How much does Visio (Microsoft) cost?
- Free plan
- Not stated
- Free trial
- 30-day free trial for Visio Plan 1 and Plan 2, first-time trial users with a work or…
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free trial. 30-day free trial for Visio Plan 1 and Plan 2, first-time trial users with a work or school account
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve trial and purchase "Try free for one month"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Not stated
- Support
- Around-the-clock support from Microsoft "Get around-the-clock support from Microsoft."
- Support
- Sales line (800) 642 7676, M-F 6 AM to 6 PM PT "To speak with a sales expert, call (800) 642 7676. Available M-F 6 AM to 6 PM PT."
What Visio (Microsoft) does
Visio offers templates, stencils and shapes for many diagram types, with a web app in Plan 1 and web plus desktop in Plan 2. It integrates with Microsoft Teams, Power BI and Office apps and supports real-time collaboration and comments.
- Good for
- Organizations on Microsoft 365 that need professional flowcharts, IT network and cloud architecture diagrams, org charts, BPMN and engineering diagrams.
- Channels
- Web app, Desktop app (Plan 2), Microsoft Teams
- Main product
- Visio (Visio in Microsoft 365, Visio Plan 1, Visio Plan 2)
- Also includes
- Templates, starter diagrams and stencils, Flowcharts, mind maps, org charts, network diagrams, floor plans, timelines, UML, ERD, Azure and AWS architecture diagrams, Real-time collaboration and comments, 2 GB OneDrive storage with Plan 1 and Plan 2, Visio desktop app with offline support (Plan 2)
- Connects to
- Microsoft Teams, Power BI, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, OneDrive for Business, Microsoft Azure, AutoCAD file support
- Public API
- Not stated
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Text-to-diagram generationNot stated
- Real-time collaboration
Real-time collaboration, commenting, and sharing with the Visio web app or the Visio app in Microsoft Teams
- Diagram-as-code supportNot stated
- Infinite whiteboard canvasNot stated
- Template library
Choose from dozens of premade templates, starter diagrams, and stencils available in Visio desktop and Visio f
- Jira, Confluence, Slack integrationsNot stated
- SSO and admin controlsNot stated
- Export to PNG, SVG, PDFNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI diagram and whiteboard tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Microsoft Trust Center | "Microsoft Trust Center"home |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Visio in Microsoft 365 | – | – | – | – | "in Microsoft 365 commercial plans" |
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Annual or monthly commitment; global and billing admins need an annual commitment to purchase online "Annual or monthly commitment"
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Online since
- May 2, 1991 Domain registration date
Visio (Microsoft) alternatives
Eraser$42 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Whimsical$10 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
AFFiNE$6.75 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Lucidchart$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Lucidspark$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Napkin AI$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Visio (Microsoft) free?
There's no free plan. Free trial: 30-day free trial for Visio Plan 1 and Plan 2, first-time trial users with a work or school account.
