How much does Amazon SageMaker cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- First 2 months of 250 hours of sc.t3.medium instance on SageMaker notebooks under AWS…
- Usage price
- $0.04/minute
In your favor
- Free plan. SageMaker Unified Studio Free Tier: always-free core requests (setup, project, user and policy management) plus carried-over AWS Free Tier allocations; SageMaker Catalog gives each account 20 MB metadata storage, 4,000 API requests and 0.2 compute units free per billing month, then standard rates apply.
- No setup fee. No minimum fees or upfront commitments for SageMaker AI
Watch out for
- Going over the SageMaker Catalog Requests allowance costs $10 per 100,000 requests. Included: 4000 requests.
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Create an AWS account and start in the console "[Create an AWS account](https://signin.aws.amazon.com/signup?request_type=builderId)"
- Setup
- Quick setup option available for IdC-based domain; manual setup also available "AWS offers a [quick setup option](https://docs.aws.amazon.com/sagemaker-unified-studio/latest/adminguide/create-domain-sagemaker-unified-studio-quick.html) to help you get started "
- When sales steps in
- Not stated
- Support
- AWS Support "Access proactive guidance, issue resolution, and helpful tools"
What Amazon SageMaker does
SageMaker brings together SageMaker AI (model development, MLOps), Unified Studio, a data catalog and a lakehouse in one AWS environment. Pricing is pay-as-you-go per underlying AWS service used.
- Good for
- Organizations already on AWS that want one environment for data, analytics, ML and generative AI development with built-in governance.
- Channels
- Web console, AWS Marketplace
- Main product
- Amazon SageMaker
- Also includes
- SageMaker AI (HyperPod, JumpStart, MLOps), SageMaker Unified Studio, SageMaker Catalog (built on Amazon DataZone), SageMaker Lakehouse, SageMaker notebooks, SageMaker Data Agent
- Connects to
- Amazon S3, Amazon Redshift, Amazon Bedrock, Amazon Athena, Amazon EMR, AWS Glue, Amazon MWAA, Amazon Q Developer, AWS Lake Formation, AWS IAM Identity Center, Apache Iceberg
- Public API
- Not stated
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Experiment trackingNot stated
- Model registry and versioningNot stated
- Pipeline orchestration
MLOps (Amazon SageMaker Pipelines and Model Monitor)
- Model deployment and serving
Train, customize, and deploy ML and foundation models (FMs) on a highly performant and cost-effective infrastr
- Drift and performance monitoring
MLOps (Amazon SageMaker Pipelines and Model Monitor)
- Feature store
Additional components like SageMaker AI Feature Store and Data Wrangler tools might have their own pricing con
- LLM and GenAI support
Rapidly create generative AI applications tailored to your business with cutting-edge models and your propriet
- Self-hosted or VPC deploymentNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in MLOps platforms. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | AWS Trust Center | "[Trust Center](/trust-center/?nc2=h_dsc_aa_trc)"home |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Data Agent Creditper credit | $0.04per minute | – | – | – | "| Data Agent Credit | $0.04 per credit |" |
| SageMaker Catalog Requestsper 100,000 requests | $10per 100,000 requests | – | 4000 requests | $10/100,000 requests | "| Requests | $10 per 100,000 requests | 4,000 free requests in a billing month per account" |
| SageMaker Catalog Metadata storageper GB | $0.40per gb | – | 20 MB | $0.40/gb | "| Metadata storage | $0.40 per GB | 20 MB of free storage in a billing month per account |" |
| SageMaker Catalog Computeper compute unit | $1.78per compute unit | – | 0.2 compute units | $1.78/compute unit | "| Compute | $1.776 per compute unit | 0.2 free compute units in a billing month per accoun" |
| SageMaker Catalog Recommendations (input tokens)per 1,000 input tokens | $0.01per minute | – | – | – | "| Recommendations | $0.015 per 1,000 input tokens $0.075 per 1,000 output tokens | No free" |
| SageMaker Catalog Recommendations (output tokens)per 1,000 output tokens | $0.07per minute | – | – | – | "| Recommendations | $0.015 per 1,000 input tokens $0.075 per 1,000 output tokens | No free" |
Free plan: SageMaker Unified Studio Free Tier: always-free core requests (setup, project, user and policy management) plus carried-over AWS Free Tier allocations; SageMaker Catalog gives each account 20 MB metadata storage, 4,000 API requests and 0.2 compute units free per billing month, then standard rates apply.
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Data Agent credits metered to the second decimal point, minimum 0.01 credits per request "Credits are metered to the second decimal point, so the minimum credit consumption for any request is 0.01 credits."
- Billed beyond usage
- Charges apply only when usage exceeds free limits in a billing month "You will only be charged the SageMaker Catalog standard pay-as-you-go rates if your account exceeds these free usage limits within a billing month."
- Contract
- No upfront commitments or minimum fees "SageMaker AI follows a pay-as-you-go pricing model with no upfront commitments or minimum fees."
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Amazon Web Services, Inc.
- Customers
- "Customers named include Toyota, Charter Communications, Lennar, Carrier and NatWest Group" their claim
Amazon SageMaker alternatives
ClearML$15 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Comet$19 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
TrueFoundry$25 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Azure Machine LearningQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026
DatabricksQuoteFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Amazon SageMaker free?
Yes. SageMaker Unified Studio Free Tier: always-free core requests (setup, project, user and policy management) plus carried-over AWS Free Tier allocations; SageMaker Catalog gives each account 20 MB metadata storage, 4,000 API requests and 0.2 compute units free per billing month, then standard rates apply.
