How much does Zendesk cost?
- Free plan
- Not stated
- Free trial
- 14-day free trial, no credit card required, on Suite Professional
- Usage price
- $1.50/minute
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- No long-term contract. Month to month, annual, or multi-year
- Free trial. 14-day free trial, no credit card required, on Suite Professional
Watch out for
- Extra usage is billed. Usage-based features are billed on consumption exceeding plan allowances
- Their pages disagree: customer count. "See why 80,000+ companies choose Zendesk for AI service" vs "22,000+ service teams trust Zendesk AI"
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve trial and online purchase by card "Online purchase: Best for individuals and teams who want to get started quickly. Typically paid by credit card during checkout."
- Setup
- Connect your knowledge and go live in a few clicks; no scripting or developers required "Connect your knowledge and go live in a few clicks. No scripting or developers required."
- When sales steps in
- Enterprise plans generally require sales engagement "Enterprise Service Plans generally require sales engagement."
What Zendesk does
Zendesk sells per-agent support and Suite plans that bundle email ticketing, messaging, phone and AI agents. AI agents are billed per automated resolution beyond a plan allowance, with enterprise plans sold through sales.
- Good for
- Support teams from small shared-inbox teams to large enterprises that want ticketing plus AI agents across email, chat, social and phone.
- Channels
- Email, Messaging and live chat, Phone, Social, Web widget, Mobile SDKs
- Main product
- Zendesk Customer Service Suite with AI agents
- Also includes
- Email and ticketing system, AI agents for messaging, email and voice, AI agent builder, Knowledge base, Action Builder, Omnichannel routing
- Connects to
- Shopify, Klaviyo, Fullstory, TikTok Shop, Zendesk Marketplace (1,800+ apps), APIs
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Autonomous ticket resolution
AI agents understand intent and sentiment to resolve tasks end-to-end without human intervention.
- Human agent handoff
Paying per automated resolution means that you pay only for customer requests that were successfully resolved
- Voice channel support
Automate end-to-end phone support interactions with AI-powered phone voice agents.
- Email channel support
Automatically classify, route and resolve even the most complex email queries.
- Trains on help center
Connect your knowledge and go live in a few clicks.
- Helpdesk and CRM integrations
Prebuilt integrations: Available through the Zendesk Marketplace (apps and integrations).
- Multilingual support
Support for 80+ languages
- Resolution analytics reporting
Monitor performance trends and usage insights to help identify improvement opportunities.
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI customer service software. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | available | "BAA Powerform"privacy |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | CCPA Addendum available | "CCPA Addendum PowerForm"privacy |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Zendesk Trust Center | "Visit the [Zendesk Trust Center](https://www.zendesk.com/trust-center/) for the most up-to-date information and documentation on security and privacy practices"pricing |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Support Teamagent/month paid yearly | $25 | $19per month | 5 automated resolutions per agent/month | – | "$19agent/month paid yearly" "Monthly subscription (per agent/month) | $25 | $69 | $149" |
| Copilot add-onagent/month paid yearly | – | $50per month | – | – | "$50agent/month paid yearly" |
| Workforce Engagement Bundle add-onagent/month paid yearly | – | $50per month | – | – | "$50agent/month paid yearly" |
| Suite Teamagent/month paid yearly | $69 | $55per month | 5 automated resolutions per agent/month | – | "$55agent/month paid yearly" "Monthly subscription (per agent/month) | $25 | $69 | $149" |
| Contact Center add-onagent/month paid yearly | – | $83per month | – | – | "$83agent/month paid yearly" |
| Suite Professionalagent/month paid yearly | $149 | $115per month | 10 automated resolutions per agent/month | – | "$115agent/month paid yearly" "Monthly subscription (per agent/month) | $25 | $69 | $149" |
| Automated resolutions (committed)per automated resolution | $1.50per minute | – | – | – | "onth 5 ars per agent/month 10 ars per agent/month committed automated resolutions customiz" |
| Automated resolutions (pay-as-you-go)per automated resolution | $2per minute | – | – | – | "fixed volume? choose our pay-as-you-go option for flexible automated resolutions tailored " |
| Suite Enterprise + Copilot | Quote | – | – | – | "Suite Enterprise + Copilot" |
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Usage-based features are billed on consumption exceeding plan allowances "Usage-based features: Certain features like App Builder, Action Builder and Voice are billed based on consumption exceeding applicable plan allowances."
- Contract
- Month to month, annual, or multi-year "Zendesk subscriptions are month to month, annual, or multi-year."
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Zendesk, Inc.
- Online since
- May 16, 2005 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "22,000+ service teams trust Zendesk AI" their claim
Zendesk alternatives
HubSpot Service Hub$7 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Dialpad$15 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Freshdesk (Freddy AI)$19 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Intercom (Fin)$19 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Zoho Desk₹420 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026ADAdaQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Zendesk free?
There's no free plan. Free trial: 14-day free trial, no credit card required, on Suite Professional. Paid plans start at $25/month.
How much does Zendesk cost?
Paid plans start at $19 per month billed yearly, or $25 billed monthly.
Is Zendesk HIPAA compliant?
Zendesk says a HIPAA BAA is available.