How much does ActiveCampaign cost?
- Free plan
- Not stated
- Free trial
- 14-day free trial, no credit card needed
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free trial. 14-day free trial, no credit card needed
- No setup fee. no setup costs
- Refunds offered. 30-day money-back guarantee
Watch out for
- Their pages disagree: campaign launch speed. "launching campaigns 3x faster" vs "Email marketing with 8x faster campaign creation"
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve free trial with email sign-up, no credit card "Free 14-day trial with email sign-up"
- Setup
- Instant setup "No credit card needed. Instant setup."
- When sales steps in
- Enterprise adds dedicated account team and uptime SLA "Dedicated account team and uptime SLA"
- Support
- Email and chat support, basic on Starter/Plus, priority on Pro/Enterprise "Email & chat support"
- Support
- Free onboarding and migration support "Contact migration"
What ActiveCampaign does
ActiveCampaign sells four tiered plans (Starter, Plus, Pro, Enterprise) priced by contact count, with an AI layer called Active Intelligence that builds campaigns and automations, suggests segments and drafts content. SMS and WhatsApp are add-ons, and it connects to over 1,000 apps including ecommerce platforms.
- Good for
- Small and growing marketing teams and ecommerce businesses wanting automated email, SMS and WhatsApp campaigns with AI help, plus larger organizations needing SSO, HIPAA support and a dedicated account team.
- Channels
- Email, SMS (add-on), WhatsApp (add-on), Landing pages, Site messages, Forms, Push notifications (via integration), Prospecting and retargeting ads, Transactional email (add-on)
- Main product
- Marketing automation and email marketing platform with Active Intelligence AI
- Also includes
- Multi-step marketing automation, AI-powered automation and campaign builders, 250+ pre-built email templates, AI-suggested segments, Generative AI for content and images (Plus and above), Predictive sending (Pro and above)
- Connects to
- Shopify, WooCommerce, Square, BigCommerce, Magento, Shopify Plus, Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics, Zendesk, Slack, Stripe, PayPal
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Yes
- AI email copy generation
Generative AI for content and images
- AI subject line optimizationNot stated
- AI send-time optimization
Predictive sending at each contact's best time
- Predictive segmentation
AI-suggested segments
- AI automation builder
AI-powered automation and campaign builders
- AI email/template designNot stated
- Ecommerce integrations
Standard ecommerce integrations
- SMS and multichannel
Cross-channel marketing
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI email marketing tools. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | yes | "we may view, copy, and internally use Marketing Content to help us train and improve the Services"terms |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | available on Enterprise | "Single sign-on (SSO) and HIPAA support"pricing |
| SOC 2 | focused on SOC 2 compliance | "ActiveCampaign is heavily focused on GDPR, SOC 2, and HIPAA compliance."security |
| GDPR | focused on GDPR compliance | "ActiveCampaign is heavily focused on GDPR, SOC 2, and HIPAA compliance."security |
| CCPA | CCPA opt-out link provided | "CCPA Opt-Out"pricing |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Enterprise | "Single sign-on (SSO)"pricing |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter/ Month | – | – | 1000 contacts10,000 email sends / month, 1 user seat | – | "Billed yearly for 1,000 contacts" |
| Plus/ Month | – | – | 1000 contacts10,000 email sends / month, 1 user seat | – | "Billed yearly for 1,000 contacts" |
| Pro/ Month | – | – | 1000 contacts12,000 email sends / month, 3 user seats | – | "Billed yearly for 1,000 contacts" |
| Enterprise/ Month | – | – | 1000 contacts15,000 email sends / month, 5 user seats | – | "Billed yearly for 1,000 contacts" |
Fine print
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Upgrade to next contact band or plan without penalties "ActiveCampaign makes it easy to upgrade to the next contact band or plan without penalties or losing access to features."
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Contract
- Trial first, then move to a contract "You can get started on a trial plan right away, and move to a contract."
- Price change notice
- Not stated
- Refunds
- 30-day money-back guarantee "we’ll give you a full refund if you’re not satisfied after 30 days."
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- ActiveCampaign, LLC
- Online since
- Jan 10, 2003 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "Thousands of customers; #1 on G2 with 14,500+ reviews" their claim
ActiveCampaign alternatives
Loops$49 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Mailsoftly$15 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Sender$6.30 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Moosend$7 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Campaigner$14 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
GetResponse$15.58 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is ActiveCampaign free?
There's no free plan. Free trial: 14-day free trial, no credit card needed.
Does ActiveCampaign train AI on your data?
Yes, according to ActiveCampaign: "we may view, copy, and internally use Marketing Content to help us train and improve the Services"
Is ActiveCampaign HIPAA compliant?
ActiveCampaign says a HIPAA BAA is available on Enterprise.
