How much does JetBrains AI Assistant cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- 30-day free trial of AI Pro
In your favor
- Free plan. AI Free: unlimited AI completion in JetBrains IDEs and 3 monthly AI credits
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Install the AI Chat plugin from the IDE, or buy a plan online "Find the AI Chat icon in the right menu of your IDE and click Install Plugin."
- Setup
- Install plugin from within the IDE "Find the AI Chat icon in the right menu of your IDE and click Install Plugin."
- When sales steps in
- Not stated
- Support
- Contact form for questions about products, pricing and licensing "Do you have any questions about our products, pricing, licensing models, or how best to address your developers’ needs? We’d love to help!"
What JetBrains AI Assistant does
JetBrains AI gives JetBrains IDEs unlimited code completion plus a chat that runs agents such as Junie, Claude Agent, Codex and Gemini. Plans differ by monthly AI credits, and users can also connect their own agents via ACP or their own API keys.
- Good for
- Developers already working in JetBrains IDEs who want AI agents and completion inside the IDE, including those who want to use their own models, agents or API keys.
- Channels
- JetBrains IDEs plugin
- Main product
- JetBrains AI
- Also includes
- Unlimited code completion and next edit suggestions, AI chat with Junie, Claude Agent, Codex and Gemini (paid plans), Monthly AI credits, Commit message generation, Unit test generation, Error explanation
- Connects to
- Junie, Claude Agent, Codex, Gemini, Cursor, GitHub Copilot, Model Context Protocol (MCP), Agent Client Protocol (ACP), Anthropic API key, OpenAI API key, Google API key
- Public API
- Not stated
- MCP server
- Not stated
- VS Code and JetBrains pluginsNot stated
- Autonomous agent mode
Configure models, modes, and agent autonomy directly in the AI chat.
- Whole-codebase context
Access top coding agents in a unified IDE experience, fully integrated with your project context.
- Choice of multiple models
The latest AI models from frontier providers or your own local models
- No training on your codeNot stated
- SSO and audit logsNot stated
- Self-hosted or on-prem optionNot stated
- AI pull request reviewNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI coding assistants. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | only if you opt in to data sharing | "If you explicitly allow data sharing, it will be used solely to improve JetBrains tools and train JetBrains-owned models, such as Mellum."home |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 Type 2 | "SOC2 Type 2 certification"home |
| GDPR | GDPR-compliant | "GDPR-compliant"about |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Trust Center link in footer | "Trust Center"about |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Free | $0monthly or yearly not stated | – | 3 credits | – | "3 monthly AI credits" |
| AI Proper user, per year | – | $8.33per month | 10 credits | – | "$100.00" |
| AI Ultimateper user, per year | – | $25per month | 35 credits | – | "$300.00" |
Free plan: AI Free: unlimited AI completion in JetBrains IDEs and 3 monthly AI credits
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Not stated
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- JetBrains s.r.o.
- Online since
- Nov 9, 2001 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "88 Fortune Global Top 100 customers; 12.5M+ recurring active users" their claim
JetBrains AI Assistant alternatives
Amazon Q Developer$19 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Amp$20 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Qodo$30 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
ContinueQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026
Gemini Code Assist$0.03 /minutechecked Oct 29, 2026
IBM watsonx Code AssistantQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is JetBrains AI Assistant free?
Yes. AI Free: unlimited AI completion in JetBrains IDEs and 3 monthly AI credits
How much does JetBrains AI Assistant cost?
Paid plans start at $8.33 per month billed yearly.
Does JetBrains AI Assistant train AI on your data?
Only if you opt in to data sharing, according to JetBrains AI Assistant: "If you explicitly allow data sharing, it will be used solely to improve JetBrains tools and train JetBrains-owned models, such as Mellum."
