How much does Pilot cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- A free trial is offered via a 'start FREE TRIAL' button; length not stated
- Usage price
- $399/minute
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. Free Stock Administration Founders Tier for pre-seed founders with up to five people on the cap table
Watch out for
- Their pages disagree: Core plan monthly expense limit / price display. "$0 in monthly expenses" vs "$9,000 in monthly expenses"
- Their pages disagree: Founder Salary Report size. "1,800+ salary insights from founders around the country." vs "1,600+ salary insights from founders around the country."
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Free trial and sign-in available; paid plans via Contact Sales "[Sign In](https://app.pilot.com/login/)[Get Started](/talk-to-expert)[start FREE TRIAL](/free-trial)"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Not stated
- Support
- In-app messaging on Essentials "Support through in-app messaging"
- Support
- Dedicated team via in-app, email and phone on Core "Support from your dedicated team in-app, email, and over the phone"
What Pilot does
Pilot is a back-office provider that handles bookkeeping, tax, CFO advisory and outsourced operations for startups and small businesses, describing its model as 50/50 people and software. Bookkeeping plans start at $99/month (Essentials) and rise to custom pricing, with sales contact needed to buy.
- Good for
- Startups and growth-minded small businesses that want bookkeeping, tax and CFO support handled by a team backed by software.
- Channels
- In-app messaging, Email, Phone, Slack (CFO on Custom plan)
- Main product
- Bookkeeping service (Essentials, Core, Custom plans) with AI plus US-based bookkeepers, alongside tax, CFO and operations services
- Also includes
- AI transaction categorization and account reconciliation (Essentials), Monthly book close, Instant AI answers about past transactions and cash flow, with scenario planning, US-based bookkeeper on Core plan, Cash or accrual bookkeeping on Core, Tax filing services
- Connects to
- QuickBooks, Stripe Atlas, Mercury, Carta, Pulley
- Public API
- Not stated
- MCP server
- Not stated
- AI transaction categorization
AI categorizes transactions, reconciles accounts, and closes books monthly.
- Automated bank reconciliation
AI categorizes transactions, reconciles accounts, and closes books monthly.
- Invoice and bill captureNot stated
- Receipt matchingNot stated
- Month-end close automation
AI categorizes transactions, reconciles accounts, and closes books monthly.
- Real-time financial reports
Track company expenses in real time
- AI chat assistant
Instant AI answers about past transactions and current cash flow, plus run scenarios to plan ahead
- Human bookkeeper included
US-based bookkeeper who handles, explains, and reviews your books
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI accounting software. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tax: Single Member LLC+ /year | – | $83.33per month | – | – | "$1,000+ /year" |
| Essentials (Bookkeeping)/month | $99 | – | 100000 USD monthly expensesUp to $100,000 in monthly expenses | – | "ricing-proserv bookkeepingtaxcfooperations monthly annually essentials $99/month up to $10" |
| Tax: Partnerships and S-Corps+ /year | – | $167per month | – | – | "$2,000+ /year" |
| Tax: C-Corps+ /year | – | $204per month | – | – | "$2,450+ /year" |
| Core (Bookkeeping)/month billed annually | – | $299per month | – | – | "Starts at $ 299 /month" |
| Operations: Essentials/month | $850monthly or yearly not stated | – | – | – | "$850/month" |
| CFO: Basic/month billed annually | – | $1,750per month | – | – | "$1,750/month" |
| CFO: Essentials/month billed annually | – | $3,150per month | – | – | "$3,150/month" |
| CFO: Custom/month billed annually | – | $5,250per month | – | – | "$5,250/month" |
| Operations: Starterone-time payment | – | – | – | – | "$750 one-time payment" |
| Stock Administration/hr | $399per minute | – | – | – | "$399/hr" |
| Custom (Bookkeeping) | Quote | – | – | – | "Best for: Growing companies that need a customized plan for the back-office." |
Free plan: Free Stock Administration Founders Tier for pre-seed founders with up to five people on the cap table
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Not stated
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Pilot.com, Inc.
- Address
- 353 Sacramento St., Suite 1900, San Francisco CA 94111 (HQ); 818 18th Ave, Suite
- Online since
- Aug 17, 1993 Domain registration date
- Funding
- Raised over $150M across Series A, B and C "Pilot has raised over $150M in [Series A](https://techcrunch.com/2018/03/14/pilot-raises-15m-to-bring-bookkeeping-into-the-modern-era/), [Series B,](https://www.indexventures.com/p"
- Customers
- "Trusted by 3,500+ growth-driven startups and small businesses" their claim
- Backing
- "Backed by Sequoia, Index Ventures, Stripe, Bezos Expeditions and Whale Rock" their words
Pilot alternatives
Zoho Books$15 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
WaveCA$15.83 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Bookeeping.ai$29 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Digits$35 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
CampfireQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026DODocytQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Pilot free?
Yes. Free Stock Administration Founders Tier for pre-seed founders with up to five people on the cap table Paid plans start at $99/month.
How much does Pilot cost?
Paid plans start at $83.33 per month billed yearly, or $99 billed monthly.
