How much does Appen cost?
- Free plan
- Not stated
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Not stated
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Not stated
What Appen does
Appen sells custom AI training data services such as RLHF, reasoning, agentic, multimodal and speech, physical AI, model integrity and coding datasets, delivered with a global contributor crowd. It also offers an annotation platform (ADAP) and brokers licensing of enterprise operational data to AI labs.
- Good for
- AI labs and enterprises that need custom human-annotated training data, RLHF and model evaluation, and companies that want to license their operational data to AI labs.
- Main product
- AI training data services and annotation platform (AI Data Platform, ADAP)
- Also includes
- Frontier alignment (CoT reasoning, SME RLHF, SFT, red teaming), Agentic AI trajectories and RL environments, Multimodal and speech data (ASR, TTS, VLM, video action labelling), Physical AI (LiDAR annotation, sensor fusion, robotics trajectories), Model integrity (hallucination benchmarking, bias and compliance audits), Research services (LLM-as-a-judge, synthetic data)
- Public API
- Not stated
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Image and video annotation
Deep learning for computer vision — image annotation and bounding box labeling at industrial scale.
- Text and NLP labeling
Human evaluation for search quality and multilingual NLP at scale.
- Audio and speech labeling
Multilingual ASR and conversational speech corpora, expressive TTS annotation, VLM training data, video action
- LLM and RLHF evaluation
CoT reasoning traces, SME RLHF, SFT demonstrations and adversarial red teaming for the world’s most capable mo
- Model-assisted auto-labelingNot stated
- Review and QA workflowsNot stated
- Managed labeling workforce
Vetted contributors worldwide
- Self-hosted or open sourceNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in Data labeling software. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | available | "We are proud to offer a HIPAA compliant solution."security |
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 Type II attested | "SOC 2 Type II Attestation"security |
| GDPR | GDPR compliant | "General data protection regulation (GDPR)"security |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | ISO 27001:2013 certified | "Appen is ISO 27001:2013 certified with TUV Rheinland North America, Inc."security |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
No prices are published on Appen's pricing page.
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Not stated
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Appen Limited
- Address
- Suite 8.03, Level 8, 1 Market Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
- Online since
- Oct 8, 1997 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "80% of the world's leading LLM builders are customers" their claim
- Backing
- "ASX-listed (APX)" their words
Appen alternatives
CVAT$23 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Supervisely€199 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Labellerr$833 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Amazon SageMaker Ground TruthQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026CLClarifaiQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026DADataloopQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Appen free?
No free plan is stated on Appen's pricing page.
Is Appen HIPAA compliant?
Appen says a HIPAA BAA is available.
