How much does Vapi cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Usage price
- $0.05/minute
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. $5 free credits to start, then pay per minute
- Notice before price changes. Advance notice of material pricing changes, with option to cancel
Watch out for
- Their pages disagree: enterprise customer tier. "Everything a Fortune 100 needs to deploy at scale" vs "Everything a Fortune 500 needs out-of-the-box to deploy at scale."
- Their pages disagree: scale in calls. "Scale up to millions of calls with sub-500ms latency." vs "Scalable infrastructure for 10M+ calls"
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Self-serve signup on the dashboard "Start building"
- Setup
- Not stated
- When sales steps in
- Premier is direct sales only "Direct sales only"
- Support
- Free tier: community and email without SLA "Email support without SLA"
- Support
- Core: 2 business day response SLA "2 business day response SLA"
- Support
- Pro: dedicated Slack, 1 business day SLA "Email + dedicated Slack support"
What Vapi does
Vapi lets you configure voice agents with your choice of transcriber, language model and voice, and connect them to phone numbers and your own systems through an API. Pricing is a per-minute hosting fee plus provider costs at cost, with optional monthly success packages.
- Good for
- Developers and teams building production voice agents (support, lead qualification, scheduling), from early builders to enterprises needing SLAs, SSO and HIPAA.
- Channels
- Phone, WebRTC, WebSockets, SIP
- Main product
- Voice agent platform
- Also includes
- Unlimited agents, Full model catalog, Full platform access, Included Vapi phone numbers, Critical monitoring, Testing and simulation
- Connects to
- Twilio, Vonage, Telnyx, OpenAI, Deepgram, ElevenLabs, MCP, Webhooks
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Yes
- Inbound calls
Twilio Inbound$0.008 / min
- Outbound calls
Twilio Outbound$0.014 / min
- Phone numbers included
1 included Vapi phone number
- Choose your AI model
Full model catalog
- Choose the voice
Configure everything from voice and conversation flow, to telephony and integrations.
- Public API
API/CLI access
- Connects to your tools
Webhook and custom model integrations
- HIPAA option
HIPAA eligible data handling. Standard Data Processing Agreement and Business Associate Agreement
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in Voice agent platforms. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | may be retained to help train and improve AI models | "Call recordings, transcripts and logs may be retained to help train and improve the AI models, in accordance with applicable laws."privacy |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | available as $2,000/month add-on on any package | "HIPAA eligible data handling. Standard Data Processing Agreement and Business Associate Agreement"pricing |
| SOC 2 | yes | "SOC 2, HIPAA, and PCI compliant"home |
| GDPR | GDPR rights covered | "Your Data Protection Rights Under General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)"privacy |
| CCPA | CCPA rights covered | "Your Data Protection Rights under the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA)"privacy |
| PCI | yes | "SOC 2, HIPAA, and PCI compliant"home |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Premier | "Custom RBAC + ZDR + SSO"pricing |
| Trust center | https://security.vapi.ai | "Trust Center"enterprise |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core/ month | $29 | – | 5 phone numbers | – | "unity email support without sla choose your success package core for builders & early team" |
| Pro$999/mo minimum | $999 | – | 10 phone numbers | – | "$999/mo minimum" |
| No Success Package/min | $0.05per minute | – | – | – | "Pre-paid, $0.05/min Vapi hosting." |
| Premier | Quote | – | – | – | "Direct sales only" |
Free plan: $5 free credits to start, then pay per minute
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- Not stated
- Contract
- Not stated
- Refunds
- Non-consumption fees may be refunded pro rata at Vapi's discretion; usage fees non-refundable "it will be calculated on a pro-rata basis according to the number of unused days remaining in the applicable plan term"
- Auto renew
- Core is pre-paid and auto-renews "Pre-paid, auto-renew"
- Price change notice
- Advance notice of material pricing changes, with option to cancel "If we introduce material changes to pricing, we will notify you in advance and will provide you an option to cancel the Services."
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Vapi Inc.
- Online since
- Aug 22, 2023 Domain registration date
- Customers
- "1M+ developers" their claim
Vapi alternatives
Intercom Fin Voice$19 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Retell AI$0.07 /minutechecked Oct 29, 2026
Bland$299 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
ElevenLabs Agents$5 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
CognigyQuotechecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Vapi free?
Yes. $5 free credits to start, then pay per minute Paid plans start at $29/month.
How much does Vapi cost?
Paid plans start at $29 per month.
Does Vapi train AI on your data?
May be retained to help train and improve ai models, according to Vapi: "Call recordings, transcripts and logs may be retained to help train and improve the AI models, in accordance with applicable laws."
Is Vapi HIPAA compliant?
Vapi says a HIPAA BAA is available as $2,000/month add-on on any package.