How much does Elicit cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. Basic is free with limited Research Agent and Research Reports usage, unlimited search across 138 million papers, unlimited summaries and chat with papers
Watch out for
- No refunds on a long commitment. No refund of amounts already paid on cancellation
- Their pages disagree: Pro yearly price per user/month. "Per user/month, billed as $468 annually" vs "Per user/month, billed as $588 annually"
- Their pages disagree: Scale yearly price per user/month. "Per user/month, billed as $1,068 annually" vs "Per user/month, billed as $2,748 annually"
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve signup for Basic, Plus, Pro and Scale "Try for free"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Enterprise plan is sold through sales "Talk to Sales"
- Support
- Dedicated customer success team on Enterprise "Dedicated customer success team providing training, onboarding, and success planning"
What Elicit does
Elicit searches over 138 million academic papers and 545,000 clinical trials and produces cited reports, tables and literature reviews through a research agent. It sells per-user monthly and yearly plans from a free tier up to Scale, plus a custom Enterprise plan.
- Good for
- Researchers in pharma, academia, medtech, policy, consumer goods, industrials and software who need cited evidence, systematic reviews and team collaboration.
- Channels
- Web app, API, MCP server
- Main product
- Elicit Research Agent
- Also includes
- Research agent, Paper search, Research reports, Systematic literature review, Library, Routines
- Connects to
- Zotero
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Yes
- Inline source citations
Elicit supports all AI-generated claims with sentence-level citations from the underlying sources.
- Multi-step deep research reports
Elicit generates high-quality research briefs based on a process inspired by systematic reviews.
- Academic paper database search
Search over 138 million academic papers and 545,000 clinical trials, with more data sources coming soon.
- Upload and query own documents
Gathers evidence across scientific databases, academic journals, public data sources, and internally uploaded
- Connects to internal appsNot stated
- Shared team workspace
Live editing and real-time collaboration with your team
- SSO and enterprise security
Enterprise-level security and controls, including SSO & SAML, 2FA, user analytics, domain verification, and cu
- No training on customer data
No training on your data by default
- Export reports and tables
Export to RIS, CSV, BIB, PDF and DOCX
- API access
API access
The same 10 checks appear on every tool in AI research assistants. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | no | "No training on your data by default"pricing |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Enterprise | "Enterprise-level security and controls, including SSO & SAML, 2FA, user analytics, domain verification, and custom deployments (e.g. single-tenancy)"pricing |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BasicFree | $0 | – | –Limited usage for Research Agent and Research Reports | – | "Limited usage for Research Agent and Research Reports" |
| PlusPer user/month, billed as $132 annually | – | $11per month | –Standard usage for Research Agent and Research Reports | – | "th?show=signup&redirecttopath=%2fselect plan%3ftier%3dbasic plus for deeper research $11 s" |
| ProPer user/month, billed monthly | $75 | $49per month | –Standard usage for Research Agent, Research Reports, and Sys | – | "ss view sources for answers import from zotero try for free pro for systematic reviews $75" "th?show=signup&redirecttopath=%2fselect plan%3ftier%3dbasic pro for systematic reviews $49" |
| ScalePer user/month, billed monthly | $375 | $229per month | –5x usage for Research Agent, Research Reports, and Systemati | – | "erated answers multiple output templates api access sign up scale for collaboration $375 p" "edirecttopath=%2fselect plan%3ftier%3dpro%26interval%3dyear scale for collaboration $229 s" |
| EnterpriseCustom | Quote | – | –Custom usage for Research Agent, Research Reports, and Syste | – | "Custom usage for Research Agent, Research Reports, and Systematic Literature Reviews" |
Free plan: Basic is free with limited Research Agent and Research Reports usage, unlimited search across 138 million papers, unlimited summaries and chat with papers
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Cancel paid subscription any time; it runs to the end of the current term, then reverts to a free account "Unless otherwise set forth in the applicable Pricing Plan, you may cancel your Paid Subscription at any time."
- Refunds
- No refund of amounts already paid on cancellation "If you cancel your Paid Subscription, you will not receive a refund of any amounts which you have already paid, or be relieved of your obligation to pay amounts due."
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Elicit, inc.
- Online since
- Sep 23, 1998 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "Trusted by over 5 million researchers" their claim
Elicit alternatives
Claude (Research)$17 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Gemini Deep Research$4.99 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Dust$24 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
ResearchRabbit$10 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026SCscite$12 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
AlphaSenseQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Elicit free?
Yes. Basic is free with limited Research Agent and Research Reports usage, unlimited search across 138 million papers, unlimited summaries and chat with papers Paid plans start at $75/month.
How much does Elicit cost?
Paid plans start at $11 per month billed yearly, or $75 billed monthly.
Does Elicit train AI on your data?
No, according to Elicit: "No training on your data by default"
