Research$4.99 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Dust$24 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
ResearchRabbit$10 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026SCscite$12 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
AlphaSenseQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026COCoCounselQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is ChatGPT (Deep Research) free?
Yes. Free plan with unlimited text chats, limited uploads, limited deep research, image creation and voice
Does ChatGPT (Deep Research) train AI on your data?
Yes, opt-out available, according to ChatGPT (Deep Research): "Chats may be reviewed and used to improve our AI models."