Home/Data labeling software/CVAT

CVAT pricing

CVAT is a data annotation platform for images, video, 3D point clouds and audio, sold as a cloud service, a self-hosted enterprise edition and a free open-source edition, plus a managed labeling service.

Data labeling softwareFree planSelf-serve + sales
Visit CVATPrices checked Oct 29, 2026

How much does CVAT cost?

Paid plans start at $23/mo billed yearly or $33/mo billed monthly
Free plan
Yes
Enterprise
Contact sales
Read from www.cvat.ai/pricing on Oct 29, 2026. Price changed? Tell usSee the line each price came from

In your favor

  • Free plan. Free plan for 1 to 2 members: 1 project, 3 tasks, 1 GB internal storage, 100 internal AI calls per month. Paid plans are needed for higher limits.
  • Notice before price changes. Limits can change with preliminary notification if necessary

Watch out for

  • No refunds on a long commitment. Non-refundable except as stated in the separate Subscription and Refund Policy

How you buy and get started

Self-serve + salesButtons on their site: Try CVAT Online, Talk to sales, Get a quote
Sign up
Self-serve signup, no credit card required for the free plan
"Free plan available • No credit card required • GDPR & CCPA compliant"
Setup
Not stated
When sales steps in
CVAT Enterprise and labeling services are sales-led
"Talk to sales"
Support
Priority support from a dedicated engineer with 24-hour response SLAs (Enterprise)
"Get priority support from a dedicated engineer with 24-hour response SLAs."
Support
Community support on GitHub and Discord
"Community support on GitHub and Discord"

What CVAT does

CVAT started as an internal Intel tool in 2017, was open-sourced in 2018 and became the independent company CVAT.ai in 2022. It offers CVAT Online (Free, Solo and Team plans), CVAT Enterprise (self-hosted) and professional annotators who label data for customers.

Good for
ML and computer vision teams, from solo labelers to enterprises, that annotate image, video, 3D and audio data in the cloud, on their own infrastructure, or via an outsourced labeling team.
Channels
Web app, Self-hosted (Community and Enterprise), REST API, Python SDK, CLI, Webhooks
Main product
CVAT Online
Also includes
Image, video, 3D point cloud and audio annotation, Boxes, polygons, masks, skeletons, tags and tracks, Auto-annotation with SAM 2, SAM 3, Ultralytics, Hugging Face and custom models, Manual review, ground truth jobs, honeypots and consensus, Reports and analytics, Cloud storage import
Connects to
Amazon S3, Azure Blob Storage, Google Cloud Storage, Hugging Face, Roboflow, SAM 2, SAM 3, Ultralytics, LDAP, Kubernetes
Public API
Yes
MCP server
Not stated
  • Image and video annotationCreate boxes, polygons, masks, skeletons, tags, and tracks
  • Text and NLP labelingNot stated
  • Audio and speech labelingTranscribe speech into time-aligned text
  • LLM and RLHF evaluationNot stated
  • Model-assisted auto-labelingSpeed up labeling with SAM 2, SAM 3, Ultralytics, Hugging Face models, or custom models
  • Review and QA workflowsReview jobs through validation and acceptance stages
  • Managed labeling workforce300+ dedicated annotators across 12 time zones
  • Self-hosted or open sourceOpen-source, self-hosted edition. Free forever, full control of your stack.

The same 8 checks appear on every tool in Data labeling software. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.

Security and your data

QuestionTheir answerWhere it says so
Trains AI on your data?no"training or improving CVAT’s own machine learning or artificial intelligence models, or any models made available to other customers or third parties"terms
HIPAA (signs a BAA)available on Enterprise"GDPR, CCPA, HIPAA compliant"enterprise
SOC 2Not stated
GDPRcompliant"GDPR, CCPA, and EU AI Act compliant"home
CCPAcompliant"GDPR, CCPA, and EU AI Act compliant"home
PCINot stated
ISO 27001Not stated
Single sign-onannual plans (Online); included in Enterprise"Available only for annual plans."pricing
Trust centerNot stated

Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.

Every plan

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyIncludedOver the allowanceWhere it says so
Free $0 – 2 users1 project, 3 tasks, 1 GB internal storage, 100 internal AI c – "Free plan available • No credit card required • GDPR & CCPA compliant"
Teamper user $33 $23per month 2 users2 to 50 seats – "$33/per user" "$23/per user"
Solo $33 $23per month 1 usersPersonal workspace only – "ine https://app.cvat.ai/auth/register cvat online plans for solo labelers and teams teamso" "plement changes with preliminary notification if necessary. solo monthly unlimited plan fo"
CVAT Enterprise Quote – – – "For organizations that need secure, self-hosted data annotation with full control over the"

Free plan: Free plan for 1 to 2 members: 1 project, 3 tasks, 1 GB internal storage, 100 internal AI calls per month. Paid plans are needed for higher limits.

Fine print

Billing increment
Not stated
Billed beyond usage
Not stated
Contract
Billed in advance on a recurring basis, monthly or annually
"All Fees are billed in advance on a recurring basis (e.g., monthly or annually)"
Refunds
Non-refundable except as stated in the separate Subscription and Refund Policy
"are non-refundable, except as expressly stated in our separate Subscription and Refund Policy"
Auto renew
Not stated
Price change notice
Limits can change with preliminary notification if necessary
"Limits can be changed based on the company's needs and use patterns. CVAT.ai can implement changes with preliminary notification if necessary."

"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.

About the company

Legal name
CVAT.ai Corporation
Online since
May 4, 2022
Domain registration date
Ships updates
13 in the last 12 months
Last on Oct 27, 2026, from their changelog
Customers
"Thousands of ML teams use CVAT"
their claim
Backing
"Backed by an open-source community, MIT-licensed"
their words

CVAT alternatives

Reviews elsewhere

We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.

Questions

Is CVAT free?

Yes. Free plan for 1 to 2 members: 1 project, 3 tasks, 1 GB internal storage, 100 internal AI calls per month. Paid plans are needed for higher limits. Paid plans start at $33/month.

How much does CVAT cost?

Paid plans start at $23 per month billed yearly, or $33 billed monthly.

Does CVAT train AI on your data?

No, according to CVAT: "training or improving CVAT’s own machine learning or artificial intelligence models, or any models made available to other customers or thir"

Is CVAT HIPAA compliant?

CVAT says a HIPAA BAA is available on Enterprise.