How much does Phrase cost?
- Free plan
- Not stated
- Free trial
- 14-day free trial of the platform on all plans
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free trial. 14-day free trial of the platform on all plans
- Notice before price changes. 60 days before renewal
Watch out for
- Extra usage is billed. On-demand fees invoiced monthly in arrears
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve trial signup on some plans "Try for free"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Not stated
- Support
- 24/7 support on all plans "24/7 customer support across all plans"
What Phrase does
Phrase sells a translation management system (TMS), a software localization product (Strings), machine translation (Language AI) and an add-on video product (Studio). Plans are priced per team with capacity limits, and all plans include a 14-day free trial.
- Good for
- Business localization teams, developers, designers and product managers localizing apps, websites and content, plus freelancers and language service providers.
- Channels
- Web app, API, CLI, Webhooks, Over-the-air SDK
- Main product
- Phrase Language Intelligence Platform (Phrase TMS, Phrase Strings, Phrase Language AI)
- Also includes
- Phrase TMS, Phrase Strings, Phrase Language AI, Phrase Orchestrator, Phrase Portal, Phrase Custom AI
- Connects to
- Figma, Slack, WordPress, GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Jira, Unity, Zendesk, Drupal, Contentful, Adobe Experience Manager
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Yes
- Custom glossaries
Customization, profiles, and glossaries for AI-powered machine translation
- Document file translation
Document and software localization
- Translation API
Phrase Language AI over API
- 100+ languagesNot stated
- Translation memory
Translation memories and term bases
- Human review workflow
Basic review workflowPhrase Strings
- No training on dataNot stated
- Live speech translationNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI translation tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | yes | "The Phrase Group may use Customer Content to train its machine learning models and algorithms"terms |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Business | "Single sign-on"pricing |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Freelancerper month billed annually | – | $27per month | 1 users | – | "27per month" |
| Software UI/UXper month billed annually | – | $525per month | 15 users | – | "525per month" |
| Professionalper month billed annually | – | $525per month | – | – | "525per month" |
| Teamper month billed annually | – | $1,245per month | – | – | "1,245per month" |
| Business | Quote | – | – | – | "Custom" |
| Enterprise | Quote | – | – | – | "Custom" |
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- On-demand fees invoiced monthly in arrears "On-Demand Fees will be invoiced monthly in arrears"
- Contract
- Not stated
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Renews for an additional period equal to the initial subscription period unless notice is given 30 days before the end "the Subscription Period shall be extended by an additional period corresponding to the initial Subscription Period"
- Price change notice
- 60 days before renewal "unless Phrase notifies Customer of any change of Subscription Fees at least 60 days in advance of such renewal"
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Online since
- Jan 8, 1999 Domain registration date
Phrase alternatives
ElevenLabs$5 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
DeepL$7.49 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Weglot€12.50 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Synthesia$14 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Maestra$15 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Phrase free?
There's no free plan. Free trial: 14-day free trial of the platform on all plans.
How much does Phrase cost?
Paid plans start at $27 per month billed yearly.
Does Phrase train AI on your data?
Yes, according to Phrase: "The Phrase Group may use Customer Content to train its machine learning models and algorithms"
