How much does Camunda cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- 30-day free SaaS trial with full process execution; usage during the trial is never billed
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. Self-Managed Development is free for local, non-production use with no license. After the SaaS trial, a free account limited to BPMN/DMN modeling continues.
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve signup for 30-day SaaS trial "Start free at accounts.camunda.io/signup."
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Production use on SaaS or Self-Managed requires talking to sales "To keep executing in production, talk to sales about Enterprise (SaaS)."
- Support
- 24×7 support with SLAs on Production and SaaS "24×7 support with SLAs"
- Support
- Customer Success and training "Customer Success and training"
What Camunda does
Camunda lets teams model processes (BPMN, DMN), run them in a process engine and monitor them, with AI agents, human tasks and system integrations in the same process. It is available self-managed or as hosted SaaS, with production use sold through sales.
- Good for
- Large enterprises and developer teams that need to govern AI agents, people and existing systems (such as SAP and Salesforce) in business-critical processes, in sectors like banking, insurance and government.
- Channels
- Web app (SaaS), Self-managed install, Desktop Modeler
- Main product
- Camunda agentic orchestration platform (Camunda 8: SaaS and Self-Managed)
- Also includes
- Process engine (Zeebe) and Decision Engine, Desktop Modeler and Web Modeler, Operate (process inspection), Tasklist (human tasks), Optimize (reports and dashboards), Identity (users and permissions)
- Connects to
- SAP, ServiceNow, Salesforce, Microsoft Teams, LDAP / Active Directory, MCP, A2A
- Public API
- Not stated
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Visual workflow builder
Collaborative modeling
- Built-in AI agents
Govern and orchestrate AI agents, people, and systems across end-to-end business processes
- Prebuilt app integrations
SAP integration
- Choice of LLM providers
Any framework. Any LLM. Any vendor.
- Human approval steps
Build policies, approvals, escalation paths, and auditability directly into the process
- Self-hosting option
Run in production on your own infrastructure. Requires an Enterprise license.
- Audit logs and permissions
Users and permissions
- SSO and SOC 2Not stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI workflow automation platforms. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | SSO listed in the security and governance feature comparison; plan not stated in | "SSO"pricing |
| Trust center | https://trust.camunda.com/ | "We encourage all Camunda's prospective and existing customers to begin their due diligence with the [Camunda Trust Center](https://trust.camunda.com)."security |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Self-Managed Development | – | – | –non-production use only | – | "Free — build and test on your own machine. No license required." |
| Self-Managed Production (Enterprise) | Quote | – | – | – | "Run in production on your own infrastructure. Requires an Enterprise license." |
| Camunda SaaS (Enterprise) | Quote | – | – | – | "Talk to sales to buy, or start with a 30-day free trial." |
Free plan: Self-Managed Development is free for local, non-production use with no license. After the SaaS trial, a free account limited to BPMN/DMN modeling continues.
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Not stated
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Camunda Services GmbH
- Online since
- Feb 23, 2005 Domain registration date
- Founder
- Jakob Freund and Bernd Ruecker
- Customers
- "More than 750 companies trust Camunda" their claim
Camunda alternatives
Zite$20 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
UiPath$25 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Gumloop$37 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Workato$100 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
AirOpsQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Camunda free?
Yes. Self-Managed Development is free for local, non-production use with no license. After the SaaS trial, a free account limited to BPMN/DMN modeling continues.
