How much does OpenAI cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. A free version of ChatGPT is available to everyone (consumer plan); details not given on these pages.
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Business plan self-signup "Try ChatGPT Business"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Enterprise requires contacting sales; Business is for teams of 2 to 200 employees "For teams of 2–200 employees."
- Support
- 24/7 priority support for Enterprise "24/7 priority support, SLAs, custom legal terms, and access to AI advisors (eligible customers)"
What OpenAI does
OpenAI offers ChatGPT Business (per-seat) and Enterprise (custom pricing) plans, plus an API platform for its GPT model family. The pages describe security certifications, data privacy defaults and context window sizes by plan.
- Good for
- Teams of 2 to 200 (Business) and large organizations (Enterprise) wanting a managed AI workspace, and developers using the API platform.
- Channels
- Web, Desktop app, iOS, Android, API
- Main product
- ChatGPT (Business and Enterprise) and the OpenAI API Platform
- Also includes
- GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-5.6 models, ChatGPT Work and Codex, Plugins and connectors to Google Workspace, Slack, GitHub, Microsoft 365, Workspace agents, Vision, image generation, deep research, voice, SAML SSO and admin console
- Connects to
- Google Workspace, Slack, GitHub, Microsoft 365, iCloud Mail, iCloud Calendar
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Public API access
Released GPT‑6.1 Terra in the API as `gpt-6.1-terra`
- Long context window
GPT Reasoning total context window
- Fine-tuning supportNot stated
- Tool and function callingNot stated
- Image and audio input
a fast, efficient model for visual reasoning, precise computer use, and clear, natural writing.
- SOC 2 compliance
OpenAI has undergone an independent SOC 2 Type 2 examination of controls relevant to Security, Availability, C
- Zero data retention optionNot stated
- VPC or on-prem deploymentNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in Large language models. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | no | "We don’t train our models on your organization’s data by default."privacy |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | available | "offers a Data Processing Addendum and Business Associate Agreement for customers"privacy |
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 Type 2 | "OpenAI has undergone an independent SOC 2 Type 2 examination of controls relevant to Security, Availability, Confidentiality, and Privacy for its API and ChatGPT business product s"privacy |
| GDPR | supports customer compliance | "OpenAI supports our customers’ compliance with privacy laws, including the GDPR, CCPA, HIPAA, and FERPA"privacy |
| CCPA | supports customer compliance | "OpenAI supports our customers’ compliance with privacy laws, including the GDPR, CCPA, HIPAA, and FERPA"privacy |
| PCI | PCI-DSS for delegated payment processing components of ChatGPT | "OpenAI maintains PCI-DSS compliance for the components of ChatGPT that support delegated payment processing."privacy |
| ISO 27001 | ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified | "OpenAI maintains ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and ISO/IEC 27701:2019 certifications for the information security and privacy management systems supporting the OpenAI API, ChatGPT Enterprise,"privacy |
| Single sign-on | SAML SSO on Business and Enterprise | "Secure workspace with SAML, SSO, and MFA"pricing |
| Trust center | https://trust.openai.com/ | "Please visit our [Trust Portal(opens in a new window)](https://trust.openai.com/) for more details."pricing |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Standard seat/month per seat | $25 | $20per month | – | – | "$20/month if billed annually. $25/month if billed monthly." "$20/month if billed annually. $25/month if billed monthly." |
| Business Premium seat/month per seat | $125 | $100per month | – | – | "$100/month if billed annually. $125/month if billed monthly." "$100/month if billed annually. $125/month if billed monthly." |
| Enterprise | Quote | – | – | – | "Contact our sales team to discuss enterprise pricing." |
Free plan: A free version of ChatGPT is available to everyone (consumer plan); details not given on these pages.
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Not stated
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Online since
- Jan 19, 2007 Domain registration date
OpenAI alternatives
Mistral AI$5.99 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Hugging Face$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Cohere$2,000 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
AI21 Labs$0.20 /minutechecked Oct 29, 2026
Alibaba QwenQuoteFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Amazon Bedrock$2 /minutechecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is OpenAI free?
Yes. A free version of ChatGPT is available to everyone (consumer plan); details not given on these pages. Paid plans start at $25/month.
How much does OpenAI cost?
Paid plans start at $20 per month billed yearly, or $25 billed monthly.
Does OpenAI train AI on your data?
No, according to OpenAI: "We don’t train our models on your organization’s data by default."
Is OpenAI HIPAA compliant?
OpenAI says a HIPAA BAA is available.