How much does Captions cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. Free version with limited features such as trimming, transitions and some media library assets; no AI usage credits. Paid plans unlock generative AI features.
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve signup on web or app "It’s free to sign up for Captions, but you’ll want a subscription to access the best features."
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Enterprise plan is contact sales "Contact sales"
- Support
- Help Center for support and API or integration requests "contact our team through the Help Center"
What Captions does
Captions (by Mirage, formerly Captions, merged with Mirage Studio) edits uploaded footage automatically and can generate AI avatars, digital twins, captions, translations and music. Plans run on monthly credits, with a limited free tier and custom enterprise pricing.
- Good for
- Creators, marketers, small businesses and enterprise teams who want edited short-form videos, ads and AI-avatar videos without manual editing.
- Channels
- Web app, iOS app, Android app
- Main product
- Captions AI video editor and avatar generator
- Also includes
- AI Edit styles, AI avatars and digital twins, Chat-based editor, Clips from long videos, Auto captions in 100+ languages, AI Translate and Lipdub
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Library of AI actors
Create digital twins or custom AI actors
- Custom avatar or AI twin
Create digital twins or custom AI actors
- Voice cloning
AI Voice Clone
- Product URL to videoNot stated
- Actor holds your product
Use prompts to change their outfits, backgrounds or even product inserts.
- 30+ languages
100+
- Clone or remake existing adsNot stated
- API or MCP access
Our team builds the Captions app, Mirage foundation models and the Mirage API.
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI UGC video tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | no on enterprise plans | "Training data exclusion"pricing |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Soc-II compliant | "Captions is Soc-II compliant."enterprise |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max/mo | $24.99 | – | 500 credits | – | "$24.99/mo" |
| Frontier/mo | $69.99 | – | 1400 credits | – | "$69.99/mo" |
| Frontier 2x/mo | $140 | – | 2800 credits | – | "$139.99/mo" |
| Frontier 4x/mo | $280 | – | 5600 credits | – | "$279.99/mo" |
| Enterprise | Quote | – | – | – | "Custom pricing" |
Free plan: Free version with limited features such as trimming, transitions and some media library assets; no AI usage credits. Paid plans unlock generative AI features.
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Not stated
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- NOCAP, Inc. (d/b/a Captions / Mirage)
- Online since
- Dec 16, 2017 Domain registration date
- Founder
- Gaurav Misra, Co-Founder and CEO
- Founder
- Dwight Churchill, Co-Founder and COO
- Customers
- "20M current users" their claim
- Backing
- "Investors include Kevin Systrom, Mike Krieger, Lenny Rachitsky, Julie Zhuo and o" their words
Captions alternatives
Tagshop AI$14 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
JoggAI$24 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
MakeUGC$29 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Zeely$29.95 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Topview$36 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Argil$50 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Superscale$99 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Captions free?
Yes. Free version with limited features such as trimming, transitions and some media library assets; no AI usage credits. Paid plans unlock generative AI features. Paid plans start at $24.99/month.
How much does Captions cost?
Paid plans start at $24.99 per month.
Does Captions train AI on your data?
No on enterprise plans, according to Captions: "Training data exclusion"