How much does Perplexity cost?
- Free plan
- Not stated
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Not stated
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Not stated
What Perplexity does
The home page shows a search box for questions and a Computer feature for handing off projects to get deliverables. Only the app shell is visible, so pricing, security and integration details are not stated.
- Good for
- People who want fast answers to questions and want to hand off project work to an AI agent.
- Main product
- Perplexity Search and Computer
- Also includes
- Search, Computer, Projects, Automations, Artifacts
- Public API
- Not stated
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Inline source citationsNot stated
- Multi-step deep research reportsNot stated
- Academic paper database searchNot stated
- Upload and query own documentsNot stated
- Connects to internal appsNot stated
- Shared team workspaceNot stated
- SSO and enterprise securityNot stated
- No training on customer dataNot stated
- Export reports and tablesNot stated
- API accessNot stated
The same 10 checks appear on every tool in AI research assistants. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
No prices are published on Perplexity's pricing page.
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Not stated
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Online since
- Jul 8, 2022 Domain registration date
Perplexity alternatives
Claude (Research)$17 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Elicit$11 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Gemini Deep Research$4.99 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Dust$24 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
ResearchRabbit$10 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026SCscite$12 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
AlphaSenseQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Perplexity free?
No free plan is stated on Perplexity's pricing page.