Home/Log management software/Datadog competitor: Honeycomb

Datadog competitor: Honeycomb pricing

Honeycomb is an observability platform for tracing, logs, and metrics, with AI agent tooling and OpenTelemetry support.

Log management softwareFree planSelf-serve + sales
Visit Datadog competitor: HoneycombPrices checked Oct 29, 2026

How much does Datadog competitor: Honeycomb cost?

Paid plans start at $150/mo
Free plan
Yes
Enterprise
Contact sales
Read from www.honeycomb.io/pricing on Oct 29, 2026. Price changed? Tell usSee the line each price came from

In your favor

  • Free plan. Free forever: up to 20M events and 100M metrics data points per month, 2 Triggers, tracing, BubbleUp, Canvas AI Copilot, MCP
  • Notice before price changes. 30 days' notice for existing Pro Plan pricing changes

Watch out for

  • No refunds on a long commitment. Fees non-refundable and non-cancelable unless indicated otherwise

How you buy and get started

Self-serve + salesButtons on their site: Start for free, Get a demo, Request a trial, Talk to Sales
Sign up
Self-serve signup at ui.honeycomb.io/signup
"Start for free"
Setup
Not stated
When sales steps in
Enterprise plans start with a base allowance of 10 billion events per year
"Enterprise plans start with a base allowance of 10 billion events per year."
Support
Honeycomb Support on Pro
"Honeycomb Support"
Support
Enterprise-grade support and onboarding on Enterprise
"Enterprise-Grade Support + Onboarding"

What Datadog competitor: Honeycomb does

Honeycomb is an event-based observability platform covering distributed tracing, log analytics, metrics, SLOs, and AI features such as Canvas and an MCP server. It has a free tier, a self-serve Pro plan from $150 per month, and a custom-priced Enterprise plan.

Good for
Engineering teams running production applications, from individual projects on the free plan to large multi-team enterprises, including teams operating AI agents and LLM workloads.
Channels
Web UI, Honeycomb MCP, API
Main product
Honeycomb observability platform
Also includes
Distributed Tracing, Log Analytics, Honeycomb Metrics, BubbleUp, Triggers, SLOs
Connects to
OpenTelemetry, Amazon Web Services, Microsoft Azure, Kubernetes, Google Cloud, GitHub, AWS PrivateLink
Public API
Yes
MCP server
Yes
  • Live tailNot stated
  • Full-text log searchNot stated
  • Log-based alertingNot stated
  • Configurable retentionNot stated
  • SSO and role-based accessSingle-Sign On (SSO)
  • Self-hosted optionNot stated
  • OpenTelemetry supportOpenTelemetry Support
  • AI log analysis assistantCanvas AI Copilot

The same 8 checks appear on every tool in Log management software. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.

Security and your data

QuestionTheir answerWhere it says so
Trains AI on your data?Not stated
HIPAA (signs a BAA)Not stated
SOC 2Not stated
GDPRNot stated
CCPANot stated
PCINot stated
ISO 27001Not stated
Single sign-onPro"Single-Sign On (SSO)"pricing
Trust centerNot stated

Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.

Every plan

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyIncludedOver the allowanceWhere it says so
Free $0 – 2e+07 eventsUp to 20M events per month; up to 100M metrics data points p – "Our introductory plan, free forever."
Proper month $150 – 5e+07 eventsUp to 750M events per month; up to 3.75B metrics data points – "Starting at $150 per month"
Enterprise Quote – – – "Custom plans to fit your needs"

Free plan: Free forever: up to 20M events and 100M metrics data points per month, 2 Triggers, tracing, BubbleUp, Canvas AI Copilot, MCP

Fine print

Billing increment
Pro billed in advance, monthly or annually
"the fees for the applicable Pro Plan billed in advance (either monthly or annually based on the Pro Plan)"
Billed beyond usage
Not stated
Contract
Monthly or annual subscription on Pro
"Monthly or Annual Subscription"
Refunds
Fees non-refundable and non-cancelable unless indicated otherwise
"All fees in connection with the Service are non-refundable and non-cancelable, unless otherwise indicated in the Service."
Auto renew
Not stated
Price change notice
30 days' notice for existing Pro Plan pricing changes
"we will give Customer thirty (30) days’ notice for changes to the pricing of any existing Pro Plan"

"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.

About the company

Legal name
Hound Technology, Inc. (d/b/a Honeycomb)
Online since
Jan 26, 2013
Domain registration date
Founder
Charity Majors (CTO / Co-founder)
Customers
"Trusted by innovators and enterprises worldwide"
their claim

Datadog competitor: Honeycomb alternatives

Reviews elsewhere

We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.

Questions

Is Datadog competitor: Honeycomb free?

Yes. Free forever: up to 20M events and 100M metrics data points per month, 2 Triggers, tracing, BubbleUp, Canvas AI Copilot, MCP Paid plans start at $150/month.

How much does Datadog competitor: Honeycomb cost?

Paid plans start at $150 per month.