How much does Splunk cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- Free trials offered for Splunk Cloud Platform, Splunk Enterprise, SOAR, AppDynamics and…
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. A free edition of Observability Cloud is offered; its allowances are not stated on the page.
Watch out for
- Extra usage is billed. Overages charged only when capacity is consistently exceeded
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Sign-up form available "Sign Up"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Not stated
- Support
- Standard support included with purchases "Splunk product purchases include standard support."
- Support
- Premium support available "Premium support is also available."
What Splunk does
Splunk offers Splunk Cloud Platform (managed SaaS) and Splunk Enterprise (on-prem, private cloud or hybrid) for searching and analyzing machine data, plus security and observability products. Pricing is by quote for platform products, with published starting prices for Observability Cloud, AppDynamics, Agent Observability and On-Call.
- Good for
- Large organizations that need security, observability and log/machine data analytics across cloud, hybrid and air-gapped environments.
- Channels
- Cloud (Splunk-managed SaaS), On-prem, Private cloud, Hybrid, Air-gapped environments
- Main product
- Splunk Cloud Platform and Splunk Enterprise
- Also includes
- Splunk Cloud Platform, Splunk Enterprise, Federated Search, Ingest and Edge Processors, Splunk Enterprise Security, Splunk SOAR
- Connects to
- Splunkbase apps, OpenTelemetry, Amazon S3, AWS Marketplace, Google Marketplace
- Public API
- Not stated
- MCP server
- Yes
- Live tailNot stated
- Full-text log searchNot stated
- Log-based alertingNot stated
- Configurable retentionNot stated
- SSO and role-based accessNot stated
- Self-hosted option
Deploy in a private cloud or on-prem, even in air-gapped environments.
- OpenTelemetry support
Instrument with native OpenTelemetry support, SDKs, and agents.
- AI log analysis assistantNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in Log management software. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| On-Callper user/month | – | $5per month | 10 usersup to 10 seats | – | "Starting at just $5 per user, per month, billed annually for up to 10 seats" |
| AppDynamics Infrastructure Editionper vCPU/month | – | $6per month | – | – | "Starts at $6 per month, per CPU core, billed annually" |
| Observability Cloud Infrastructureper host/month | – | $15per month | – | – | "Simple, host-based entity pricing starting at $15 per host per month" |
| AppDynamics Premium Editionper host/month | – | $33per month | – | – | "Starts at $33 per host/month billed anually" |
| AppDynamics Enterprise Editionper host/month | – | $50per month | – | – | "Starts at $50 per host/month billed anually" |
| Observability Cloud App & Infraper host/month | – | $60per month | – | – | "Starts at $60 per host/month billed anually" |
| Observability Cloud End-to-Endper host/month | – | $75per month | – | – | "Starts at $75 per host/month billed anually" |
| Agent Observabilityper month per 1.2 million spans | – | $100per month | 1.2e+06 spans | – | "Starting at just $100 per month per 1.2 million spans annually, billed annually" |
| Splunk Cloud Platform | Quote | – | – | – | "Choose from activity-based, ingest, or workload pricing for unlimited users." |
| Splunk Enterprise | Quote | – | – | – | "Choose from data-ingest or workload pricing for unlimited users." |
| Enterprise Security Essentials Edition | Quote | – | – | – | "Human-led, AI-accelerated defense." |
| Enterprise Security Premier Edition | Quote | – | – | – | "Adaptive, autonomous defense." |
Free plan: A free edition of Observability Cloud is offered; its allowances are not stated on the page.
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Overages charged only when capacity is consistently exceeded "We only charge for overages when you consistently exceed your purchased data ingestion or storage capacity."
- Contract
- Not stated
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Splunk LLC
- Address
- 3098 Olsen Drive, San Jose, California 95128
- Online since
- Dec 7, 2001 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "Trusted by leaders worldwide" their claim
- Backing
- "Part of Cisco" their words
Splunk alternatives
Dynatrace$1.40 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Rapid7 InsightIDR/InsightOps$1.62 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Sematext$5 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
SolarWinds Papertrail$5 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Site24x7 Log Management$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
LogicMonitor$16 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026GRGrafana Loki (Grafana Cloud)$19 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Axiom$25 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Splunk free?
Yes. A free edition of Observability Cloud is offered; its allowances are not stated on the page.
How much does Splunk cost?
Paid plans start at $5 per month billed yearly.
