Home/AI API platforms/OpenAI API

OpenAI API pricing

OpenAI sells API access to its GPT models, plus image, voice and tool services, billed per token.

AI API platformsPriced per minuteSelf-serve + sales
Visit OpenAI APIPrices checked Oct 29, 2026

How much does OpenAI API cost?

Usage price from $10/minute
Free plan
Not stated
Usage price
$10/minute
Enterprise
Contact sales
Read from openai.com/api/pricing/ on Oct 29, 2026. Price changed? Tell usSee the line each price came from

In your favor

  • Notice before price changes. At least 30 days' notice for subscription price increases (consumer Terms)

Watch out for

  • Extra usage is billed. Monthly budget stops requests, but enforcement may lag and customer is responsible for overage

How you buy and get started

Self-serve + salesButtons on their site: Get started, Contact sales, Try OpenAI
Sign up
Self-serve API log in and sign up
"Start creating with OpenAI’s powerful models."
Setup
Not stated
When sales steps in
Enterprise tiers (Scale Tier, Reserved Capacity, data residency) for larger workloads
"Contact our sales team to learn more about Data residency⁠ (opens in a new window) , Scale Tier⁠ and Reserved Capacity⁠ designed for cutting-edge customers running larger workloads"
Support
Help Center
"Help Center"
Support
Developer Forum
"Developer Forum"

What OpenAI API does

OpenAI's API platform offers text, image and voice models priced per million tokens (or per minute for some voice models), with a Batch option at 50% off. Enterprise tiers such as Scale Tier, Reserved Capacity and data residency go through sales.

Good for
Developers and businesses building apps on GPT models, from high-volume small-model tasks to complex agentic workflows; larger customers needing SLAs or reserved capacity.
Channels
API, Playground, ChatGPT, Codex
Main product
OpenAI API Platform (GPT models)
Also includes
Text models: GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6.1 Terra, GPT-6 Luna, Image models: GPT-Image-2.5 Sunburst and Flare, Voice models: GPT-Live-1, GPT-Realtime-2.1, GPT-Realtime-2.1 mini, GPT-Live-Transcribe, GPT-Transcribe, GPT-Realtime-Translate, Web search tool, Containers, Batch API
Public API
Yes
MCP server
Not stated
  • Pay-per-token pricingYou will be billed at the per-token input and output prices mentioned above.
  • Multiple models availableGPT-6.1 Sol
  • Fine-tuning supportNot stated
  • Streaming responsesA streaming speech-to-text model that transcribes speech live as the speaker talks.
  • Tool and function callingNot stated
  • SOC 2 complianceOpenAI has undergone an independent SOC 2 Type 2 examination of controls relevant to Security, Availability, C
  • No training on your dataWe don’t train our models on your organization’s data by default.
  • Discounted batch processingSave 50% on inputs and outputs with the Batch API and run tasks asynchronously over 24 hours.

The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI API platforms. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.

Security and your data

QuestionTheir answerWhere it says so
Trains AI on your data?no"We don’t train our models on your organization’s data by default."privacy
HIPAA (signs a BAA)available"offers a Data Processing Addendum and Business Associate Agreement for customers."privacy
SOC 2SOC 2 Type 2"OpenAI has undergone an independent SOC 2 Type 2 examination of controls relevant to Security, Availability, Confidentiality, and Privacy for its API and ChatGPT business product s"privacy
GDPRsupported"OpenAI supports our customers’ compliance with privacy laws, including the GDPR, CCPA, HIPAA, and FERPA"privacy
CCPAsupported"OpenAI supports our customers’ compliance with privacy laws, including the GDPR, CCPA, HIPAA, and FERPA"privacy
PCIPCI-DSS for ChatGPT delegated payment processing components"OpenAI maintains PCI-DSS compliance for the components of ChatGPT that support delegated payment processing."privacy
ISO 27001ISO/IEC 27001:2022 for the OpenAI API, ChatGPT Enterprise and Edu"OpenAI maintains ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and ISO/IEC 27701:2019 certifications for the information security and privacy management systems supporting the OpenAI API, ChatGPT Enterprise,"privacy
Single sign-onNot stated
Trust centerNot stated

Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.

Every plan

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyIncludedOver the allowanceWhere it says so
GPT-6 Astra (input)/ 1M tokens $10per minute – – – "Input: $10.00 / 1M tokens"
GPT-6 Astra (output)/ 1M tokens $50per minute – – – "Output: $50.00 / 1M tokens"
GPT-6.1 Sol (input)/ 1M tokens $2per minute – – – "Input: $2.00 / 1M tokens"
GPT-6.1 Sol (output)/ 1M tokens $10per minute – – – "Output: $10.00 / 1M tokens"
GPT-6.1 Terra (input)/ 1M tokens $1per minute – – – "Input: $1.00 / 1M tokens"
GPT-6.1 Terra (output)/ 1M tokens $5per minute – – – "Output: $5.00 / 1M tokens"
GPT-6 Luna (input)/ 1M tokens $0.10per minute – – – "Input: $0.10 / 1M tokens"
GPT-6 Luna (output)/ 1M tokens $0.50per minute – – – "Output: $0.50 / 1M tokens"
GPT-Live-1per minute $0.05per minute – – – "$0.05 per minute / $0.00083 per second"
GPT-Live-Transcribeper minute $0.02per minute – – – "$0.017 per minute / $0.00028 per second"
GPT-Transcribeper minute $0per minute – – – "$0.0045 per minute / $0.00008 per second"
GPT-Realtime-Translateper minute $0.03per minute – – – "$0.034 per minute / $0.00057 per second"
Web search/ 1k calls $10per minute – – – "$10.00 / 1k calls"
Enterprise (Scale Tier, Reserved Capacity, Data residency) Quote – – – "Contact our sales team to learn more about Data residency"

Fine print

Billing increment
Not stated
Billed beyond usage
Monthly budget stops requests, but enforcement may lag and customer is responsible for overage
"There may be a delay in enforcing the limit, and you are responsible for any overage incurred."
Contract
Not stated
Refunds
Payments non-refundable except where required by law (consumer Terms of Use)
"Payments are non-refundable, except where required by law."
Auto renew
Paid subscriptions auto-charge on each renewal until cancelled (consumer Terms)
"For paid subscriptions, we will automatically charge your payment method on each agreed-upon periodic renewal until you cancel."
Price change notice
At least 30 days' notice for subscription price increases (consumer Terms)
"If we increase our subscription prices, we will give you at least 30 days’ notice and any price increase will take effect on your next renewal so that you can cancel if you do not "

"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.

About the company

Legal name
OpenAI OpCo, LLC
Address
1455 3rd Street, San Francisco, CA 94158
Online since
Jan 19, 2007
Domain registration date

OpenAI API alternatives

Reviews elsewhere

We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.

Questions

Is OpenAI API free?

No free plan is stated on OpenAI API's pricing page.

Does OpenAI API train AI on your data?

No, according to OpenAI API: "We don’t train our models on your organization’s data by default."

Is OpenAI API HIPAA compliant?

OpenAI API says a HIPAA BAA is available.