How much does Nitro PDF Pro cost?
- Free plan
- Not stated
- Free trial
- 14-day free trial, no credit card required, full access
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free trial. 14-day free trial, no credit card required, full access
Watch out for
- Extra usage is billed. Additional Nitro Sign envelopes are billed at the plan rate if the allowance is exceeded
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Free trial sign-up with no credit card required "No credit card required."
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Up to 20 licenses can be bought online; more requires contacting sales "You can purchase up to 20 Nitro subscription licenses directly online through our website."
- Support
- 24/7/365 support for 2+ licenses "24/7/365 technical support (for 2+ licenses)"
- Support
- AI Knowledge Assistant in 80+ languages "Nitro's Knowledge Assistant provides instant answers 24/7 in over 80 languages"
What Nitro PDF Pro does
Nitro offers Nitro PDF (Standard, Plus, Classic), Nitro Sign, Smart Redact and Nitro Automate for editing, converting, securing and signing documents on Windows, Mac and iOS. Nitro AI tools summarize documents, answer questions and extract data, and a 14-day free trial is offered.
- Good for
- Individuals, small teams and mid-market or enterprise organizations that need PDF editing, eSignature and document automation in one platform, including regulated industries.
- Channels
- Windows desktop, Mac desktop, iOS app, Web (Nitro Workspace), API (Nitro Sign Enterprise)
- Main product
- Nitro PDF
- Also includes
- Create, convert, combine and edit PDFs, OCR to turn scanned documents into searchable, editable PDFs, Nitro AI Document Assistant to summarize, rewrite and extract data, Nitro Table & Form Extract, Annotation, comments and review tools, Password protection and encryption
- Connects to
- Salesforce, Zapier, Microsoft Word, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Outlook, SharePoint, OneDrive, Google Drive, Dropbox, Box, Microsoft Power Automate
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Yes
- Chat with PDF
interact with document content using natural language to understand complex documents faster
- AI document summaries
Summarize lengthy PDFs quickly, extract key data and insights
- AI-assisted PDF editing
Summarize, rewrite, and extract key data from your document with Nitro AI Document Assistant
- OCR for scanned files
Turn scanned documents into editable searchable PDFs
- Structured data extraction
Automatically extract table & form data from PDFs with Nitro Table & Form Extract
- Multi-document Q&ANot stated
- Answers with citationsNot stated
- E-sign and security controls
Support secure signing with features such as single sign-on, recipient authentication, and identity verificati
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI PDF tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | no | "Your data is not used for training: documents processed by these tools are not used to train AI models."privacy |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 Type II | "SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA compliant, ISO 27001 certified for information security management"pricing |
| GDPR | GDPR compliant | "GDPR for data privacy"pricing |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | ISO 27001 certified | "ISO 27001 certified for information security management"pricing |
| Single sign-on | Nitro PDF Plus, Nitro Sign Plus and Enterprise | "Enterprise-grade security including single sign-on (SSO), domain control, and Azure Information Protection"pricing |
| Trust center | Security & Trust Center | "Security & Compliance Are Our Top Priority"security |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nitro PDF Standardper user/month | – | – | –Up to 20 licenses online | – | "per user/month" |
| Nitro Sign Standardper user/month | – | – | – | – | "per user/month" |
| Nitro PDF Classicper license/billed once | – | – | 1 licensesThree-year term, Windows only | – | "per license/billed once" |
| Nitro PDF Plus | Quote | – | – | – | "Volume Discounts Available" |
| Nitro Sign Plus | Quote | – | – | – | "Volume Discounts Available" |
| Nitro Sign Enterprise | Quote | – | – | – | "Volume Discounts Available" |
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Additional Nitro Sign envelopes are billed at the plan rate if the allowance is exceeded "Additional envelopes billed at the plan rate if you exceed your allowance."
- Contract
- Nitro PDF Classic is a three-year license "One-time payment for three years of use"
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Nitro Software, Inc.
- Online since
- Oct 31, 2007 Domain registration date
- Ships updates
- 34 in the last 12 months Last on Jan 12, 2027, from their changelog
- Customers
- "Millions of users across industries" their claim
Nitro PDF Pro alternatives
Wondershare PDFelement$2.67 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
PDF Expert (Readdle)$6.67 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Xodo$7.99 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Foxit PDF Editor$4.17 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
PDF.ai$10 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
LightPDF$1.33 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Nitro PDF Pro free?
There's no free plan. Free trial: 14-day free trial, no credit card required, full access.
Does Nitro PDF Pro train AI on your data?
No, according to Nitro PDF Pro: "Your data is not used for training: documents processed by these tools are not used to train AI models."
