Home/AI API platforms/Anthropic Claude API

Anthropic Claude API pricing

Anthropic builds the Claude AI models and sells them through chat apps, Claude Code, and a pay-per-token API on the Claude Platform.

AI API platformsFree planPriced per minuteSelf-serve + sales
Visit Anthropic Claude APIPrices checked Oct 29, 2026

How much does Anthropic Claude API cost?

Paid plans start at $17/mo billed yearly or $20/mo billed monthly
Free plan
Yes
Usage price
$10/minute
Enterprise
Contact sales

In your favor

  • Free plan. Free chat plan with web, desktop and mobile chat, web search, file creation and code execution, memory, Artifacts, up to 5 projects. Usage limits apply. API has no free tier stated.
  • Notice before price changes. Prices and plans subject to change at Anthropic's discretion; fee increases require review and acceptance before charge

Watch out for

  • Going over the Code execution (beyond free hours) allowance costs $0.05 per hour per container. Included: 50 free hours daily per organization.
  • No refunds on a long commitment. Payments generally non-refundable except where terms or local law say otherwise

How you buy and get started

Self-serve + salesButtons on their site: Try Claude, Get Team plan, Get Enterprise plan, Start building (opens in new tab)
Sign up
Self-serve signup for Free, Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise (self-serve)
"Get Enterprise plan"
Setup
Not stated
When sales steps in
Enterprise sales-assisted needed for invoicing/net terms and AWS Marketplace; self-serve Enterprise has 20 seat minimum
"US$20/seat/month, billed annually, 20 seat minimum."
Support
Support center available
"[Support center](https://support.claude.com/en/)"

What Anthropic Claude API does

Anthropic is a public benefit corporation that offers Claude via free, Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise plans, and via an API priced per million tokens across Fable, Opus, Sonnet and Haiku models. Batch processing is discounted 50% and prompt caching has separate rates.

Good for
Developers and businesses needing token-priced access to several Claude models, plus individuals and teams wanting Claude chat and coding apps.
Channels
Web app, Desktop app, Mobile apps, API (Claude Platform), Claude Code, Claude in Chrome, Claude for Microsoft 365, Claude for Google Workspace, AWS, Google Cloud, Microsoft Foundry
Main product
Claude (models, apps, Claude Code, and Claude Platform API)
Also includes
Claude models: Fable, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku, Pay-per-token API, Batch processing at 50% savings, Prompt caching, Managed Agents, Web search tool
Connects to
Microsoft 365, Google Workspace, Slack, AWS, Google Cloud, Microsoft Foundry, Chrome
Public API
Yes
MCP server
Not stated
  • Pay-per-token pricingInput $10 / MTok
  • Multiple models available### Sonnet 5.5 High-performance model for coding and agents
  • Fine-tuning supportNot stated
  • Streaming responsesNot stated
  • Tool and function callingNot stated
  • SOC 2 complianceNot stated
  • No training on your dataNo model training on your content by default
  • Discounted batch processingSave 50% with batch processing.

The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI API platforms. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.

Security and your data

QuestionTheir answerWhere it says so
Trains AI on your data?no (Team and Enterprise by default); opt-out on individual plans"No model training on your content by default"pricing
HIPAA (signs a BAA)available on Enterprise"HIPAA-ready offering available"pricing
SOC 2Not stated
GDPRNot stated
CCPANot stated
PCINot stated
ISO 27001Not stated
Single sign-onTeam and Enterprise"Single sign-on (SSO)"pricing
Trust centerhttps://trust.anthropic.com/"[Security and compliance](https://trust.anthropic.com/)"pricing

Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.

Every plan

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyIncludedOver the allowanceWhere it says so
Free $0 – – – "Free for everyone"
Proper month $20 $17per month – – "apps and tools create artifacts claude design, slides, docs pro claude code included for e" "$20 if billed monthly."
Enterpriseper seat / month plus usage at API rates – $20per month 20 seats minimum – "US$20/seat/month, billed annually, 20 seat minimum. Usage cost scales with model and task."
Team Standard seatper seat / month $25 $20per month – – "el trainingmore information opt-out opt-out opt-out opt-out team for teams of 2 to 150 get" "Per seat / month if billed annually. $25 if billed monthly."
Maxper month $100 – – – "From $100"
Team Premium seatper seat / month $125 $100per month – – "el trainingmore information opt-out opt-out opt-out opt-out team for teams of 2 to 150 get" "Per seat / month if billed annually. $125 if billed monthly."
API Fable 5.1 input/ MTok $10per minute – – – "$10 / MTok"
API Fable 5.1 output/ MTok $50per minute – – – "$50 / MTok"
API Opus 5.5 input/ MTok $4per minute – – – "$4 / MTok"
API Opus 5.5 output/ MTok $20per minute – – – "$20 / MTok"
API Sonnet 5.5 input/ MTok $2per minute – – – "$2 / MTok"
API Sonnet 5.5 output/ MTok $10per minute – – – "$10 / MTok"
API Haiku 5.5 input (prompts <= 100K tokens)/ MTok $0.10per minute – – – "$0.10 / MTok"
API Haiku 5.5 output (prompts <= 100K tokens)/ MTok $0.50per minute – – – "$0.50 / MTok"
Managed Agents runtimeper session-hour $0.08per minute – – – "$0.08 per session-hour for active runtime"
Web search tool/ 1K searches $10per minute – – – "$10 / 1K searches"
Code execution (beyond free hours)per hour per container $0.05per hour per container – 50 free hours daily per organization $0.05/hour per container "$0.05 per hour per container"

Free plan: Free chat plan with web, desktop and mobile chat, web search, file creation and code execution, memory, Artifacts, up to 5 projects. Usage limits apply. API has no free tier stated.

Fine print

Billing increment
Not stated
Billed beyond usage
On paid plans, usage credits let you keep working at standard API rates after hitting limits
"turn on [usage credits](https://support.claude.com/en/articles/12429409-manage-usage-credits-for-paid-claude-plans) to keep working at standard API rates"
Contract
Enterprise is annual only; Pro and Team can be monthly or annual
"Enterprise plans are only available as annual subscriptions."
Refunds
Payments generally non-refundable except where terms or local law say otherwise
"Payments are generally non-refundable, except where our [Consumer Terms of Service](https://www.anthropic.com/legal/consumer-terms) say otherwise or where local law requires it."
Auto renew
Subscriptions automatically renew until cancelled
"we or the App Distributor will automatically charge your Payment Method on each agreed-upon periodic renewal date until you cancel."
Price change notice
Prices and plans subject to change at Anthropic's discretion; fee increases require review and acceptance before charge
"Price and plans are subject to change at Anthropic's discretion."

"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.

About the company

Legal name
Anthropic PBC
Online since
Oct 2, 2001
Domain registration date
Customers
"Trusted by the world's leading organizations"
their claim

Anthropic Claude API alternatives

Reviews elsewhere

We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.

Questions

Is Anthropic Claude API free?

Yes. Free chat plan with web, desktop and mobile chat, web search, file creation and code execution, memory, Artifacts, up to 5 projects. Usage limits apply. API has no free tier stated. Paid plans start at $20/month.

How much does Anthropic Claude API cost?

Paid plans start at $17 per month billed yearly, or $20 billed monthly.

Does Anthropic Claude API train AI on your data?

No (team and enterprise by default); opt-out on individual plans, according to Anthropic Claude API: "No model training on your content by default"

Is Anthropic Claude API HIPAA compliant?

Anthropic Claude API says a HIPAA BAA is available on Enterprise.