Home/AI coding assistants/Amp

Amp pricing

Amp is a coding agent and development environment where agents run in cloud or self-hosted orbs and keep working after you close your laptop.

AI coding assistantsFree planSelf-serve + sales
Visit AmpPrices checked Oct 29, 2026

How much does Amp cost?

Paid plans start at $20/mo
Free plan
Yes
Enterprise
Contact sales
Read from ampcode.com/pricing on Oct 29, 2026. Price changed? Tell usSee the line each price came from

In your favor

  • Free plan. Hobby is free: pay-as-you-go for Amp-hosted orbs, unlimited self-hosted orbs free, BYOK with no Amp token fees or limits

How you buy and get started

Self-serve + salesButtons on their site: Start, Sign Up, Get Megawatt, Create a Workspace
Sign up
Self-serve sign up by email, Google, Apple, ChatGPT or passkey
"Start free."
Setup
Not stated
When sales steps in
Not stated
Support
Priority support on Enterprise
"Priority support, invoicing, and custom terms"
Support
Email amp-devs@ampcode.com for general help
"email [amp-devs@ampcode.com](mailto:amp-devs@ampcode.com)"

What Amp does

Amp runs coding agents in Amp-hosted or self-hosted orbs, with a CLI, app, thread sharing and team features. It has a free Hobby tier, a $20 per month Individual tier with 45,000 orb minutes, and a custom Enterprise tier.

Good for
Individual developers and teams of any size, up to companies with more than 20,000 developers, who want cloud-run agents and can bring their own model subscriptions or keys.
Channels
Web app, CLI, Desktop app, Slack
Main product
Amp, a coding agent and development environment
Also includes
Agents that run in orbs and keep working when the laptop is closed, Amp-hosted orbs and unlimited self-hosted orbs, Bring your own keys (BYOK) and use of ChatGPT, Claude and other subscriptions, Portals for testing running apps, Team thread sharing, multiplayer and permissions, Shared portals, plugins and skills
Connects to
Slack, MCP, Google Cloud (OIDC production access), ChatGPT subscription, Claude subscription, Storybook
Public API
Not stated
MCP server
Not stated
  • VS Code and JetBrains pluginsNot stated
  • Autonomous agent modeAmp is the frontier agent and development environment that lets you build from
  • Whole-codebase contextNot stated
  • Choice of multiple modelsBring your own keys (BYOK)
  • No training on your codeAmp does not use User Content to train AI models unless You have expressly opted
  • SSO and audit logsSAML/OIDC SSO
  • Self-hosted or on-prem optionUnlimited self-hosted orbs, free
  • AI pull request reviewNot stated

The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI coding assistants. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.

Security and your data

QuestionTheir answerWhere it says so
Trains AI on your data?no"Amp does not use User Content to train AI models unless You have expressly opted"terms
HIPAA (signs a BAA)not available"we are not a Business Associate as defined under HIPAA"terms
SOC 2SOC 2 Type II certified"Amp is SOC 2 Type II certified, and we perform annual pentesting of our entire stack, covering clients, backend, and infrastructure."security
GDPRNot stated
CCPAdoes not sell or share personal information for cross-contextual behavioral adve"We do not sell, share, or rent your Personal Information for cross-contextual behavioral advertising"privacy
PCINot stated
ISO 27001Not stated
Single sign-onSAML/OIDC SSO on Teams"SAML/OIDC SSO"pricing
Trust centerhttps://trust.ampcode.com/"Visit our [Security Trust Portal](https://trust.ampcode.com/) to request a copy of our reports."security

Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.

Every plan

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyIncludedOver the allowanceWhere it says so
Individual (Megawatt)/mo. $20 – 45000 minutes – "$20∕mo."
Hobby – – – – "Pay-as-you-go for Amp-hosted orbs"
Teams – – – – "No extra charge"
Enterprise Quote – – – "Custom"

Free plan: Hobby is free: pay-as-you-go for Amp-hosted orbs, unlimited self-hosted orbs free, BYOK with no Amp token fees or limits

Fine print

Billing increment
Not stated
Billed beyond usage
Not stated
Contract
Not stated
Refunds
Not stated
Auto renew
Not stated
Price change notice
Not stated

"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.

About the company

Online since
Feb 14, 2012
Domain registration date
Customers
"Indie developers, companies with more than 20,000 developers, and everyone in between"
their claim

Amp alternatives

Reviews elsewhere

We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.

Questions

Is Amp free?

Yes. Hobby is free: pay-as-you-go for Amp-hosted orbs, unlimited self-hosted orbs free, BYOK with no Amp token fees or limits Paid plans start at $20/month.

How much does Amp cost?

Paid plans start at $20 per month.

Does Amp train AI on your data?

No, according to Amp: "Amp does not use User Content to train AI models unless You have expressly opted"

Is Amp HIPAA compliant?

Amp says a HIPAA BAA is not available.