Home/Log management software/OpenObserve

OpenObserve pricing

Open-source observability platform for logs, metrics and traces, sold as managed cloud billed per GB ingested or as self-hosted software.

Log management softwareFree planPriced per gb queriedSelf-serve + sales
Visit OpenObservePrices checked Oct 29, 2026

How much does OpenObserve cost?

Usage price from $0.50/gb queried
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
14-day free trial on Cloud Pay As You Go, no credit card required
Usage price
$0.50/gb queried
Enterprise
Contact sales
Read from openobserve.ai/pricing/ on Oct 29, 2026. Price changed? Tell usSee the line each price came from

In your favor

  • Free plan. Self-hosted Open Source edition is free forever; Self-Hosted Enterprise is free up to 50 GB/day ingestion, above which sales contact is needed
  • Notice before price changes. Advance notice via account or email, sufficient to cancel before renewal

Watch out for

  • Going over the Cloud Professional (pay-as-you-go) allowance costs $0.01 per gb queried. Included: 0 .
  • No refunds on a long commitment. Fees are non-refundable

How you buy and get started

Self-serve + salesButtons on their site: Start 14-Day Free Trial, Get Started Free, Talk to Sales, Get Demo
Sign up
Self-serve 14-day trial on Cloud, no credit card
"Start 14-Day Free Trial"
Setup
About 3 minutes for Kubernetes collector setup
"~3 min setup"
When sales steps in
Above 50 GB/day self-hosted ingestion or for extra enterprise support
"For ingestion volumes above 50 GB per day or additional enterprise support, contact the OpenObserve sales team."
Support
Premium support on Enterprise
"Premium support"

What OpenObserve does

OpenObserve stores logs, metrics, traces and RUM data in columnar Parquet storage and queries them with SQL. Cloud costs $0.50 per GB ingested plus $0.01 per GB queried, and a self-hosted open-source edition is free.

Good for
Engineering teams that want log search and unified observability at lower storage cost than Elastic or Datadog, in managed cloud or self-hosted form.
Channels
Web app, Self-hosted download, OpenTelemetry/OTLP ingestion, Prometheus remote-write, Kubernetes collector, Slack, PagerDuty and email alert notifications
Main product
OpenObserve (logs, metrics, traces, RUM, dashboards, alerts)
Also includes
Logs, metrics, traces, RUM, session replay, error tracking, Dashboards, Real-time and scheduled alerts, Unlimited users on all cloud plans, 30-day non-metrics retention and 15-month metrics retention on Cloud, AI assistant and AI SRE agent (free during preview)
Connects to
OpenTelemetry, Prometheus remote-write, AWS CloudWatch, Amazon EC2, Amazon ECS, Amazon RDS, Amazon CloudFront, Amazon Bedrock, Anthropic, Ansible, Aerospike, Vector
Public API
Not stated
MCP server
Yes
  • Live tailNot stated
  • Full-text log searchIngest and query trillions of log lines with familiar SQL: no indexing tax, no surprise storage bills.
  • Log-based alertingSet real-time and scheduled alerts on logs, metrics and traces, and route notifications to Slack, PagerDuty, e
  • Configurable retentionYou can extend non-metrics retention at $0.02 per GB per additional 30-day period.
  • SSO and role-based accessThis tier includes enterprise features such as SSO (Single Sign-On), RBAC (Role-Based Access Control)
  • Self-hosted optionthe Open Source edition is free forever, and the Self-Hosted Enterprise edition is free for up to 50 GB of ing
  • OpenTelemetry supportany tool that emits OpenTelemetry works today without a proprietary agent.
  • AI log analysis assistantAsk natural-language questions across every log, metric, and trace.

The same 8 checks appear on every tool in Log management software. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.

Security and your data

QuestionTheir answerWhere it says so
Trains AI on your data?Not stated
HIPAA (signs a BAA)Not stated
SOC 2SOC 2 Type 2"OpenObserve has Attained SOC2 Type2 Compliance"security
GDPRNot stated
CCPANot stated
PCINot stated
ISO 27001ISO 27001 certified"OpenObserve has Attained ISO 27001 Compliance"security
Single sign-onCloud Pay As You Go and Self-Hosted Enterprise"SSO is included on the Cloud Pay As You Go plan and the Self-Hosted Enterprise plan at no additional cost."pricing
Trust centerhttps://security.openobserve.ai/"Trust Center"home

Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.

Every plan

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyIncludedOver the allowanceWhere it says so
Cloud Professional (pay-as-you-go)/GB ingested $0.50per gb queried – – $0.01/gb queried "$0.50/GB ingested"
Self-Hosted Open Source – – – – "the Open Source edition is free forever"
Self-Hosted Enterprise (free tier) – – 50 GB/day ingestion50 GB per day – "The Self-Hosted Enterprise plan is free for up to 50 GB of ingestion per day."
Enterprise (Cloud) Quote – Unlimited – "Custom scale & compliance"

Free plan: Self-hosted Open Source edition is free forever; Self-Hosted Enterprise is free up to 50 GB/day ingestion, above which sales contact is needed

Fine print

Billing increment
Not stated
Billed beyond usage
Not stated
Contract
Committed terms are non-cancellable
"Except as required by applicable law or expressly provided in the applicable agreement, fees are non-refundable and purchased commitments are non-cancellable."
Refunds
Fees are non-refundable
"Except as required by applicable law or expressly provided in the applicable agreement, fees are non-refundable and purchased commitments are non-cancellable."
Auto renew
Renews unless renewal is stopped via account cancellation
"You may stop renewal through the account cancellation mechanism or by contacting us if that mechanism is unavailable."
Price change notice
Advance notice via account or email, sufficient to cancel before renewal
"We may revise pricing for future purchases and renewal terms on advance notice through the account or account email sufficient to permit cancellation before renewal."

"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.

About the company

Legal name
OpenObserve Inc.
Address
3000 Sand Hill Rd Building 1, Suite 260, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Online since
May 2, 2023
Domain registration date
Ships updates
3 in the last 12 months
Last on Nov 5, 2026, from their changelog
Customers
"9,000+ active deployments"
their claim
Backing
"Investors: Nexus Venture Partners, Dell Technologies Capital, Secure Octane, Rat"
their words

OpenObserve alternatives

Reviews elsewhere

We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.

Questions

Is OpenObserve free?

Yes. Self-hosted Open Source edition is free forever; Self-Hosted Enterprise is free up to 50 GB/day ingestion, above which sales contact is needed