How much does Excalidraw cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- 14-day free trial of Plus
In your favor
- Free plan. Forever free open-source editor, no account needed
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Free editor needs no account; Plus trial via sign-up "No account is needed. Just start drawing."
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Not stated
- Support
- Email support "support@excalidraw.com"
What Excalidraw does
Excalidraw offers a free browser whiteboard with an infinite canvas, shareable real-time collaboration links, libraries, and text-to-diagram generative AI. Excalidraw+ is a paid tier with a 14-day free trial that adds cloud workspace, advanced sharing, live presentations and upgraded AI.
- Good for
- Individuals and teams who want quick hand-drawn style diagrams, wireframes, UML and brainstorming boards, with an option to upgrade for team collaboration.
- Channels
- Web app, Open-source NPM package, CLI
- Main product
- Excalidraw whiteboard editor and Excalidraw+
- Also includes
- Infinite canvas, Shareable real-time collaboration link, Read-only link, Ready-to-use libraries, Text to diagram generative AI, Wireframe to code
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Yes
- Text-to-diagram generation
Generate and edit diagrams in the chat or the editor.
- Real-time collaboration
Shareable link Collaborate in real-time.
- Diagram-as-code supportNot stated
- Infinite whiteboard canvas
unlimited options with an infinite canvas
- Template library
Ready-to-use sketches.
- Jira, Confluence, Slack integrationsNot stated
- SSO and admin controlsNot stated
- Export to PNG, SVG, PDF
export to PNG, SVG & clipboard
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI diagram and whiteboard tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | – | – | – | – | "Try the forever free editor for yourself" |
Free plan: Forever free open-source editor, no account needed
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Not stated
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Online since
- Jan 3, 2020 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "Trusted by the largest companies in the world" their claim
Excalidraw alternatives
Eraser$42 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Whimsical$10 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
AFFiNE$6.75 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Lucidchart$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Lucidspark$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Napkin AI$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Excalidraw free?
Yes. Forever free open-source editor, no account needed
