How much does Happy Scribe cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- 10-minute free trial of AI Transcription, Subtitling and Translation (on the Free plan)
- Usage price
- $2/minute
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- No long-term contract. Cancel anytime; subscription stays active until the end of the billing period
- Free plan. Free plan with unlimited meeting recordings (45 minutes each), a one-time 10-minute trial of AI transcription, subtitling and translation, and 3 AI Chat files per month. No credit card needed.
Watch out for
- Going over the Basic allowance costs $0.20 per minute. Included: 120 minutes per month.
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve signup on Free; paid plans via Get started "Yes. You can start on the Free plan, no credit card needed."
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- SSO/SAML requires contacting sales (Business plan and Enterprise) "SSO/SAML"
- Support
- Customer support 05:00-23:00 CET on all plans; priority support on Business "Customer support (05:00–23:00 CET)"
What Happy Scribe does
It joins Zoom, Google Meet and Teams calls and also transcribes uploaded files, producing summaries, action items, subtitles and translations. Paid plans add credits, glossaries, API access and an optional human proofreading add-on.
- Good for
- Journalists, researchers, sales teams, legal teams, educators and enterprise teams that need meeting notes, transcripts, subtitles and translation.
- Channels
- Web app, Mobile app (iOS & Android), Zoom, Google Meet and Teams notetaker, Desktop app (soon)
- Main product
- AI Notetaker and AI transcription, subtitling and translation
- Also includes
- AI Notetaker for Zoom, Google Meet and Teams, AI transcription in 150+ languages, AI subtitles, AI translation in 80+ languages, Automatic speaker detection, AI Chat over transcripts
- Connects to
- Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, YouTube, Vimeo, Google Drive, Box, Dropbox, Zapier, Claude, ChatGPT, MCP server
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Yes
- Custom glossaries
Create unlimited Style guides and Glossaries
- Document file translationNot stated
- Translation APINot stated
- 100+ languages
AI speech-to-text for 150+ languages and dialects
- Translation memoryNot stated
- Human review workflow
Human proofreading
- No training on dataNot stated
- Live speech translationNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI translation tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | no unless you opt in | "If you have not opted in, Your Content uploaded on or after the Effective Date is not used to train or maintain any machine-learning models"terms |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 Type 2 certified | "We are SOC 2 Type 2 certified."security |
| GDPR | GDPR compliant | "We're compliant to the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)."privacy |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Payments outsourced to Stripe (PCI Level 1); HappyScribe not subject to PCI obli | "All payment instrument processing is safely outsourced to Stripe which is certified as a PCI Level 1 Service Provider."privacy |
| ISO 27001 | Data center is ISO 27001 compliant (not HappyScribe itself) | "It is a Tier IV, PCI DSS, and ISO 27001 compliant facility."security |
| Single sign-on | SSO/SAML on Business (contact sales) and Enterprise | "SSO/SAML"pricing |
| Trust center | https://trust.happyscribe.com/ | "You can learn more about our compliance in our [Trust Center](https://trust.happyscribe.com/)."privacy |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | – | 10 minutes (one-time trial of AI transcription, subtitling and translation)45 minutes per recording | – | "10-minute free trial of AI Transcription, Subtitling and Translation" |
| Basic/ month | $17 | $8.50per month | 120 minutes per month90 minutes per recording; 1 user seat | $0.20/minute | "rked integrate with youtube, vimeo, drive, box, and dropbox basic for individuals with sma" "rked integrate with youtube, vimeo, drive, box, and dropbox basic for individuals with sma" |
| Pro/ month | $29 | $19per month | 600 minutes per month3 user seats included; additional seats $29/month | $0.20/minute | "lyze 10 files/month with ai chat 1 user seat included human proofreading from $2.00/min se" "lyze 10 files/month with ai chat 1 user seat included human proofreading from $2.00/min se" |
| Business/ month | $89 | $59per month | 6000 minutes per month5 user seats included; additional seats $29/month | $0.20/minute | "tes advanced ai models access chatgpt, claude, mistral, glm business for teams and agencie" "tes advanced ai models access chatgpt, claude, mistral, glm business for teams and agencie" |
| Human proofreading add-on/min | $2per minute | – | –$1.90/min on Business | – | "From $2.00/min" |
| Enterprise | Quote | – | – | – | "More controls and support for large organizations." |
Free plan: Free plan with unlimited meeting recordings (45 minutes each), a one-time 10-minute trial of AI transcription, subtitling and translation, and 3 AI Chat files per month. No credit card needed.
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Extra credits are bought at $0.20/min; topped-up credits persist, plan credits reset each cycle "You can buy additional credits at any time at the pay-as-you-go rate."
- Contract
- Cancel anytime; subscription stays active until the end of the billing period "After cancellation, your subscription remains active until the end of the current billing period, and no further charges will be made."
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Online since
- Feb 24, 2009 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "Trusted by 41,000+ teams" their claim
Happy Scribe alternatives
ElevenLabs$5 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
DeepL$7.49 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Weglot€12.50 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Synthesia$14 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Maestra$15 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Phrase$27 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Happy Scribe free?
Yes. Free plan with unlimited meeting recordings (45 minutes each), a one-time 10-minute trial of AI transcription, subtitling and translation, and 3 AI Chat files per month. No credit card needed. Paid plans start at $17/month.
How much does Happy Scribe cost?
Paid plans start at $8.50 per month billed yearly, or $17 billed monthly.
Does Happy Scribe train AI on your data?
No unless you opt in, according to Happy Scribe: "If you have not opted in, Your Content uploaded on or after the Effective Date is not used to train or maintain any machine-learning models"