How much does Semgrep cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- Semgrep Guardian free for 30 days
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. Free Edition: up to 10 contributors and 10 private repositories, Code and Supply Chain included, 60 AI credits, cross-file analysis with Pro rules
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve signup for the Free Edition "[Sign up](https://semgrep.dev/signup)"
- Setup
- One-click CI/CD deploy using Semgrep infrastructure "One-click CI/CD deploy using Semgrep infrastructure"
- When sales steps in
- Teams and Enterprise require contacting sales; Enterprise is custom pricing "Custom Contact us"
- Support
- Teams: award-winning support "Award-winning support"
- Support
- Enterprise: dedicated account manager "Dedicated account manager"
- Support
- Free Edition: community-based support "Community-based"
What Semgrep does
Semgrep combines rule-based static analysis with AI to find, triage and fix vulnerabilities in code, open source dependencies and secrets. It runs in the CLI, CI/CD, IDEs and PR checks on GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure.
- Good for
- Engineering and AppSec teams that want SAST, supply chain and secrets scanning with AI triage and fixes in PRs, IDEs and CI.
- Channels
- CLI, CI/CD, IDE (VS Code, JetBrains), PR checks in GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure, AI coding agent plugin, MCP integrations for Cursor and Replit
- Main product
- Semgrep AppSec Platform (Code, Supply Chain, Secrets)
- Also includes
- Semgrep Code (SAST), Semgrep Supply Chain (SCA), Semgrep Secrets, Semgrep Assistant AI triage and remediation, Semgrep Pro Engine, Open-source malware protection
- Connects to
- GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure, VS Code, JetBrains, Jira, Slack, Cursor, Replit, Palo Alto Networks, Sysdig
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Yes
- Inline PR comments
We use Semgrep to provide remediation guidance to our developers directly in PR comments.
- Full codebase context
Cross-file analysis with Pro rules
- Auto-fix suggestions
Generate tailored remediation and upgrade guidance directly in PRs and IDEs.
- Custom review rules
Custom Rules
- GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket support
PR checks in GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure
- Security vulnerability detection
Unify SAST, SCA, secrets scanning, and malware protection into one platform built for today’s software era.
- Self-hosted or on-prem
Support for on-prem source code management
- Free for open sourceNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI code review tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | no | "Model vendors are not allowed to use the submitted code for training their models."pricing |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Teams and Enterprise (OIDC + SAML); Free via GitHub/GitLab only | "Single sign-on (SSO)"pricing |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free Edition | $0 | – | 10 contributors10 repositories, 10 contributors, 60 AI credits | – | "Free Highlights: * Cross-file analysis with Pro rules" |
| Teams (Secrets)per contributor | $15 | – | – | – | "Secrets ($15/month/contributor)" |
| Teams (Code or Supply Chain)per contributor | $30 | – | –500 private repositories max; 20 AI credits per developer pe | – | "Starting at $30 / month per contributor" |
| Enterprise | Quote | – | Unlimited50 AI credits per developer per month | – | "Custom Contact us" |
Free plan: Free Edition: up to 10 contributors and 10 private repositories, Code and Supply Chain included, 60 AI credits, cross-file analysis with Pro rules
Fine print
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Billing increment
- Per contributor per month; a contributor is someone who committed to a scanned private repository in the past 90 days "A contributor is someone who made at least one commit to your organization's private repository scanned by Semgrep in the past 90 days."
- Contract
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
- Refunds
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Semgrep, Inc.
- Online since
- Apr 8, 2020 Domain registration date
- Ships updates
- 1 in the last 12 months Last on May 27, 2026, from their changelog
- Customers
- "Loved by leading engineering teams" their claim
Semgrep alternatives
Kodus$8 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Devin Review$20 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Bito$12 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
SonarQube$20 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Semgrep free?
Yes. Free Edition: up to 10 contributors and 10 private repositories, Code and Supply Chain included, 60 AI credits, cross-file analysis with Pro rules Paid plans start at $15/month.
How much does Semgrep cost?
Paid plans start at $15 per month.
Does Semgrep train AI on your data?
No, according to Semgrep: "Model vendors are not allowed to use the submitted code for training their models."