Home/AI workflow automation platforms/Vellum

Vellum pricing

Vellum is a personal AI assistant that runs locally or in Vellum Cloud and takes actions across a user's files and tools.

Visit VellumPrices checked Oct 29, 2026

How much does Vellum cost?

Paid plans start at $30/mo
Free plan
Yes
Read from www.vellum.ai/pricing on Oct 29, 2026. Price changed? Tell usSee the line each price came from

In your favor

  • Free plan. Free to download and start; first tasks are free. Self-hosting has no platform fee. Beyond that, credits are pay-as-you-go ($1 = 1 credit).

Watch out for

  • Extra usage is billed. Credits are pay-as-you-go beyond included bundle

How you buy and get started

Self-serveButtons on their site: Start Free→, Power Up→, Go Super→, Unleash Ultra→
Sign up
Self-serve signup
"Set up your assistant in minutes and start getting things done."
Setup
Set up in minutes
"Set up your assistant in minutes and start getting things done."
When sales steps in
Not stated
Support
Priority support included in platform fee
"The $10/mo base fee covers your assistant's custom subdomain, a static IP address, and priority support."

What Vellum does

Vellum is an open-source personal AI assistant with long-term memory, reachable on Mac, iOS, Android, web, voice, email, Telegram, Slack and terminal. The site states the Personal Assistant Platform is shutting down on November 2nd, 2026.

Good for
Individuals who want a personal AI assistant for busywork, self-hosted or on paid cloud plans. Not a team workflow builder.
Channels
Mac, iOS, Android, web app, voice, email, Telegram, Slack, terminal
Main product
Vellum personal AI assistant
Also includes
Long-term memory, Built-in skills for Google Workspace, Slack, Notion and filesystem, Fine-grained permissions with approval for high-stakes actions, Local or cloud runtime, Model switching across OpenAI, Anthropic, Gemini and Ollama open weights, Recurring background tasks
Connects to
Google Workspace, Slack, Notion, Telegram, Ollama, OpenAI, Anthropic, Gemini
Public API
Not stated
MCP server
Not stated
  • Visual workflow builderNot stated
  • Built-in AI agentsVellum is an autonomous assistant with long-term memory that takes real actions across your files and tools.
  • Prebuilt app integrationsIt comes with built-in skills for Google Workspace, Slack, Notion, and your filesystem
  • Choice of LLM providersyou can switch between models including OpenAI, Anthropic, Gemini, or open weights via Ollama at any time
  • Human approval stepsHigh-stakes actions like sending emails to new contacts, modifying important files, or spending credits requir
  • Self-hosting optionVellum assistant is open source. Deploy it on your own hardware, a VPS, or a private cloud.
  • Audit logs and permissionsNot stated
  • SSO and SOC 2Not stated

The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI workflow automation platforms. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.

Security and your data

QuestionTheir answerWhere it says so
Trains AI on your data?no"Your conversation history, memory, and credentials stay on your machine and are never used to train models."home
HIPAA (signs a BAA)Not stated
SOC 2Not stated
GDPRNot stated
CCPANot stated
PCINot stated
ISO 27001Not stated
Single sign-onNot stated
Trust centerNot stated

Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.

Every plan

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyIncludedOver the allowanceWhere it says so
Mighty/month $30 – –1 vCPU / 2 GiB computer, 10 GB storage – "$30/month"
Super/month $100 – –2.5 vCPU / 5 GiB computer, 30 GB storage, assistant email an – "$100/month"
Ultra/month $200 – –4 vCPU / 8 GiB computer, 60 GB storage, assistant email and – "$200/month"
Custom Plan Quote – – – "Build a plan that fits exactly how you work."

Free plan: Free to download and start; first tasks are free. Self-hosting has no platform fee. Beyond that, credits are pay-as-you-go ($1 = 1 credit).

Fine print

Billing increment
Not stated
Billed beyond usage
Credits are pay-as-you-go beyond included bundle
"Beyond that, credits are pay-as-you-go on both Base and Pro, so you only pay for what your assistant actually uses."
Contract
Cancel or change plan anytime
"You can cancel or change your plan anytime you want."
Refunds
Credits non-refundable except where required by law
"Vellum Credits are non-refundable, except where required by applicable law."
Auto renew
Not stated
Price change notice
Not stated

"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.

About the company

Legal name
Vocify, Inc.
Online since
Jan 23, 2023
Domain registration date

Vellum alternatives

Reviews elsewhere

We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.

Questions

Is Vellum free?

Yes. Free to download and start; first tasks are free. Self-hosting has no platform fee. Beyond that, credits are pay-as-you-go ($1 = 1 credit). Paid plans start at $30/month.

How much does Vellum cost?

Paid plans start at $30 per month.

Does Vellum train AI on your data?

No, according to Vellum: "Your conversation history, memory, and credentials stay on your machine and are never used to train models."