How much does Databricks cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- Free trial with access to the Data + AI Platform; some trials include credits, and the…
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. Databricks Community Edition: a free, limited functionality platform for learning Spark. A Free Edition is also linked for learning data and AI tools.
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Free trial signup, no credit card required "Get started with Databricks for free. No credit card required."
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Not stated
- Support
- Technical support offered; contact sales to learn more "We do offer technical support."
What Databricks does
Databricks runs analytical and operational workloads on one governed platform, with tools to build ML and GenAI applications, agents, and data pipelines. It is billed pay as you go by compute usage in DBUs, with committed use contracts for discounts.
- Good for
- Organizations that want one platform for data engineering, analytics, ML and GenAI applications on AWS, Azure or GCP.
- Main product
- Databricks Data + AI Platform
- Also includes
- Data engineering (Lakeflow ETL and orchestration), Data warehousing, Lakebase serverless Postgres, AI and ML (Agent Bricks), Unity Catalog governance, Unity Gateway for AI governance
- Connects to
- AWS, Azure, GCP, Partner Connect, Marketplace, IDE Integrations
- Public API
- Not stated
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Experiment trackingNot stated
- Model registry and versioningNot stated
- Pipeline orchestration
Ingest, transform and orchestrate your data at scale with a unified solution.
- Model deployment and serving
Build and deploy ML and GenAI applications
- Drift and performance monitoringNot stated
- Feature storeNot stated
- LLM and GenAI support
Govern enterprise AI with unified access, cost control, observability and guardrails.
- Self-hosted or VPC deploymentNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in MLOps platforms. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Security and Trust page | "Security and Trust"home |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pay as you go | – | – | – | – | "Databricks offers you a pay-as-you-go approach with no up-front costs. Only pay for the pr" |
| Committed Use Contracts | Quote | – | – | – | "Databricks offers you opportunities to access discounts and other benefits when you commit" |
Free plan: Databricks Community Edition: a free, limited functionality platform for learning Spark. A Free Edition is also linked for learning data and AI tools.
Fine print
- Billing increment
- per second "Only pay for the products you use at per second granularity."
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- No up-front costs on pay as you go; commitments optional for discounts. "Databricks offers you a pay-as-you-go approach with no up-front costs."
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- After the trial you are automatically subscribed to the plan you used. "At the end of the trial, you are automatically subscribed to the plan that you have been using during the trial."
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Databricks, Inc.
- Address
- 160 Spear Street, 15th Floor, San Francisco, CA 94105
- Online since
- Jul 13, 2011 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "Over 20,000 customers; over 60% of the Fortune 500" their claim
Databricks alternatives
ClearML$15 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Comet$19 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
TrueFoundry$25 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Amazon SageMaker$0.04 /minuteFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Azure Machine LearningQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Databricks free?
Yes. Databricks Community Edition: a free, limited functionality platform for learning Spark. A Free Edition is also linked for learning data and AI tools.
