How much does Anthropic Claude cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Usage price
- $10/minute
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. Free plan with chat on web, desktop and mobile, web search, file creation, memory, Artifacts and up to 5 projects, subject to usage limits
- Notice before price changes. Fee increases: user gets chance to review and accept additional fees before charge
Watch out for
- No refunds on a long commitment. Generally non-refundable except where terms or local law say otherwise
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve signup for Free, Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise (self-serve) "Get Enterprise plan"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Enterprise (sales-assisted) adds invoicing, AWS Marketplace, trials and committed-spend incentives "Invoicing / net terms | No | No | Yes |"
- Support
- Support center "[Support center](https://support.claude.com/en/)"
What Anthropic Claude does
Anthropic offers Claude models (Fable, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku) through Free, Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise plans plus a token-priced API on the Claude Platform. Context windows go up to 1M tokens depending on the model.
- Good for
- Individuals, developers, teams and large enterprises that want a general-purpose AI assistant, a coding agent, or an API for building AI products.
- Channels
- Web app, Desktop app, iOS and Android apps, API, Claude Code, Claude in Chrome, Claude for Microsoft 365, Claude for Google Workspace
- Main product
- Claude
- Also includes
- Chat on web, desktop and mobile, Claude Code (paid plans), Artifacts, Projects, Connectors and Skills, Claude in Chrome
- Connects to
- Microsoft 365, Google Workspace, AWS, Google Cloud, Microsoft Foundry, Chrome
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Public API access
Start building (opens in new tab)
- Long context window
Up to 1Mvaries by model
- Fine-tuning supportNot stated
- Tool and function callingNot stated
- Image and audio inputNot stated
- SOC 2 complianceNot stated
- Zero data retention optionNot stated
- VPC or on-prem deploymentNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in Large language models. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | available on Enterprise | "HIPAA-ready offering available"pricing |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Team and Enterprise | "Single sign-on (SSO)"pricing |
| Trust center | https://trust.anthropic.com/ | "[Security and compliance](https://trust.anthropic.com/)"pricing |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | – | – | – | "Free for everyone" |
| Proper month | $20 | $17per month | – | – | "apps and tools create artifacts claude design, slides, docs pro claude code included for e" "$20 if billed monthly." |
| Enterpriseper seat / month plus usage at API rates | – | $20per month | 20 seats (minimum) | – | "US$20/seat/month, billed annually, 20 seat minimum. Usage cost scales with model and task." |
| Team Standard seatper seat / month | $25 | $20per month | – | – | "el trainingmore information opt-out opt-out opt-out opt-out team for teams of 2 to 150 get" "$25 if billed monthly." |
| Maxper month | $100 | – | – | – | "From $100" |
| Team Premium seatper seat / month | $125 | $100per month | – | – | "el trainingmore information opt-out opt-out opt-out opt-out team for teams of 2 to 150 get" "$125 if billed monthly." |
| API Fable 5.1 input/ MTok | $10per minute | – | – | – | "$10 / MTok" |
| API Fable 5.1 output/ MTok | $50per minute | – | – | – | "$50 / MTok" |
| API Opus 5.5 input/ MTok | $4per minute | – | – | – | "$4 / MTok" |
| API Opus 5.5 output/ MTok | $20per minute | – | – | – | "$20 / MTok" |
| API Sonnet 5.5 input/ MTok | $2per minute | – | – | – | "$2 / MTok" |
| API Sonnet 5.5 output/ MTok | $10per minute | – | – | – | "$10 / MTok" |
| API Haiku 5.5 input (prompts <= 100K tokens)/ MTok | $0.10per minute | – | – | – | "$0.10 / MTok" |
| API Haiku 5.5 output (prompts <= 100K tokens)/ MTok | $0.50per minute | – | – | – | "$0.50 / MTok" |
Free plan: Free plan with chat on web, desktop and mobile, web search, file creation, memory, Artifacts and up to 5 projects, subject to usage limits
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Paid plans can turn on usage credits to keep working at standard API rates "turn on [usage credits](https://support.claude.com/en/articles/12429409-manage-usage-credits-for-paid-claude-plans) to keep working at standard API rates"
- Contract
- Enterprise is annual only; Pro and Team can be monthly or annual "Enterprise plans are only available as annual subscriptions."
- Refunds
- Generally non-refundable except where terms or local law say otherwise "Payments are generally non-refundable, except where our [Consumer Terms of Service](https://www.anthropic.com/legal/consumer-terms) say otherwise or where local law requires it."
- Auto renew
- Paid subscriptions automatically renew until cancelled "we or the App Distributor will automatically charge your Payment Method on each agreed-upon periodic renewal date until you cancel."
- Price change notice
- Fee increases: user gets chance to review and accept additional fees before charge "We may increase fees for our Services."
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Anthropic, PBC
- Online since
- Oct 2, 2001 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "Trusted by the world's leading organizations" their claim
Anthropic Claude alternatives
Mistral AI$5.99 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Hugging Face$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026OPOpenAI$20 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Cohere$2,000 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
AI21 Labs$0.20 /minutechecked Oct 29, 2026
Alibaba QwenQuoteFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Amazon Bedrock$2 /minutechecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Anthropic Claude free?
Yes. Free plan with chat on web, desktop and mobile, web search, file creation, memory, Artifacts and up to 5 projects, subject to usage limits Paid plans start at $20/month.
How much does Anthropic Claude cost?
Paid plans start at $17 per month billed yearly, or $20 billed monthly.
Is Anthropic Claude HIPAA compliant?
Anthropic Claude says a HIPAA BAA is available on Enterprise.