How much does Smartcat cost?
- Free plan
- Not stated
- Free trial
- 15-day free trial, including API access
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free trial. 15-day free trial, including API access
- Notice before price changes. Fees may be changed at Smartcat's discretion with contemporaneous notice
Watch out for
- Their pages disagree: Fortune 500 share using Smartcat. "Discover why 25% of the Fortune 500 choose Smartcat" vs "of the Fortune 500 use Smartcat for their multilingual content needs."
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Free sign-up without credit card "Free translation without credit card"
- Setup
- Implementation included at every tier, self-service to fully managed "Implementation is included at every tier."
- When sales steps in
- Accelerate, Anticipate and Autonomous require booking a demo "Tailored to your needs"
- Support
- Help Center + email on Adapt, Accelerate and Anticipate "Help Center + email"
- Support
- Autonomous: priority support, guaranteed response SLA, semi-annual EBR "Priority support, guaranteed response SLA, semi-annual EBR"
What Smartcat does
Smartcat uses AI coworkers (Chief of Staff, Content Translator, Reviewer and others) to translate and update content, backed by glossaries, translation memory and a marketplace of 500K+ human experts. It sells an Adapt plan from $1,200 per year and custom-priced Accelerate, Anticipate and Autonomous tiers.
- Good for
- Teams in L&D, marketing, product, legal and ecommerce, from small teams to enterprises, that need to translate large volumes of content across many file types and tools.
- Channels
- Web platform, Chrome Extension, API, CLI, Integrations
- Main product
- Smartcat AI translation platform with AI coworkers
- Also includes
- Chief of Staff coworker, Content Translator Coworker, Content Creator Coworker, Reviewer Coworker (Accelerate and above), Content Update Coworker (Anticipate and above), Quality Assurance Coworker (Anticipate and above)
- Connects to
- Google Drive, Google Sheets, Chrome Extension, OneDrive, Figma, Canva, GitHub, Jira, Contentful, WPML (WordPress), Drupal, Adobe Experience Manager
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Custom glossaries
Every job uses your glossary, style guide and translation memory, so terms stay consistent across 280+ languag
- Document file translation
Smartcat handles 80+ file formats
- Translation API
API access
- 100+ languages
280+ languages across translation and content creation.
- Translation memory
Translation memory matches and repetitions are free on every plan, including Adapt.
- Human review workflow
gives you on-demand access to 500K+ vetted human experts: linguists, copywriters, reviewers.
- No training on data
Your content is never used to train public AI models.
- Live speech translationNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI translation tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | no | "Your content is never used to train public AI models."pricing |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 Type II | "Smartcat is SOC 2 Type II compliant."pricing |
| GDPR | GDPR-compliant | "GDPR-compliant organization"home |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Payment partner certified PCI-DSS Level 1 | "Its services are certified to PCI-DSS Level 1, which is the highest level of certification within the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard."privacy |
| ISO 27001 | ISO 27001 certified | "ISO 27001 certified organization"home |
| Single sign-on | Anticipate and above | "From the Anticipate plan up, you also get SSO, 2FA and a completed technical questionnaire for your security review."pricing |
| Trust center | Trust Center available | "Trust Center"pricing |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adapt/ year | – | $100per month | 100000 Smartwords | – | "$1,200/ year" |
| Accelerate | Quote | – | 1e+06 Smartwords | – | "Tailored to your needs" |
| Anticipate | Quote | – | 2e+06 Smartwords | – | "Tailored to your needs" |
| Autonomous | Quote | – | 6e+06 Smartwords | – | "Tailored to your needs" |
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Annual allowance; Adapt billed annually "Billed annually"
- Refunds
- User waives refund rights to the extent allowed by law "To the maximum extent available pursuant to applicable law you hereby waive any right to seek refund for any Subscription Service purchased on the Platform."
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Fees may be changed at Smartcat's discretion with contemporaneous notice "These fees may be changed by Smartcat at its own discretion with contemporaneous notice thereof unless otherwise provided in the separate agreement between you and Smartcat."
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Smartcat Platform Inc.
- Address
- 2810 N Church St PMB 50985, Wilmington, Delaware, 19802-4447, USA
- Online since
- Nov 29, 1999 Domain registration date
- Ships updates
- 5 in the last 12 months Last on Oct 21, 2026, from their changelog
- Customers
- "Trusted by 1,000+ enterprise brands" their claim
Smartcat alternatives
ElevenLabs$5 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
DeepL$7.49 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Weglot€12.50 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Synthesia$14 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Maestra$15 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Smartcat free?
There's no free plan. Free trial: 15-day free trial, including API access.
How much does Smartcat cost?
Paid plans start at $100 per month billed yearly.
Does Smartcat train AI on your data?
No, according to Smartcat: "Your content is never used to train public AI models."