How much does SonarQube cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- 14-day trial, no credit card
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- No long-term contract. No commitment, cancel anytime
- Free plan. Free tier for private projects up to 50k LOC, no card, no expiry; free for public OSI-licensed repos
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve trial signup for Team plan and Gitar "Start free SonarQube trial"
- Setup
- Team plan set up same day without a sales call "Under 50 developers · set up today, no sales call"
- When sales steps in
- Over 50 developers goes through sales "Over 50 developers · one conversation, whole platform"
- Support
- Enterprise plan includes commercial support (starting at 5M LOC); Team plan support available to purchase "The SonarQube **Enterprise** plan includes [commercial support](https://www.sonarsource.com/support/) (starting at 5M LOC)."
- Support
- Community forum for all plans "the [Sonar Community](https://community.sonarsource.com/) is a channel for you to ask questions and receive help from our community members."
What SonarQube does
SonarQube Cloud and self-managed SonarQube Server analyze code for bugs, vulnerabilities and secrets, with an Advanced Security add-on for SCA. Gitar AI Code Review reviews pull requests, writes fixes and iterates until CI passes.
- Good for
- Teams of any size that want automated code quality and security checks on pull requests, including AI-generated code: small teams on the Team plan and enterprises with over 50 developers.
- Channels
- SonarQube Cloud, SonarQube Server (self-managed), IDE extension, CLI, MCP server, Coding agent plugins
- Main product
- SonarQube (Cloud and Server) with Gitar AI Code Review
- Also includes
- SAST, Taint analysis, IaC scanning, Secrets detection, SCA (Advanced Security), Gitar AI Code Review
- Connects to
- GitHub, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, GitLab, Claude Code, Cursor, Devin, GitHub Copilot, Antigravity, Codex, Windsurf, Gemini CLI
- Public API
- Not stated
- MCP server
- Yes
- Inline PR commentsNot stated
- Full codebase context
Reviews every pull request in full context, writes the fix, and iterates until CI passes.
- Auto-fix suggestions
Reviews every pull request in full context, writes the fix, and iterates until CI passes.
- Custom review rules
enforces review policies you write in plain language
- GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket support
Bitbucket
- Security vulnerability detection
Detect code vulnerabilities, early in development.
- Self-hosted or on-prem
Self-managed code verification and governance for your CI/CD workflows
- Free for open source
Public, OSI-licensed repos get SonarQube for OSS and Gitar AI Code Review for OSS
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI code review tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Enterprise plan | "45+ languages, SSO and SCIM, portfolios, OWASP, MISRA reporting, zero data retention and BYOK with LLMs."pricing |
| Trust center | Trust center page exists | "[Trust center](/trust-center/)"pricing |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Developers (free) | $0monthly or yearly not stated | – | 50000 lines of codeprivate projects up to 50k LOC | – | "SonarQube Team Plan, free for your private projects up to 50k LOC. No card, no expiry." |
| Gitar AI Code Review Core/user/mo, billed annually | – | $20per month | – | – | "tart free sonarqube trial /products/sonarqube/cloud/signup/ gitar ai code review reviews e" |
| SonarQube Teammonthly | $34 | – | 100000 lines of code | – | "SonarQube plan pricing starts at $34 monthly for analysis of up to 100k LOC." |
| OSS maintainers (free) | – | – | –public, OSI-licensed repos | – | "Public, OSI-licensed repos get SonarQube for OSS and Gitar AI Code Review for OSS, with th" |
| Enterprise | Quote | – | – | – | "Over 50 developers · one conversation, whole platform" |
Free plan: Free tier for private projects up to 50k LOC, no card, no expiry; free for public OSI-licensed repos
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Team plan invoiced once a month "With SonarQube Team plan you will be invoiced once a month, the day of the month after your trial ends."
- Billed beyond usage
- Notified near the LOC threshold to upgrade or reduce LOC "If you are getting close to the threshold, you will be notified to either upgrade your plan or reduce the number of LOCs in your projects."
- Contract
- No commitment, cancel anytime "Of course! There's no commitment. You can delete your paid organization whenever you wish."
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Team plan paid by card automatically every month "For the Team plan, payment is completed online via credit card and will happen automatically every month."
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- SonarSource Sàrl
- Online since
- Jun 22, 2008 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "Trusted by over 7M developers and 75% of the Fortune 100" their claim
SonarQube alternatives
Kodus$8 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Devin Review$20 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Bito$12 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is SonarQube free?
Yes. Free tier for private projects up to 50k LOC, no card, no expiry; free for public OSI-licensed repos Paid plans start at $34/month.
How much does SonarQube cost?
Paid plans start at $20 per month billed yearly, or $34 billed monthly.
