How much does New Relic cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Usage price
- $0.40/gb
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. Perpetual free tier each month: 100 GB data ingest, one free full platform user, unlimited basic users, 50+ capabilities, at least 8 days default retention, default logs obfuscation. Above 100 GB, ingest and platform access stop until next month or upgrade to a paid edition.
Watch out for
- Extra usage is billed. Billed on provisioned full platform users, GB ingested, and CCUs consumed by Advanced Compute above the free 100 GB
- Going over the Standard (original data option) allowance costs $0.40 per gb. Included: 100 GB data ingest.
- Their pages disagree: Number of platform capabilities. "Full platform users can monitor, debug, and improve their entire stack" vs "Access to 50+ capabilities"
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve free signup, no credit card required; upgrade to Standard or Pro by adding a credit card "No credit card required"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Enterprise requires contacting sales; Pro and Standard pricing via request "[Contact us](/contact-sales) to upgrade to Enterprise."
- Support
- Standard: ticketed support, 2 business days response SLA "2 business days support response SLA"
- Support
- Pro: 2-hour critical initial response SLA "2-hour critical initial support response SLA"
- Support
- Enterprise: 1-hour critical initial response SLA "1-hour critical initial support response SLA"
What New Relic does
New Relic is a full-stack observability platform covering APM, infrastructure, digital experience, AI monitoring, security and logs, priced by data ingest and user type. Its log management offering (Logs Intelligence and Federated Logs) queries data in place and has an AI assistant.
- Good for
- Engineering teams from startups to large enterprises that want logs, APM, and infrastructure monitoring on one usage-priced platform.
- Channels
- Web app, IDE (CodeStream), Docs, Community, Ticketed support
- Main product
- New Relic Intelligent Observability Platform (Logs Intelligence, Federated Logs)
- Also includes
- APM, Digital Experience Monitoring, AI and Agentic Monitoring, Infrastructure Monitoring, Log Management, Security Rx
- Connects to
- AWS Security Hub, GitHub Dependabot, Snyk, AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, Kubernetes, Prometheus, ServiceNow, SAP, OpenTelemetry
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Live tailNot stated
- Full-text log search
Scale your logging strategy cost by querying data in place.
- Log-based alerting
Detect meaningful issues sooner with intelligent alerting and correlation
- Configurable retention
Additional [data retention time](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/data-apis/manage-data/manage-data-retention/#a
- SSO and role-based access
SAML single sign-on
- Self-hosted optionNot stated
- OpenTelemetry support
Collect metrics, logs, and traces from any source
- AI log analysis assistant
Analyze logs faster with AI assistance
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in Log management software. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | available on Enterprise with Data Plus | "FedRAMP Moderate and HIPAA eligibility with Data Plus"pricing |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Personal data requests supported under GDPR | "You can also make personal data requests to New Relic in accordance with data protection laws, such as the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and the California Consumer "pricing |
| CCPA | Personal data requests supported under CCPA | "You can also make personal data requests to New Relic in accordance with data protection laws, such as the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and the California Consumer "pricing |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | SAML SSO on Standard | "SAML single sign-on"pricing |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | – | 100 GB data ingestData ingest stops and platform access is lost above 100 GB u | – | "Sign up for free access with our perpetual free tier and 100 GB/month of data ingest inclu" |
| Standard full platform user (first user)/user | $10 | – | –maximum of 5 | – | "Standard $10/first user $99/additional user (maximum of 5)" |
| Core user/user | $49 | – | – | – | "Core users | Free - | Standard $49/user | Pro $49/user | Enterprise $49/user" |
| Standard full platform user (additional)/user | $99 | – | –maximum of 5 | – | "Standard $10/first user $99/additional user (maximum of 5)" |
| Pro full platform user ( commitment)/user | – | $349per month | – | – | "Pro $349/user (for annual commitments) $418.80/user (for monthly pay as you go)" |
| Pro full platform user ( pay as you go)/user | $419 | – | – | – | "Pro $349/user (for annual commitments) $418.80/user (for monthly pay as you go)" |
| Standard (original data option)/GB | $0.40per gb | – | 100 GB data ingest | $0.40/gb | "Standard $0.40/GB beyond free 100 GB limit" |
| Standard (Data Plus option)/GB | $0.60per gb | – | 100 GB data ingest | $0.60/gb | "Standard $0.60/GB beyond free 100 GB limit" |
| Pro (original data option)/GB | $0.40per gb | – | 100 GB data ingest | $0.40/gb | "Pro $0.40/GB beyond free 100 GB limit" |
| Pro (Data Plus option)/GB | $0.60per gb | – | 100 GB data ingest | $0.60/gb | "Pro $0.60/GB beyond free 100 GB limit" |
| Enterprise | Quote | – | – | – | "Enterprise [Contact Sales](/contact-sales?utm_campaign=enterprise)" |
Free plan: Perpetual free tier each month: 100 GB data ingest, one free full platform user, unlimited basic users, 50+ capabilities, at least 8 days default retention, default logs obfuscation. Above 100 GB, ingest and platform access stop until next month or upgrade to a paid edition.
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Billed on provisioned full platform users, GB ingested, and CCUs consumed by Advanced Compute above the free 100 GB "we bill you based on your number of provisioned full platform users, the amount of gigabytes ingested, and any Compute Capacity Units (CCUs) consumed by Advanced Compute capabiliti"
- Contract
- Pay-as-you-go with no commitment past the current month; commitment contracts available for Pro and Enterprise "There are no payment commitments past the current month and an organization can cancel at any time."
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- New Relic, Inc.
- Address
- 188 Spear Street, Suite 1200, San Francisco, CA 94105
- Online since
- Apr 19, 2006 Domain registration date
- Ships updates
- 3 in the last 12 months Last on Dec 9, 2025, from their changelog
- Customers
- "More than 16,000 companies use New Relic" their claim
New Relic alternatives
Dynatrace$1.40 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Rapid7 InsightIDR/InsightOps$1.62 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Sematext$5 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
SolarWinds Papertrail$5 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Splunk$5 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Site24x7 Log Management$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
LogicMonitor$16 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026GRGrafana Loki (Grafana Cloud)$19 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is New Relic free?
Yes. Perpetual free tier each month: 100 GB data ingest, one free full platform user, unlimited basic users, 50+ capabilities, at least 8 days default retention, default logs obfuscation. Above 100 GB, ingest and platform access stop until next month or upgrade to a paid edition. Paid plans start at $10/month.
How much does New Relic cost?
Paid plans start at $349 per month billed yearly, or $10 billed monthly.
Is New Relic HIPAA compliant?
New Relic says a HIPAA BAA is available on Enterprise with Data Plus.
