How much does Buffer cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- 14-day free trial of paid plans; downgrades to Free plan if no payment details entered
In your favor
- Unlimited channels on Team. A flat price with no cap on channels.
- Free plan. Free forever, up to 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per channel, 100 ideas, 1 user, 30-day insights history
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Sign up free without credit card "No credit card needed. Free forever."
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Not stated
- Support
- Human support, email support on all plans "Email supportFast and helpful support via email — a whole team of people cheering for you."
What Buffer does
Buffer lets users create, schedule and publish content to channels such as Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, LinkedIn, X, YouTube, Threads and others, with analytics, a community inbox and an AI Assistant. Plans are priced per connected channel, with a free plan and 14-day trials of paid plans.
- Good for
- Creators, small businesses, agencies, nonprofits and teams managing one or many social accounts.
- Channels
- Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, LinkedIn, X, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest, Google Business Profile, Bluesky, Mastodon, Substack
- Main product
- Social media scheduling, analytics and engagement platform
- Also includes
- Publishing and scheduling, Ideas library and templates, AI Assistant, Insights and analytics, Community inbox with AI replies, Collaboration and approval workflows
- Connects to
- Canva, ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor, Zapier, n8n, Make, IFTTT, Bitly, Dropbox, Google Drive and Photos, One Drive
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Yes
- AI caption writing
Brainstorm ideas, rewrite content, and craft platform-specific posts.
- AI image generationNot stated
- Multi-network scheduling
Schedule your content to the most popular platforms including Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, LinkedIn, Threads,
- Brand voice training
AI that learns your voice and sounds like you.
- AI video and carouselsNot stated
- Team approval workflows
Manage who can draft and approve posts across your team.
- Analytics and reporting
Export your data as CSV, PDF, or markdown to use anywhere — in a client report, a doc, or straight into an AI
- Unified social inbox
Engage with your audience across all your channels at 10x speed. Buffer will help you triage and respond to co
- Hashtag and best-time suggestions
Save and reuse hashtags.
- Social listeningNot stated
The same 10 checks appear on every tool in AI social media tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | GDPR section with data protection agreement | "Data Protection Agreement"privacy |
| CCPA | California Resident Privacy Notice | "California Resident Privacy Notice"privacy |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Freeforever | $0 | – | 3 channels10 scheduled posts per channel | – | "Connect up to 3 channels" |
| Essentials/month per channel | $6 | $5per month | 1 channels1 user account | – | "s customer support world-class customer support description essentials recommended $6 /mon" "s customer support world-class customer support description essentialsrecommended $5 /mont" |
| Team/month per channel | $12 | $10per month | Unlimited | – | "s customer support world-class customer support description team $12 /month 1 channel · bi" "s customer support world-class customer support description teamplaceholder $10 /month 1 c" |
Free plan: Free forever, up to 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per channel, 100 ideas, 1 user, 30-day insights history
Fine print
- Billing increment
- per channel "You're billed per channel, so you only pay for the accounts you actually manage."
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- monthly or annual, switch anytime "You can switch between monthly and annual billing at any time."
- Refunds
- prorations or refunds applied automatically when switching billing frequency "If you switch billing frequencies, any necessary prorations or refunds will be automatically applied."
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Online since
- Oct 28, 1996 Domain registration date
- Ships updates
- 19 in the last 12 months Last on Oct 14, 2026, from their changelog
- Founder
- Joel Gascoigne, CEO & Co-Founder
- Customers
- "315,183 creators, brands, and agencies using Buffer" their claim
Buffer alternatives
Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Buffer free?
Yes. Free forever, up to 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per channel, 100 ideas, 1 user, 30-day insights history Paid plans start at $6/month.
How much does Buffer cost?
Paid plans start at $5 per month billed yearly, or $6 billed monthly.
PostFast
Flick
Lately
ContentStudio
FeedHive
Later
Metricool