How much does AI21 Labs cost?
- Free plan
- Not stated
- Free trial
- $10 credits for 7 days, no credit card needed
- Usage price
- $0.20/minute
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Unlimited usage on Pay As You Go. A flat price with no cap on usage.
- Free trial. $10 credits for 7 days, no credit card needed
- Notice before price changes. AI21 may change fees prospectively with prior notice as required by applicable law or any separate agreement
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Free trial sign-up at studio.ai21.com, no credit card needed "No credit card needed"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Custom Plan for scale, custom implementation or dedicated support "For companies looking to scale and those that require custom implementation or dedicated support."
- Support
- Priority support on Custom Plan "Priority support"
- Support
- Dedicated account manager on Custom Plan "Dedicated account manager"
What AI21 Labs does
AI21's Forward-Deployed Researchers post-train models and harnesses for a customer's task, with serving managed by AI21 or deployed in the customer's environment. The pricing page also lists pay-as-you-go Jamba Mini and Jamba Large model APIs with a 7-day trial.
- Good for
- Companies that want a model post-trained on their own proprietary data, and developers or businesses wanting usage-priced long-context model APIs.
- Channels
- API, SDK
- Main product
- Lab-as-a-service model post-training, plus Jamba Mini and Jamba Large foundation model APIs
- Also includes
- Evaluation suite built from real tasks, Model and harness training, Serving managed by AI21 or deployed in customer environment, Foundation model APIs & SDK, Unlimited seats on Pay As You Go, Volume discounts and premium API rate limits on Custom Plan
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Public API access
Foundation model APIs & SDK
- Long context window
The most powerful and efficient long context model
- Fine-tuning support
Drawing on 5 years of experience with a wide range of on- and off-policy training methods, our FDRs develop th
- Tool and function callingNot stated
- Image and audio inputNot stated
- SOC 2 complianceNot stated
- Zero data retention option
We keep no copies of your data.
- VPC or on-prem deployment
Training, evals and serving run in your VPC or on-premise.
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in Large language models. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | no | "Unless otherwise agreed in writing, AI21 will not use your Customer Data to train AI21’s foundational or generally available AI models."terms |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Trust Center linked in footer | "Trust Center"home |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free Trial | – | – | 10 dollars of credits for 7 days | – | "$10 credits for 7 days." |
| Pay As You Go | – | – | Unlimited | – | "Access all features through usage-based pricing." |
| Jamba Mini input tokens/ 1M input tokens | $0.20per minute | – | – | – | "$0.2 / 1M input tokens" |
| Jamba Mini output tokens/ 1M output tokens | $0.40per minute | – | – | – | "$0.4 / 1M output tokens" |
| Jamba Large input tokens/ 1M input tokens | $2per minute | – | – | – | "$2 / 1M input tokens" |
| Jamba Large output tokens/ 1M output tokens | $8per minute | – | – | – | "$8 / 1M output tokens" |
| Custom Plan | Quote | – | – | – | "For companies looking to scale and those that require custom implementation or dedicated s" |
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Not stated
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- AI21 may change fees prospectively with prior notice as required by applicable law or any separate agreement "AI21 may change its fees and introduce new charges on a prospective basis, with prior notice as required by applicable Law or any Separate Agreement."
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- AI21 Labs Ltd.
- Address
- Tel Aviv, Israel
- Online since
- Mar 24, 2014 Domain registration date
AI21 Labs alternatives
Mistral AI$5.99 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Hugging Face$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Cohere$2,000 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Alibaba QwenQuoteFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Amazon Bedrock$2 /minutechecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is AI21 Labs free?
There's no free plan. Free trial: $10 credits for 7 days, no credit card needed.
Does AI21 Labs train AI on your data?
No, according to AI21 Labs: "Unless otherwise agreed in writing, AI21 will not use your Customer Data to train AI21’s foundational or generally available AI models."
