How much does Mermaid Chart cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- Free trial of Plus or Premium available; length not stated
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. Basic plan: free, core diagramming features, 3 diagrams listed (compare table says up to 6), limited diagram size, limited AI (15 credits), 1 team and project
- Notice before price changes. Written notice at least sixty (60) days before a fee change (bracketed in template terms)
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve sign-up with email, Google, or GitHub "Sign up for a [free account](/app/sign-up) and create your first diagram"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Enterprise (SSO, custom contract) is via sales "Enterprise plans are customized based on your team’s needs. Contact our sales team to get started."
- Support
- Dedicated Customer Success Manager on Enterprise "Dedicated Customer Success Manager (CSM)"
What Mermaid Chart does
Mermaid lets users generate diagrams with AI, write them in Mermaid syntax, or edit them visually, with live co-editing and link sharing. It has a free Basic plan, paid per-user plans billed annually, and an Enterprise plan with SSO.
- Good for
- Developers, data analysts, project managers, consultants, and teams that need flowcharts, sequence diagrams, and similar diagrams kept alongside code and docs.
- Channels
- Web app, VS Code plugin, JetBrains IDEs plugin, MCP server
- Main product
- Mermaid, a collaborative diagramming platform with AI generation, code editor, visual editor, and plugins
- Also includes
- AI diagram generation from prompts, docs, and transcripts, Mermaid syntax code editor, Visual drag-and-drop editor, Real-time co-editing and link sharing, Templates, MCP server for Claude, VS Code, Cursor
- Connects to
- ChatGPT, GitHub Copilot, Confluence, Jira, Visual Studio Code, JetBrains IDEs, Google Docs, Claude (MCP), Cursor (MCP)
- Public API
- Not stated
- MCP server
- Yes
- Text-to-diagram generation
Describe it, upload a doc, or paste a transcript — and get a diagram you can shape from the first draft.
- Real-time collaboration
Co-edit live, share with one link (no login required), and turn a conversation into a decision.
- Diagram-as-code support
Write in Mermaid syntax and watch the diagram lay itself out.
- Infinite whiteboard canvasNot stated
- Template library
start from a template
- Jira, Confluence, Slack integrations
ChatGPT, GitHub Copilot, Confluence, Jira, Visual Studio Code, JetBrains IDEs, Google Docs, and more
- SSO and admin controls
Enterprise includes everything in Premium, plus SSO, dedicated account support, custom contract and invoicing,
- Export to PNG, SVG, PDFNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI diagram and whiteboard tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | no | "AI prompts from our paid users are never used for training and all data remains private."pricing |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 compliance | "Secure access controls, trusted encryption, SOC 2 compliance, and SSO that fits your existing setup."home |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Enterprise | "Enterprise includes everything in Premium, plus SSO, dedicated account support, custom contract and invoicing, and easy user consolidation."pricing |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plusper user / month | – | $10per month | 300 credits300 AI credits per year | – | "$10 per user / month" |
| Premiumper user / month | – | $20per month | 2000 credits2,000 AI credits per year | – | "$20 per user / month" |
| Basic | – | – | 15 creditsUp to 6 diagrams; limited diagram size (60) | – | "For getting started and simple flows" |
| Enterprise | Quote | – | Unlimited | – | "Custom" |
Free plan: Basic plan: free, core diagramming features, 3 diagrams listed (compare table says up to 6), limited diagram size, limited AI (15 credits), 1 team and project
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Annual billing only; plans can be changed or cancelled anytime, effective next billing cycle "We currently offer annual billing only. Monthly plans are not available at this time."
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Fees automatically charged to the payment method in advance "Customer hereby agrees to Company’s automatic charging of"
- Price change notice
- Written notice at least sixty (60) days before a fee change (bracketed in template terms) "upon written notice to Customer at least [sixty (60) days] prior to effectuating the change"
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Mermaid Chart Inc.
- Online since
- Jun 14, 2022 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "Trusted by over 5M people and over 200k companies" their claim
Mermaid Chart alternatives
Eraser$42 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Whimsical$10 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
AFFiNE$6.75 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Lucidchart$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Lucidspark$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Napkin AI$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Mermaid Chart free?
Yes. Basic plan: free, core diagramming features, 3 diagrams listed (compare table says up to 6), limited diagram size, limited AI (15 credits), 1 team and project
How much does Mermaid Chart cost?
Paid plans start at $10 per month billed yearly.
Does Mermaid Chart train AI on your data?
No, according to Mermaid Chart: "AI prompts from our paid users are never used for training and all data remains private."
