Home/AI accounting software/FreshBooks

FreshBooks pricing

Cloud accounting and invoicing software for small service businesses, with expense tracking, payments, time tracking and payroll.

AI accounting softwareSelf-serve + sales
Visit FreshBooksPrices checked Oct 29, 2026

How much does FreshBooks cost?

Paid plans start at $23/mo billed yearly or $23/mo billed monthly
Free plan
Not stated
Free trial
30-day free trial, no credit card required
Enterprise
Contact sales

In your favor

  • No long-term contract. no contracts on the free trial
  • Unlimited clients on Premium. A flat price with no cap on clients.
  • Free trial. 30-day free trial, no credit card required
  • Refunds offered. full refund within 30 days of purchase

Watch out for

  • Their pages disagree: customers served. "500K+ small businesses have used FreshBooks" vs "used by over 30 million business owners"

How you buy and get started

Self-serve + salesButtons on their site: Try It Free, Buy Now & Save, Talk to a Consultant
Sign up
Self-serve signup with free trial
"Try It Free"
Setup
Free onboarding session included with purchase offer
"Free onboarding included"
When sales steps in
Select plan requires talking to a consultant
"Let's Talk"
Support
Support team does not transfer you between departments
"Our Support team is knowledgeable and never transfers you to other departments."
Support
Dedicated phone support on Select
"Gain access to dedicated phone support"

What FreshBooks does

FreshBooks covers invoicing, expenses with receipt scanning and bank import, double-entry accounting reports, bank reconciliation, payments and payroll across four plans. It offers a 30-day free trial and a Select plan sold through a consultant.

Good for
Freelancers, self-employed professionals and small service businesses with employees or contractors.
Channels
Web app, iOS app, Android app
Main product
FreshBooks small business accounting and invoicing software
Also includes
Invoicing, Estimates and proposals, Online payments, Expense tracking and receipt scanning, Bank import and reconciliation, Time tracking and projects
Connects to
FreshBooks App Store (100+ apps), Stripe, Pidj Texting, NiceJob, Acuity Scheduling, Claude Connector
Public API
Yes
MCP server
Yes
  • AI transaction categorizationautomated expense categorization
  • Automated bank reconciliationBank Reconciliation
  • Invoice and bill captureAutomatic Bill Receipt Data Capture
  • Receipt matchingNot stated
  • Month-end close automationNot stated
  • Real-time financial reportsRun financial and accounting reports
  • AI chat assistantNot stated
  • Human bookkeeper includedNot stated

The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI accounting software. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.

Security and your data

QuestionTheir answerWhere it says so
Trains AI on your data?Not stated
HIPAA (signs a BAA)Not stated
SOC 2Not stated
GDPRNot stated
CCPACCPA applies to California residents"The California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) applies to information collected from California residents."privacy
PCIPCI DSS Level 1 compliant"FreshBooks maintains its PCI DSS Level 1 compliance and has its audit conducted by an independent third-party on an annual basis."security
ISO 27001Not stated
Single sign-onNot stated
Trust centerNot stated

Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.

Every plan

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyIncludedOver the allowanceWhere it says so
LiteUSD/mo $23 $23per month 5 clients5 billable clients – "Was ~~$23.00~~" "Was $276.00 | Save $94.67"
PlusUSD/mo $43 $43per month 50 clients50 billable clients – "Was ~~$43.00~~" "Was $516.00 | Save $176.99"
PremiumUSD/mo $70 $70per month Unlimited – "Was ~~$70.00~~" "Was $840.00 | Save $288.12"
Select Quote – Unlimited – "Talk to a Consultant"
Their pages disagree: customers served"500K+ small businesses have used FreshBooks" vs "used by over 30 million business owners"

Fine print

Billing increment
Not stated
Billed beyond usage
Not stated
Contract
no contracts on the free trial
"with no contracts and no credit card required"
Refunds
full refund within 30 days of purchase
"contact us anytime within the first 30 days after your purchase for a full refund"
Auto renew
Not stated
Price change notice
Not stated

"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.

About the company

Legal name
2NDSITE Inc.
Online since
Mar 23, 2004
Domain registration date
Founder
Mike McDerment, founded 2003
Customers
"500K+ small businesses have used FreshBooks"
their claim

FreshBooks alternatives

Reviews elsewhere

We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.

Questions

Is FreshBooks free?

There's no free plan. Free trial: 30-day free trial, no credit card required. Paid plans start at $23/month.

How much does FreshBooks cost?

Paid plans start at $23 per month billed yearly, or $23 billed monthly.