How much does Smallpdf cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- 7-day free trial with unlimited access to all tools
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Unlimited usage on Pro. A flat price with no cap on usage.
- Free plan. Free plan with 30+ document management tools, limited document downloads, limited mobile app access; AI tools limited. Trial downgrades to free plan after 7 days.
- Notice before price changes. one month in advance
Watch out for
- Their pages disagree: Number of PDF tools. "30 tools to convert, compress, and edit PDFs for free." vs "over 20 PDF tools"
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve signup with free trial or free plan "Start your 7-day free trial and get unlimited access to all Smallpdf tools to convert, compress, e-sign, and more."
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Business plan for 20+ seats is contact sales "Talk to our team to get a custom offer."
- Support
- 24/7 customer support "Get all the help you need with our round-the-clock customer support."
- Support
- Priority support on Team, dedicated support on Business "Priority customer support"
What Smallpdf does
Smallpdf is a Swiss PDF software suite offering tools to convert, compress, merge, edit, OCR, sign and protect PDFs, plus AI tools (Chat with PDF, summarizer, translator, question generator). Paid plans unlock unlimited use, and a 7-day free trial is offered.
- Good for
- Individuals and teams who need everyday PDF tasks (convert, compress, edit, sign) with light AI features like chatting with or summarizing a single PDF.
- Channels
- Web, Mobile app, Windows app, Chrome extension
- Main product
- Smallpdf PDF tools suite (web, desktop and mobile apps)
- Also includes
- 30+ document management tools, Chat with PDF, AI PDF Summarizer, Translate PDF, AI Question Generator, PDF OCR
- Connects to
- Google Workspace, Dropbox, Google Drive, Chrome Extension
- Public API
- Not stated
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Chat with PDF
Chat with PDF
- AI document summaries
AI PDF Summarizer
- AI-assisted PDF editingNot stated
- OCR for scanned files
PDF OCR
- Structured data extractionNot stated
- Multi-document Q&ANot stated
- Answers with citationsNot stated
- E-sign and security controls
Fill in forms, e-sign contracts, and close deals in a few simple steps.
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI PDF tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | compliant | "Smallpdf is ISO/IEC 27001 certified, GDPR, CCPA, and nFADP compliant."pricing |
| CCPA | compliant | "Smallpdf is ISO/IEC 27001 certified, GDPR, CCPA, and nFADP compliant."pricing |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | certified | "Smallpdf is ISO/IEC 27001 certified, GDPR, CCPA, and nFADP compliant."pricing |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free/month | $0monthly or yearly not stated | – | –Limited document downloads; Sign.com free account limited to | – | "Sign.com free account limited to 2 documents a month" |
| Pro/month per user, billed annually | – | – | Unlimited | – | "per user, billed annually." |
| Team/month per seat, 2-19 seats | – | – | Unlimited | – | "per user, billed annually." |
| Business | Quote | – | Unlimited | – | "Talk to our team to get a custom offer." |
Free plan: Free plan with 30+ document management tools, limited document downloads, limited mobile app access; AI tools limited. Trial downgrades to free plan after 7 days.
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Early termination fee may apply if you terminate before the end of the billing cycle or agreed term "If you terminate your subscription prior to the end of the current billing cycle or agreed subscription term, an early termination fee may apply in accordance with Section 10.1."
- Refunds
- Cancellation does not refund amounts already paid, except as required by law or expressly provided "This means any cancellation will stop future billings but will not result in a refund for amounts already paid, except as required by law or as expressly provided under these Terms"
- Auto renew
- yes, renews at end of each billing period "If you do not cancel your subscription, it will automatically renew at the end of each billing period."
- Price change notice
- one month in advance "If we change the fees and prices, we will inform on the new fees and prices one month in advance on the mentioned website or by contacting you via email."
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Smallpdf AG
- Online since
- Feb 13, 2013 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "Over a billion users" their claim
Smallpdf alternatives
Nitro PDF ProQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026
Wondershare PDFelement$2.67 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
PDF Expert (Readdle)$6.67 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Xodo$7.99 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Foxit PDF Editor$4.17 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
PDF.ai$10 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
LightPDF$1.33 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Smallpdf free?
Yes. Free plan with 30+ document management tools, limited document downloads, limited mobile app access; AI tools limited. Trial downgrades to free plan after 7 days.