How much does Brave Search API cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Usage price
- $5/usd credits per month
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- No overage charges. Prepaid credits, no subscription, no surprise bills
- Free plan. Includes $5 in free credits every month on Search, Answers, Spellcheck and Autosuggest, applied automatically; usage beyond that draws down prepaid credits.
- Notice before price changes. Brave may modify terms or change the Service by posting a notice or emailing
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve API key signup with prepaid credits "[Get my API key](https://api-dashboard.search.brave.com/register)"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Enterprise for custom terms, capacity, or ZDR "Contact us about bespoke plans for large-scale deployments."
- Support
- Enterprise-grade support with Enterprise plan "Invoicing & enterprise-grade support"
What Brave Search API does
Brave offers a prepaid-credit Search API with web search, LLM Context, and Answers endpoints, plus an MCP server, and an Enterprise tier for custom terms and zero data retention. Brave also runs the Brave Search engine and Ask Brave consumer AI answers.
- Good for
- Developers and AI labs building chatbots and agents that need real-time web grounding and cited answers.
- Channels
- REST API, MCP server, Web (search.brave.com), Browser
- Main product
- Brave Search API (Search, LLM Context, Answers)
- Also includes
- Web search with URLs and text snippets, LLM Context endpoint for agents, News, video, image and place search, Answers: AI-generated cited answers, Spellcheck and Autosuggest, Goggles for custom re-ranking
- Connects to
- Avante, AWS Marketplace, Blaxel, BoltAI, Cline, CrewAI, Cursor, DeerFlow, Dify, Docker Hub
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Yes
- Cited AI answers
[Answers AI-generated cited answers](/documentation/services/answers)
- Connectors to work appsNot stated
- Permission-aware resultsNot stated
- Live web search
The real-time search data your chatbots & agents need to generate answers.
- Agents and workflowsNot stated
- Search API access
Web search: Human readable URLs & text snippets
- SSO and SOC 2Not stated
- No training on your dataNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI search engines. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Brave strives to comply with GDPR and CCPA | "Brave strives to comply with these regulations, and go a step further: to safeguard your data by not collecting it in the first place."privacy |
| CCPA | Brave strives to comply with GDPR and CCPA | "Brave strives to comply with these regulations, and go a step further: to safeguard your data by not collecting it in the first place."privacy |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Searchper 1,000 requests | $5per usd credits per month | – | 5 USD credits per month50 requests per second | – | "$5.00 per 1,000 requests" |
| Answersper 1,000 queries + $5.00 per 1,000,000 input tokens + $5.00 per 1,000,000 output tokens | $4per usd credits per month | – | 5 USD credits per month2 requests per second | – | "$4.00 per 1,000 queries" |
| Spellcheckper 10,000 requests | $5per usd credits per month | – | 5 USD credits per month100 requests per second | – | "$5.00 per 10,000 requests" |
| Autosuggestper 10,000 requests | $5per usd credits per month | – | 5 USD credits per month100 requests per second | – | "$5.00 per 10,000 requests" |
| Enterprise | Quote | – | – | – | "Contact us about bespoke plans for large-scale deployments." |
Free plan: Includes $5 in free credits every month on Search, Answers, Spellcheck and Autosuggest, applied automatically; usage beyond that draws down prepaid credits.
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Prepaid credits, no subscription, no surprise bills "Load credits, use as you go. Set your own token budget. No minimums, no surprise bills."
- Contract
- No subscription "Prepaid credits, no subscription"
- Refunds
- Any fees paid are non-refundable (Terms of Use for Brave services) "Any fees paid hereunder are non-refundable."
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Brave may modify terms or change the Service by posting a notice or emailing "Brave reserves the right, at its sole discretion, to modify or replace any of the Terms of Use, or change, suspend, or discontinue the Service"
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Brave Software, Inc.
- Online since
- Sep 18, 1995 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "Trusted by the world's top AI labs; 100s of millions of daily queries" their claim
Brave Search API alternatives
Notion$10 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Slack AI Search$7.25 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Slite$10 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Onyx$20 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
SearchBlox SearchAI$2,000 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Brave Search API free?
Yes. Includes $5 in free credits every month on Search, Answers, Spellcheck and Autosuggest, applied automatically; usage beyond that draws down prepaid credits.
