How much does Mistral AI cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. Free plan with limited access to Vibe (chat, search, creation, coding) and access to Mistral Studio; messages, web searches and coding sessions are limited
Watch out for
- Extra usage is billed. Pay-as-you-go credits can extend usage past the plan limit at API rate
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Free, Pro and Team start online at chat.mistral.ai "Start now"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Enterprise plan is contact sales "Contact us"
- Support
- Chat and email support on Pro "Chat and email support."
- Support
- Enterprise includes custom SLAs and dedicated support "Yes, the Mistral Enterprise plan includes custom SLAs, dedicated support, and private deployments."
What Mistral AI does
Mistral is a European AI company offering frontier and specialist models, with tools to customize them, build agents, and run them on its cloud, in a customer VPC, or on-prem. Free, Pro and Team plans are bought online, while Enterprise deployments go through contact sales.
- Good for
- Enterprises, governments and regulated industries that want control over models and data (finance, energy, manufacturing, public sector), plus individuals, students and teams using the Vibe assistant and coding agent.
- Channels
- Web app, CLI, IDE plugin (VS Code, JetBrains), Mobile (iOS and Android), API via Studio
- Main product
- Mistral models (frontier and open-weight) with Studio, Vibe, Forge, Inference and Compute
- Also includes
- Frontier and specialist open-weight models, Studio for building agents and applications, Vibe assistant and coding agent (web, CLI, IDE, mobile), Forge for customizing models on your own data, Inference and dedicated Compute, OCR, Voxtral speech and Devstral coding models
- Connects to
- Notion, Slack, Linear, Drive, Custom remote MCP servers
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Yes
- Public API access
Most models are priced per million tokens, with both input (your prompts) and output (responses) counted separ
- Long context windowNot stated
- Fine-tuning support
Customize models around your data, use cases, and requirements with Forge.
- Tool and function callingNot stated
- Image and audio input
Record or upload audio, get transcriptions, ask questions, or generate summaries.
- SOC 2 complianceNot stated
- Zero data retention optionNot stated
- VPC or on-prem deployment
Run on-prem, in your VPC, or have us run it for you.
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in Large language models. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Model training opt-out available on Pro, Team and Enterprise | "Opt-out"pricing |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | SAML SSO on Enterprise | "SAML SSO."pricing |
| Trust center | https://trust.mistral.ai/ | "Trust Center"home |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | – | –Limited messages, web searches and coding sessions | – | "Limited messages and web searches." |
| Pro Education (verified students, max 12 months)/mo | $5.99 | – | 25.5 USD API creditsValid for a maximum of 12 months | – | "Verified students can get Mistral Pro for $5.99 / month (normally $14.99)." |
| Pro/mo | $14.99 | – | 15 USD API creditsSubject to fair usage limits | – | "$14.99" |
| Team/user/mo | $24.99 | – | –Subject to fair usage limits | – | "$24.99" |
| Enterprise | Quote | – | – | – | "Private deployments powered by custom models, UI, and tools." |
Free plan: Free plan with limited access to Vibe (chat, search, creation, coding) and access to Mistral Studio; messages, web searches and coding sessions are limited
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Pay-as-you-go credits can extend usage past the plan limit at API rate "Keep going past your plan limit by paying only for what you use beyond it at API rate."
- Contract
- Not stated
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Online since
- May 15, 2019 Domain registration date
- Founder
- Arthur Mensch, Co-founder and CEO
- Founder
- Guillaume Lample, Co-founder and Chief Science Officer
- Founder
- Timothee Lacroix, Co-founder and CTO
- Funding
- Seed round, June 13, 2023 "Seed round."
- Funding
- Series A, December 11, 2023 "Series A."
- Funding
- Series B, June 11, 2024 "Series B."
- Funding
- Series C, September 9, 2025 "Series C."
- Customers
- "5 of the world's largest energy companies trust Mistral" their claim
Mistral AI alternatives
Hugging Face$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Cohere$2,000 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
AI21 Labs$0.20 /minutechecked Oct 29, 2026
Alibaba QwenQuoteFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Amazon Bedrock$2 /minutechecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Mistral AI free?
Yes. Free plan with limited access to Vibe (chat, search, creation, coding) and access to Mistral Studio; messages, web searches and coding sessions are limited Paid plans start at $5.99/month.
How much does Mistral AI cost?
Paid plans start at $5.99 per month.
Does Mistral AI train AI on your data?
Model training opt-out available on pro, team and enterprise, according to Mistral AI: "Opt-out"
