How much does Google Vertex AI cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Usage price
- $0.09/vcpu-hour
In your favor
- Free plan. Agent Compute includes 50 free hours, Agent Memory 100 free GiB-hours, and Agent Storage 1 GiB-month free per month per account; paid rates apply after.
Watch out for
- Going over the Agent Compute (after free tier) allowance costs $0.09 per vcpu-hour. Included: 50 hours.
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Free trial sign-up via Google Cloud console "Try Gemini platform"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Not stated
- Support
- Cloud Customer Care "Cloud Customer Care"
What Google Vertex AI does
Gemini platform (Google Cloud) offers access to 200+ Google, third-party and open models through Model Garden, along with agent building, tuning, custom training, and MLOps tooling. Pricing is usage-based across compute, accelerators, and per-service SKUs, with generative AI token pricing on a separate page.
- Good for
- Technical teams and enterprises building agents, generative AI apps, and custom ML models on Google Cloud.
- Channels
- Web console, API, SDKs (Python, JavaScript, Java, Go, Curl), Antigravity desktop app and CLI
- Main product
- Gemini platform
- Also includes
- Agent Studio, Model Garden, Model Evaluation service, Custom training, Notebooks (Colab Enterprise, Workbench), Pipelines
- Connects to
- BigQuery, Colab Enterprise, Workbench, Anthropic Claude models, Gemma, Cloud Storage, Compute Engine
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Pay-per-token pricing
Gemini platform also offers more ways to optimize costs
- Multiple models available
Choose from Google’s latest multimodal models like Gemini 4 Argon, third-party models like Anthropic's Claude
- Fine-tuning support
You can also customize models to your use case with a variety of
- Streaming responsesNot stated
- Tool and function callingNot stated
- SOC 2 complianceNot stated
- No training on your dataNot stated
- Discounted batch processingNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI API platforms. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | committed to GDPR compliance | "Google Cloud has a long-standing commitment to [GDPR compliance]"privacy |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent Compute (after free tier)/ vCPU-hour | $0.09per vcpu-hour | – | 50 hours | $0.09/vcpu-hour | "50 hour and above $0.085 / 1 hour, per 1 month / account" |
| Agent Memory (after free tier)/ GiB-hour | $0.01per gib-hour | – | 100 GiB-hours | $0.01/gib-hour | "100 gibibyte hour and above $0.009 / 1 gibibyte hour, per 1 month / account" |
| AutoML image training (classification)/ hour | $3.46per minute | – | – | – | "| Training | $3.465 / 1 hour |" |
| AutoML tabular training/ hour | $21.25per minute | – | – | – | "| Training | $21.252 / 1 hour |" |
Free plan: Agent Compute includes 50 free hours, Agent Memory 100 free GiB-hours, and Agent Storage 1 GiB-month free per month per account; paid rates apply after.
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Training and Prediction charged in 30 second increments; agent usage rounded to the nearest second "No minimum usage duration for Training and Prediction. Instead, usage is charged in 30 second increments."
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Not stated
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Ships updates
- 77 in the last 12 months Last on Jun 28, 2027, from their changelog
- Customers
- "Nearly 90% of generative AI unicorns are Google Cloud customers" their claim
Google Vertex AI alternatives
xAI API$8 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Hugging Face Inference Providers$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
AI/ML API$20 /minutechecked Oct 29, 2026
Azure OpenAI ServiceQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026
Baseten$1.40 /minutechecked Oct 29, 2026
Cerebras InferenceQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026
Cloudflare Workers AI$0.01 /1,000 neuronsFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Google Vertex AI free?
Yes. Agent Compute includes 50 free hours, Agent Memory 100 free GiB-hours, and Agent Storage 1 GiB-month free per month per account; paid rates apply after.
