How much does Prodigy (Explosion) cost?
- Free plan
- Not stated
- Free trial
- No standard trial; hosted VM trials for companies and organizations on request, not…
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free trial. No standard trial; hosted VM trials for companies and organizations on request, not individuals
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Buy online through the store checkout "[Buy now](https://transactions.sendowl.com/packages/60056/C8D5C7B8/add_to_cart)"
- Setup
- Download and install like a Python library with pip using your license key "Download and install like any other library"
- When sales steps in
- Purchase orders, invoices and reseller orders handled by email for company licenses "Can I send you a purchase order and receive an invoice?"
- Support
- Community forum support on Personal "community forum support"
- Support
- Priority forum and email support on Company "priority forum and email support"
What Prodigy (Explosion) does
Prodigy is a Python package with a web app that runs on your own machines, with built-in recipes for text, image, audio and video annotation plus active learning and LLM integrations. It is sold as a one-time lifetime license with 12 months of upgrades, for individuals or company seat packs.
- Good for
- Developers, data science teams and researchers comfortable with Python who want private, self-hosted, customizable annotation for NLP and other ML tasks.
- Channels
- Python package and CLI, Web application, Python API, REST API, Support forum, Email
- Main product
- Prodigy, a scriptable annotation tool
- Also includes
- Prodigy installer for Python 3.8+ on macOS, Linux and Windows, Self-hosted annotation back-end, Built-in annotation recipes for NER, span categorization, text classification, computer vision, audio and video, and more, Web application with 23 annotation interfaces, Active learning models for NER, text classification, POS tagging and dependency parsing, Plugins including third-party integrations, APIs and PDF processing
- Connects to
- spaCy, Hugging Face models, LLM API providers, PyTorch, TensorFlow, Jupyter, SQLite, MySQL, PostgreSQL, OpenID Connect SSO, Modal, DSPy
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Image and video annotation
Built-in [annotation recipes](/docs/recipes) for a **wide range of machine learning tasks**, including named e
- Text and NLP labeling
including named entity recognition, span categorization, text classification, part-of-speech tagging, dependen
- Audio and speech labeling
audio and video annotation, transcription, speaker diarization
- LLM and RLHF evaluationNot stated
- Model-assisted auto-labeling
Active learning models for **named entity recognition**, **text classification**, part-of-speech tagging and d
- Review and QA workflows
Create, review and train from your annotations
- Managed labeling workforceNot stated
- Self-hosted or open source
Prodigy runs entirely on your own machines and never “phones home” or connects to our or any third-party serve
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in Data labeling software. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | no | "All data and models you use and create stay entirely private and under your control."home |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Company plan, via OpenID Connect | "HTTP auth and SSO with OpenID Connect"pricing |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personalper lifetime license (excl. tax) | – | – | 1 users | – | "$390 USD" |
| Companyper seat, in packs of 5 seats (excl. tax) | – | – | 5 users | – | "$490 USD" |
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Lifetime license, buy once and keep forever, with 12 months of free upgrades "**Lifetime license:** buy once, keep forever and receive 12 months of free upgrades."
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Explosion
- Address
- Berlin, Germany
- Ships updates
- 1 in the last 12 months Last on Mar 24, 2026, from their changelog
- Customers
- "Over 10,000 developers and researchers use Prodigy" their claim
Prodigy (Explosion) alternatives
CVAT$23 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Supervisely€199 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Labellerr$833 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Amazon SageMaker Ground TruthQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026
AppenQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026CLClarifaiQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Prodigy (Explosion) free?
There's no free plan. Free trial: No standard trial; hosted VM trials for companies and organizations on request, not individuals.
Does Prodigy (Explosion) train AI on your data?
No, according to Prodigy (Explosion): "All data and models you use and create stay entirely private and under your control."
