Home/AI API platforms/xAI API

xAI API pricing

SpaceXSI sells API access to its Grok models for text, code, image, video and voice, billed per token and per unit of media.

AI API platformsFree planPriced per minuteSelf-serve + sales
Visit xAI APIPrices checked Oct 29, 2026

How much does xAI API cost?

Paid plans start at $8/mo
Free plan
Yes
Usage price
$2/minute
Enterprise
Contact sales
Read from x.ai/pricing on Oct 29, 2026. Price changed? Tell usSee the line each price came from

In your favor

  • Free plan. No free API tier. The Playground comes with every Console account to test models before adding billing, and API usage is billed per token. The Grok app has a Free plan with limited usage.
  • Notice before price changes. Reasonable notice, new price applies at next renewal

How you buy and get started

Self-serve + salesButtons on their site: Get your API key, Try for free, Contact Sales, Create a free Console account
Sign up
Self-serve: sign up at the Console and create an API key
"Create an account, generate a key, and ship your first Grok request in about a minute."
Setup
About a minute to first request
"Create an account, generate a key, and ship your first Grok request in about a minute."
When sales steps in
Contact sales for custom rate limits, monthly invoicing, SSO and audit logging, data residency
"Custom rate limits and hands-on support for your team."
Support
Dedicated onboarding and support path for enterprise teams
"Hands-on onboarding and a dedicated support path for your team."

What xAI API does

The SpaceXSI API serves Grok text and reasoning models plus Grok Imagine and Grok Voice models through one API key from the Console, with usage-based billing. Enterprise options add SSO, audit logging, SOC 2, a HIPAA BAA, data residency, invoicing and custom rate limits.

Good for
Developers and companies building AI apps, coding agents, media generation and voice agents who want pay-as-you-go access, plus enterprises that need SSO, compliance and invoicing.
Channels
REST API, Python SDK, TypeScript AI SDK, OpenAI SDK compatible, Console, Microsoft Azure AI Foundry, Oracle OCI Generative AI, Google Vertex Model Garden
Main product
Grok API (grok-4.7 plus Grok Imagine and Grok Voice models)
Also includes
Grok text, reasoning and coding models (grok-4.7, grok-4.6, grok-4.5), Grok Imagine image and video generation and editing, Grok Voice API (speech to speech, text to speech, speech to text), Live web and X search, Files and collections, Free Playground with every Console account
Connects to
Azure AI Foundry, OCI Generative AI, Vertex Model Garden, OpenAI SDK, Anthropic SDK, Vercel AI SDK, Splunk, CrowdStrike, Palo Alto, SentinelOne, Datadog
Public API
Yes
MCP server
Not stated
  • Pay-per-token pricingUsage-based pricing, billed per token.
  • Multiple models availableThe SpaceXSI API serves the latest Grok models: grok-4.7, grok-4.6, grok-4.5 for text, reasoning, and coding,
  • Fine-tuning supportNot stated
  • Streaming responsesNot stated
  • Tool and function callingNot stated
  • SOC 2 complianceAudited controls for security, availability, and confidentiality.
  • No training on your dataNot stated
  • Discounted batch processingNot stated

The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI API platforms. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.

Security and your data

QuestionTheir answerWhere it says so
Trains AI on your data?Not stated
HIPAA (signs a BAA)available"A BAA is available for healthcare applications that handle protected health information."home
SOC 2SOC 2 Type II"Audited controls for security, availability, and confidentiality."home
GDPRNot stated
CCPANot stated
PCINot stated
ISO 27001Not stated
Single sign-onSAML SSO on enterprise API"SAML SSO, role-based access, and audit logging for your team."home
Trust centerNot stated

Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.

Every plan

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyIncludedOver the allowanceWhere it says so
Grok Free (app subscription)/month $0 – – – "$0/month"
Grok Plus (app subscription)/month $8 – – – "$8/month"
Grok Premium (app subscription)/month $30 – – – "$30/month"
Grok Teams (app subscription)/user/month $30 – – – "$30+/user/month"
Grok Super (app subscription)/month $100 – – – "$100/month"
Grok Ultra (app subscription)/month $200 – – – "$200/month"
API grok-4.7 inputper 1M input tokens $2per minute – – – "grok-4.7, the latest flagship, costs $2 per million input tokens and $6 per million output"
API grok-4.7 outputper 1M output tokens $6per minute – – – "grok-4.7, the latest flagship, costs $2 per million input tokens and $6 per million output"
Voice speech to speechper minute $0.08per minute – – – "Speech to Speech$0.08 / min"
Voice text to speechper 1M characters $15per minute – – – "Text to Speech$15.00 / 1M characters"
Voice speech to text (REST)per hour $0.10per minute – – – "Speech to Text$0.10 / hr (REST), $0.20 / hr (Streaming)"
Voice speech to text (Streaming)per hour $0.20per minute – – – "Speech to Text$0.10 / hr (REST), $0.20 / hr (Streaming)"
grok-imagine-image-2.0per image $0.04per minute – – – "from $0.04 / img"
grok-imagine-video-1.5per second $0.08per minute – – – "from $0.08 / sec"
Enterprise Quote – – – "Talk to our sales team about custom rate limits, dedicated infrastructure, SSO, compliance"

Free plan: No free API tier. The Playground comes with every Console account to test models before adding billing, and API usage is billed per token. The Grok app has a Free plan with limited usage.

Fine print

Billing increment
Not stated
Billed beyond usage
Not stated
Contract
Not stated
Refunds
Payments already made are non-refundable, except where required by law
"You can cancel your paid subscription at any time; however, payments already made are non-refundable, except where required by law."
Auto renew
Paid subscriptions renew automatically until cancelled
"For paid subscriptions, we will automatically charge your payment method on each periodic renewal until you cancel."
Price change notice
Reasonable notice, new price applies at next renewal
"Subject to applicable law, if prices increase, we will provide you with reasonable notice, and the new price will apply at your next renewal, allowing you to cancel your subscripti"

"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.

About the company

Legal name
SpaceX Super Intelligence LLC
Address
800 W Cesar Chavez St., Austin, TX 78701, USA
Online since
Dec 16, 2017
Domain registration date
Ships updates
38 in the last 12 months
Last on Oct 27, 2026, from their changelog

xAI API alternatives

Reviews elsewhere

We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.

Questions

Is xAI API free?

Yes. No free API tier. The Playground comes with every Console account to test models before adding billing, and API usage is billed per token. The Grok app has a Free plan with limited usage. Paid plans start at $8/month.

How much does xAI API cost?

Paid plans start at $8 per month.

Is xAI API HIPAA compliant?

xAI API says a HIPAA BAA is available.