How much does ChatDOC cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
In your favor
- No long-term contract. Cancel any time; cancellation takes effect at end of current paid term
- Unlimited usage on Pro. A flat price with no cap on usage.
- Free plan. Free plan with limited files and questions (10 files and 100 questions in total), 3 pages per file, PDF only
- Notice before price changes. Prices may change at any time
Watch out for
- No refunds on a long commitment. Refund can be requested within 7 days of purchase, evaluated on Pro usage; payment platform fees non-refundable
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Sign up free, no card needed "100 Questions Free · No Card Needed · Cancel Anytime"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Not stated
- Support
- Email support "chatdocai@gmail.com"
- Support
- Discord channel "Contact us via our email: chatdocai@gmail.com or our Discord channel."
What ChatDOC does
ChatDOC lets users upload PDF, DOC, DOCX, scans, websites, EPUB, MD and TXT files and ask questions across them, with answers linked back to source text via TapSource. It also offers full-document translation, a PDF parser API and a free tier with daily limits.
- Good for
- Individuals who want to ask questions of documents and check answers against the cited source text.
- Channels
- Web app, Chrome extension, Edge extension, API
- Main product
- ChatDOC (chat with PDFs and documents)
- Also includes
- Chat with documents, TapSource answer citations, OCR (free for all users), Formula recognition, Full-document translation (beta), Prompt library
- Connects to
- OpenAI, OpenRouter
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Chat with PDF
Ask Anything, Across Every File
- AI document summariesNot stated
- AI-assisted PDF editingNot stated
- OCR for scanned files
OCR is now free for all users.
- Structured data extractionNot stated
- Multi-document Q&A
Ask Anything, Across Every File
- Answers with citations
Answers You Can Trust. Sources You Can See.
- E-sign and security controlsNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI PDF tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | GDPR legal bases described in privacy notice | "The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and UK GDPR require us to explain the valid legal bases we rely on in order to process your personal information."privacy |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | – | – | 10 files10 file uploads in total, 100 questions in total, 3 pages pe | – | "/day, 10 in total" |
| Pro/30 days or /360 days | – | – | Unlimited | – | "$/360 days" |
Free plan: Free plan with limited files and questions (10 files and 100 questions in total), 3 pages per file, PDF only
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Cancel any time; cancellation takes effect at end of current paid term "Your cancellation will take effect at the end of the current paid term."
- Refunds
- Refund can be requested within 7 days of purchase, evaluated on Pro usage; payment platform fees non-refundable "Refund: You can request a refund within 7 days of purchase."
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Prices may change at any time "We may change prices at any time."
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- ChatDOC
- Online since
- Mar 24, 2010 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "Loved by 1,000,000+ Global Users" their claim
ChatDOC alternatives
Nitro PDF ProQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026
Wondershare PDFelement$2.67 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
PDF Expert (Readdle)$6.67 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Xodo$7.99 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Foxit PDF Editor$4.17 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
PDF.ai$10 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is ChatDOC free?
Yes. Free plan with limited files and questions (10 files and 100 questions in total), 3 pages per file, PDF only
