How much does Customer.io cost?
- Free plan
- Not stated
- Free trial
- 14-day free trial, no credit card required
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free trial. 14-day free trial, no credit card required
Watch out for
- Extra usage is billed. Additional emails, profiles and AI credits are billed beyond included amounts
- Going over the Essentials allowance costs $0.01 per additional profile. Included: 5000 profiles.
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve signup with 14-day free trial, no credit card required "No credit card required"
- Setup
- 90-day onboarding support on Premium "90-day onboarding support"
- When sales steps in
- Premium and Enterprise require booking a demo or talking to sales "Talk to sales"
- Support
- Email and community support on Essentials "Email and community support"
- Support
- Premium chat & email support "Premium chat & email support"
What Customer.io does
Customer.io lets teams unify customer data and build cross-channel automated journeys, audiences, and messages, with an AI Agent that builds automations and analyzes performance from prompts. Pricing starts at $100/month for Essentials, with Premium and Enterprise plans sold through demos.
- Good for
- Product and lifecycle marketing teams that want data-driven, behavior-triggered messaging across email, push, in-app, SMS and WhatsApp, from startups to larger organizations.
- Channels
- Email, SMS, Push, In-app, WhatsApp, LINE, Webhook
- Main product
- Customer engagement platform (Journeys, Audiences, Data & integrations, Design Studio, Analytics, AI Agent)
- Also includes
- AI Agent, Journeys (visual workflow builder), Audiences and segmentation, Design Studio, Analytics and reporting, Email, push, in-app, SMS, WhatsApp, LINE
- Connects to
- HubSpot, Salesforce, Segment, Mixpanel, Hightouch, Google Ads, Amazon S3, Intercom, Attio, TypeForm, Algolia, Actable
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Yes
- AI content generation
Go from a single prompt to a fully configured automation with triggers, content, timing, and logic, so you can
- Brand voice trainingNot stated
- Campaign automation workflows
Build automated campaigns that improve with every send.
- Email and SMS marketing
Monthly SMS sends
- AI ad creativeNot stated
- SEO and AI search toolsNot stated
- CRM and app integrations
Turn CRM records into personalized campaigns
- Analytics and reporting
Surface insights that help you optimize for business performance.
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI marketing tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | available on Premium and Enterprise (custom, additional cost) | "HIPAA Compliance — Not included Custom Custom"pricing |
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 Type II certified | "Our platform is HIPAA compliant and SOC 2 Type II certified."security |
| GDPR | GDPR compliant | "Our platform is GDPR compliant"security |
| CCPA | CCPA compliance | "CCPA and US data privacy laws"security |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Included on all plans | "SSO & 2-factor authentication"pricing |
| Trust center | https://app.conveyor.com/profile/customer-io | "Trust Center"home |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essentialsper month / billed monthly | $100 | – | 5000 profiles1M emails per month | $0.01/additional profile | "starts at $100 per month / billed monthly for" |
| Premiumper month / billed yearly | – | $1,000per month | – | – | "starts at $1,000 per month / billed yearly" |
| Enterprise | Quote | – | – | – | "Let's talk" |
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Additional emails, profiles and AI credits are billed beyond included amounts "Additional AI credits"
- Contract
- Essentials monthly; Premium and Enterprise annual "Plan term"
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Peaberry Software, Inc. d/b/a Customer.io
- Address
- 9450 SW Gemini Dr., Suite 43920, Beaverton, Oregon 97008-7105
- Online since
- Oct 26, 2011 Domain registration date
- Ships updates
- 82 in the last 12 months Last on Oct 23, 2026, from their changelog
- Founder
- Colin Nederkoorn, Founder and Chief Executive Officer
- Customers
- "Trusted by 11,000+ brands" their claim
Customer.io alternatives
HubSpot Marketing Hub$7 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Creatify AI$10 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
VEED$10 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Omnisend$11.20 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
AKOOL$12 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Zapier$13.33 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
AdCreative.ai$20 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Ahrefs$20 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Customer.io free?
There's no free plan. Free trial: 14-day free trial, no credit card required. Paid plans start at $100/month.
How much does Customer.io cost?
Paid plans start at $1,000 per month billed yearly, or $100 billed monthly.
Is Customer.io HIPAA compliant?
Customer.io says a HIPAA BAA is available on Premium and Enterprise (custom, additional cost).