Home/AI coding assistants/Amazon Q Developer

Amazon Q Developer pricing

Amazon Q Developer is an AWS AI coding assistant with IDE plugins, a CLI and AWS Console help, including agentic coding.

AI coding assistantsFree planSelf-serve
Visit Amazon Q DeveloperPrices checked Oct 29, 2026

How much does Amazon Q Developer cost?

Paid plans start at $19/mo
Free plan
Yes

In your favor

  • Free plan. Perpetual free tier: 50 agentic requests per month and 1,000 lines of code per month for Java upgrades; IDE limits only for Builder ID users

Watch out for

  • Extra usage is billed. Transformation usage beyond pooled 4,000 lines per Pro user is $0.003 per line
  • Going over the Pro Tier allowance costs $0 per line of code. Included: 4000 lines of code (transformation).

How you buy and get started

Self-serveButtons on their site: Download now, Create account, Get started
Sign up
Sign up free with an AWS Builder ID or AWS account
"Download a plugin or extension below and get started on the Amazon Q Developer Free Tier"
Setup
Not stated
When sales steps in
Not stated

What Amazon Q Developer does

Amazon Q Developer gives code suggestions, chat, vulnerability scanning and agentic coding in JetBrains, VS Code, Visual Studio, Eclipse (preview) and the command line. It has a free tier and a $19 per user per month Pro tier, and AWS will end support for the IDE plugins on April 30, 2027 in favor of Kiro.

Good for
Developers and teams building on AWS, and Java and .NET teams doing upgrades or porting. Existing IDE plugin users should note the April 30, 2027 end of support.
Channels
JetBrains plugin, VS Code extension, Visual Studio extension, Eclipse plugin (preview), Command line, AWS Console, Microsoft Teams, Slack, GitLab Duo with Amazon Q
Main product
Amazon Q Developer
Also includes
Inline code suggestions, Chat in IDE and CLI, Agentic coding, Vulnerability scanning, Unit test generation, Java upgrade and .NET porting
Connects to
JetBrains, IntelliJ IDEA, VS Code, Visual Studio, Eclipse, GitLab, Microsoft Teams, Slack, AWS IAM Identity Center
Public API
Not stated
MCP server
Not stated
  • VS Code and JetBrains pluginsincluding JetBrains, IntelliJ IDEA, Visual Studio, VS Code, and Eclipse (preview)
  • Autonomous agent modeThe agentic coding experience can intelligently perform tasks on your behalf by automatically reading and writ
  • Whole-codebase contextSecurely connect Amazon Q Developer to your private repositories to generate even more relevant code recommend
  • Choice of multiple modelsNot stated
  • No training on your codeNot stated
  • SSO and audit logsIdentity center support with admin dashboards and controls
  • Self-hosted or on-prem optionNot stated
  • AI pull request revieweliminates much of the work involved in complex multistep tasks such as unit testing, documentation, and code

The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI coding assistants. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.

Security and your data

QuestionTheir answerWhere it says so
Trains AI on your data?Free: opt-out available; Pro: automatically opted out of data collection"Data collection | Opt-out available | Automatically opted out"pricing
HIPAA (signs a BAA)Not stated
SOC 2Not stated
GDPRNot stated
CCPANot stated
PCINot stated
ISO 27001Not stated
Single sign-onPro tier via IAM Identity Center"Identity center support with admin dashboards and controls"pricing
Trust centerNot stated

Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.

Every plan

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyIncludedOver the allowanceWhere it says so
Free Tier $0 – 50 agentic requests50 agentic requests per month; 1,000 lines of code per month – "50 agentic requests per month"
Pro Tierper user $19 – 4000 lines of code (transformation)Agentic requests included with limits $0/line of code "Pro Tier: Expanded limits $19/mo. per user"

Free plan: Perpetual free tier: 50 agentic requests per month and 1,000 lines of code per month for Java upgrades; IDE limits only for Builder ID users

Fine print

Billing increment
Pro subscription pro-rated for the first month by days remaining
"The subscription fee is pro-rated for the first month the user is subscribed based on the number of days remaining when the subscription is activated."
Billed beyond usage
Transformation usage beyond pooled 4,000 lines per Pro user is $0.003 per line
"Usage that exceeds this allocation is charged $0.003 per LOC submitted."
Contract
Not stated
Refunds
Cancelling mid-month still charges the full month
"If you choose to cancel a user's Amazon Q Developer subscription before the end of the month, you will be charged the full month's subscription fee."
Auto renew
Pro subscription renews monthly until canceled
"which will then renew monthly until canceled."
Price change notice
Not stated

"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.

About the company

Legal name
Amazon Web Services, Inc.

Amazon Q Developer alternatives

Reviews elsewhere

We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.

Questions

Is Amazon Q Developer free?

Yes. Perpetual free tier: 50 agentic requests per month and 1,000 lines of code per month for Java upgrades; IDE limits only for Builder ID users Paid plans start at $19/month.

How much does Amazon Q Developer cost?

Paid plans start at $19 per month.

Does Amazon Q Developer train AI on your data?

Free: opt-out available; pro: automatically opted out of data collection, according to Amazon Q Developer: "Data collection | Opt-out available | Automatically opted out"