How much does Google Gemini cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Usage price
- $2/minute
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. Free tier gives limited access to certain models with free input and output tokens plus Google AI Studio access; content is used to improve Google products. Some models (Gemini 4 Argon, Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview) are not available on the free tier. Paid tier removes the free limits and adds higher rate limits.
- Notice before price changes. Several prices are scheduled to double: Gemini 4 Argon on December 1, 2026, and Gemini 3.8 Flash and 3.6 Flash on January 1, 2027.
Watch out for
- Going over the Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview Standard input (<= 200k tokens) allowance costs $4 to $4 per per 1m tokens, prompts > 200k tokens. Included: 0 .
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve: get an API key in Google AI Studio and upgrade to Paid. "Upgrade to Paid"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Enterprise tier is sold via Contact Sales. "Contact Sales"
- Support
- Dedicated support channels on Enterprise "Dedicated support channels"
What Google Gemini does
The pricing page lists Free, Paid and Enterprise tiers for the Gemini Developer API, with per-1M-token prices by model and by Standard, Batch, Flex and Priority modes. Enterprise deployments run through Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform and are sold through Contact Sales.
- Good for
- Developers and small projects starting on the free tier, production applications needing higher volumes on the paid tier, and enterprises needing dedicated support, security and provisioned throughput.
- Channels
- API, Google AI Studio
- Main product
- Gemini Developer API
- Also includes
- Google AI Studio access, Context caching, Batch API (50% cost reduction), Grounding with Google Search, Grounding with Google Maps, Live API audio-to-audio models
- Connects to
- LangChain & LangGraph, CrewAI, LlamaIndex, Vercel AI SDK, Temporal, OpenAI compatibility
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Not stated
- Public API access
Get API key
- Long context window
Gemini 4 Argon
- Fine-tuning supportNot stated
- Tool and function calling
Function calling
- Image and audio input
$0.30 (text / image / video / audio)
- SOC 2 complianceNot stated
- Zero data retention optionNot stated
- VPC or on-prem deploymentNot stated
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in Large language models. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | yes on Free tier, no on Paid tier | "Content used to improve our products"pricing |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Not stated | |
| SOC 2 | Not stated | |
| GDPR | Not stated | |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Not stated | |
| Trust center | Not stated |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | – | – | – | – | "Free input & output tokens" |
| Paid | – | – | – | – | "For production applications that require higher volumes and advanced features." |
| Gemini 4 Argon Standard inputper 1M tokens | $2per minute | – | – | – | "$2.00 through November 30, 2026. $4.00 starting December 1, 2026." |
| Gemini 4 Argon Standard outputper 1M tokens | $10per minute | – | – | – | "$10.00 through November 30, 2026. $20.00 starting December 1, 2026." |
| Gemini 3.8 Flash Standard inputper 1M tokens | $0.75per minute | – | – | – | "$0.75 through December 31, 2026. $1.50 starting January 1, 2027." |
| Gemini 3.8 Flash Standard outputper 1M tokens | $3.75per minute | – | – | – | "$3.75 through December 31, 2026. $7.50 starting January 1, 2027." |
| Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite Standard inputper 1M tokens | $0.30per minute | – | – | – | "$0.30 (text / image / video / audio)" |
| Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite Standard outputper 1M tokens | $2.50per minute | – | – | – | "$2.50" |
| Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite Standard inputper 1M tokens | $0.25per minute | – | – | – | "$0.25 (text / image / video) $0.50 (audio)" |
| Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite Standard outputper 1M tokens | $1.50per minute | – | – | – | "$1.50" |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview Standard input (<= 200k tokens)per 1M tokens | $2per per 1m tokens, prompts > 200k tokens | – | – | $4 to $4/per 1m tokens, prompts > 200k tokens | "$2.00, prompts <= 200k tokens $4.00, prompts > 200k tokens" |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview Standard output (<= 200k tokens)per 1M tokens | $12per per 1m tokens, prompts > 200k tokens | – | – | $18 to $18/per 1m tokens, prompts > 200k tokens | "$12.00, prompts <= 200k tokens $18.00, prompts > 200k" |
| Enterprise | Quote | – | – | – | "For enterprise deployments, powered by" |
Free plan: Free tier gives limited access to certain models with free input and output tokens plus Google AI Studio access; content is used to improve Google products. Some models (Gemini 4 Argon, Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview) are not available on the free tier. Paid tier removes the free limits and adds higher rate limits.
Fine print
- Auto renew
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Grounding with Google Search: 5,000 free requests per month, then $14 per 1,000 requests, capped at 1,500 requests per d "5,000 free search requests per month (shared across all Gemini 3 and newer models), then $14 per 1,000 requests"
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Contract
- Not stated
- Price change notice
- Several prices are scheduled to double: Gemini 4 Argon on December 1, 2026, and Gemini 3.8 Flash and 3.6 Flash on Januar "$2.00 through November 30, 2026. $4.00 starting December 1, 2026."
- Refunds
- Not stated
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
Google Gemini alternatives
Mistral AI$5.99 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Hugging Face$9 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Cohere$2,000 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
AI21 Labs$0.20 /minutechecked Oct 29, 2026
Alibaba QwenQuoteFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Google Gemini free?
Yes. Free tier gives limited access to certain models with free input and output tokens plus Google AI Studio access; content is used to improve Google products. Some models (Gemini 4 Argon, Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview) are not available on the free tier. Paid tier removes the free limits and adds higher rate limits.
Does Google Gemini train AI on your data?
Yes on free tier, no on paid tier, according to Google Gemini: "Content used to improve our products"
