How much does Databricks Mosaic AI cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- Free trial with access to the Data + AI Platform; some trials include credits, and the…
In your favor
- Free plan. Databricks Community Edition is a free, limited functionality platform for learning Spark; a Free Edition is also linked for learning data and AI tools for free.
- No setup fee. No up-front costs
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve signup, no credit card required to start "Get started with Databricks for free. No credit card required."
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Committed use contracts and invoice or annual billing require contacting sales. "for more billing options, such as billing by invoice or an annual plan."
- Support
- Technical support offered; contact sales to learn more "We do offer technical support."
What Databricks Mosaic AI does
Databricks runs analytical and operational workloads on one governed platform and offers AI tooling such as Agent Bricks, Genie, Lakebase and Unity Gateway. Pricing is pay-as-you-go based on compute usage, with committed-use discounts available.
- Good for
- Organizations that want to unify data, analytics and AI workloads on one platform, including data engineering teams, BI users and teams building AI agents and apps.
- Main product
- Databricks Data + AI Platform
- Also includes
- Lakebase (serverless Postgres), Agent Bricks for AI agents, Genie and AI/BI, Unity Catalog governance, Lakeflow data pipelines, Serverless data warehousing
- Public API
- Not stated
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Public API accessNot stated
- Long context windowNot stated
- Fine-tuning supportNot stated
- Tool and function callingNot stated
- Image and audio inputNot stated
- SOC 2 complianceNot stated
- Zero data retention optionNot stated
- VPC or on-prem deploymentNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in Large language models. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | Not stated | |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Security and Trust page available | "Security and Trust"home |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pay as you go | – | – | – | – | "Databricks offers you a pay-as-you-go approach with no up-front costs. Only pay for the pr" |
| Committed Use Contracts | Quote | – | – | – | "Databricks offers you opportunities to access discounts and other benefits when you commit" |
Free plan: Databricks Community Edition is a free, limited functionality platform for learning Spark; a Free Edition is also linked for learning data and AI tools for free.
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Per second "Only pay for the products you use at per second granularity."
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Committed use contracts available for discounts; PAYG can be cancelled any time. "You may cancel your PAYG account at any time"
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- After trial, automatically subscribed to the plan used. "At the end of the trial, you are automatically subscribed to the plan that you have been using during the trial."
- Price change notice
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Databricks, Inc.
- Address
- 160 Spear Street, 15th Floor, San Francisco, CA 94105
- Online since
- Jul 13, 2011 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "Over 20,000 customers; over 60% of the Fortune 500" their claim
Databricks Mosaic AI alternatives
Mistral AI$5.99 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Hugging Face$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Cohere$2,000 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
AI21 Labs$0.20 /minutechecked Oct 29, 2026
Alibaba QwenQuoteFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Databricks Mosaic AI free?
Yes. Databricks Community Edition is a free, limited functionality platform for learning Spark; a Free Edition is also linked for learning data and AI tools for free.
